Retaining our language heritage...

KARTer

Gens Y, X, Z are losing it, or may have already lost it long ago.... our mother tongues:-

time to record them in MCF to preserve our heritage....

"I"

Mandarin: Wuo

Malay: saya

Tamil: ??

Hokkien: wa

Teochew: (same)

Canto: ngor

Kek: ??

Hainan: ??

"Who"

Mandarin: suey (??)

Malay: siapa

Hokkien: siang

Teochew: di diang

Canto: ??

"Dick/C__t" M/F

Mandarin: yan-G / yin-__

Malay: ??

Hokkien: LJ / CB (is there a more ancient/old-school name?)

Teochew; ??

Canto: lung (balls: chung doi) / haik

Hanain: ??

Gens Y, X, Z are losing it, or may have already lost it long ago.... our mother tongues:-

time to record them in MCF to preserve our heritage....

"I"

Mandarin: Wuo

Malay: saya

Tamil: Naan (நான்)

Hokkien: wa

Teochew: (same)

Canto: ngor

"Who"

Mandarin: suey (??)

Malay: siapa

Tamil: Yaar (யார்)

Hokkien: siang

Teochew: di diang

Canto: ??

"Dick/C__t" M/F

Mandarin: yan-G / yin-__

Malay: ??

Tamil: Chunni/Pundai (these are colloquialisms, got other words, but most people won't recognise).

Hokkien: LJ / CB (is there a more ancient/old-school name?)

Teochew; ??

Canto: lung (balls: chung doi) / haik

Hanain: ??

I double clicked this Thread hoping to have good reads on topics about Language...

Only to find Karter asking people what is the Word for DICK... in Tamil Sigh...

So much about your Language Heritage Thread...

Regarding this topic, the issue is with the locally born sporean chinese, all prefer to speak in english to one another than their MT. Malay and Indian still ok

It's up to zee parents to play a role here. I insisted speaking to my daugther in cantonese, and I tell my wife she's free to speak to here in mandarin or Hakkar...

1.5yrs old now, she can understand cantonese but still utter in mandarin, coz my in-laws speak to her in mandarin... lol...

I double clicked this Thread hoping to have good reads on topics about Language...

Only to find Karter asking people what is the Word for DICK... in Tamil Sigh...

So much about your Language Heritage Thread...

Hi Mr Wood,

I was hoping other bros who are more refined than me can add useful words for preservation of heritage... please help as you guys know better / refined words.... i did my best which is not good enough [:(]

Edited by KARTer

Regarding this topic, the issue is with the locally born sporean chinese, all prefer to speak in english to one another than their MT. Malay and Indian still ok

this is something chinese (i am one) can learn from other races.... [:)]

Edited by KARTer

"Dick/C__t" M/F

Teochew: KUKU / PAU PAU?

is this how they sound in teochew?? ............ never heard my grand uncle in law used it... too late to ask him coz he's having a good time up there now :D

btw, Hokkien: KNN, Teochew: poo-ball?? (or something like that) :blink:

It's up to zee parents to play a role here. I insisted speaking to my daugther in cantonese, and I tell my wife she's free to speak to here in mandarin or Hakkar...

1.5yrs old now, she can understand cantonese but still utter in mandarin, coz my in-laws speak to her in mandarin... lol...

my MIL speaks canto to my niece, this little girl is quite pro in that dialect now, better than my wife at least :D:D

Who says?

Anyway why you suddenly care so much? Want to haolian is it?

Why haolian? That we're "true blue" and not "New"? :D

In any case, this sort of thread actually makes it easier for "them" to pass themselves off as us, after picking up a bit of the lingo very quickly.

After that, nothing will stop them from blending in. :ph34r:

post-52704-0-82644600-1409108425.jpg

Aiyah its very important to preserve our heritage and language is a very important

component of it lah.

I was brought up speaking Singlish one lah and I will do my best to keep my native

tougue alive.

I don't want to speak proper English as no one in my family is ang moh and it is not

our language.

It is the language of an alien nation that conquered us and subjected us

to their language and culture.

So can or not people help me to keep Singlish alive. After a while you will find

Singlish a very shiok language to use, easy to use, short and to the point,

conveys meaning that cannot be translated to English with the full intensity.

As long as I can speak I will keep Singlish going and going.

Chop, sign, guaranteed.

I was brought up speaking Singlish one lah and I will do my best to keep my native

tougue alive.

I also try to keep my native tongue alive and as active as possible. I'm quite the cunning linguist. :D

Wifey and I belong to the same dialect group, but she couldn't speak.

I am trying to speak my dialect group to my kids, but they only interested in english and mandarin, which is fine to me :)

Hopefully they will pick up some when older, if not, really die at my generation :D

Wifey and I belong to the same dialect group, but she couldn't speak.

I am trying to speak my dialect group to my kids, but they only interested in english and mandarin, which is fine to me :)

Hopefully they will pick up some when older, if not, really die at my generation :D

Certainly you should aim to be a cunning linguist, too. Your wifey will thank you for it. :D

Haha! Not many people will get the subtle ones but I love them.