Car camera recommendation

Pelican

Dunno why my earlier thread kena removed. Havent even got chance to read the replies.

I am interested to install a car camera.
Anyone can advise which of the following

Blackvue
DR380G-HD - $350
DR400G-HD - $450

Itronics
ITB-100-HD - $398

After some enquiry, realize the dealers charge for installation. I thought installation usually included in the price.

Edited by Lightsabre

just a curious question....if a camera sucks is it the quality or durability or software issues?

I play play use my SII as a DVR (no wide angle can only see 1/2), the quality is damn good (only use 720p setting) so are the ones on the market similar quality as my SII. IMO 720p is good enough if quality is like my SII.

saw a few DVR at Qoo10...very cheap, tempted to try.

If its a HD quality issue, i dont mind the lower specs.

i always see those cheap ones at petrol kiosks, like Hoseki or Hyundai brand.. are they any good? HD also leh

The few pictures I posted today are taken from Hoseki.

QUality OK lah...

16GB card can last about 4 days. Have to do delete all every 3-4 days or else no recording.

The mic is bad. If view video using hdmi on tv, will hear the pik pik piak piak sound.

just a curious question....if a camera sucks is it the quality or durability or software issues?

I play play use my SII as a DVR (no wide angle can only see 1/2), the quality is damn good (only use 720p setting) so are the ones on the market similar quality as my SII. IMO 720p is good enough if quality is like my SII.

saw a few DVR at Qoo10...very cheap, tempted to try.

If its a HD quality issue, i dont mind the lower specs.

dvr is like camera

the most important is the lens, not about full hd or hd

give u a low end lens with 720p, the quality also not good

the worst thing is night recording

cheap dvr will equip with low end lens which gives u very bad night recording

when car move, u cant even see the number plate

video quality will be blurry also

BlackVue is good. Great unit with multiple features like parking mode with trigger feature, etc. But the HD version has overheating issue where the unit in operation generates a lot of heat. Price is in $3x0-$40x range.

I have seen BlackVIEW with display integrated on the unit. So far feedback from others gave reliable and quality output. Price is in $1x0 range.

QUality OK lah...

16GB card can last about 4 days. Have to do delete all every 3-4 days or else no recording.

The mic is bad. If view video using hdmi on tv, will hear the pik pik piak piak sound.

piak piak sound? [sly] [sly] [rolleyes]

QUality OK lah...

U film conquest also? :D

Sorry, I know nuts about dash cam. Might be a dumb question to people who have been using. Can anyone tell me if all dash cam does 24 hours monitoring even when you are not on the road? Using battery to power it? I wanted to buy one online but I don't know if it is too difficult to install myself.

Another dumb question from me, is there a car cam that is wireless running on self-sufficient batteries?

I was told made in china ones can only last 3 hours using in-built battery. Not sure which brand.

I am looking for one too...no wiring or connection to car battery. Warranty issue...anyone?

Another dumb question from me, is there a car cam that is wireless running on self-sufficient batteries?

no such thing yet. in the future, maybe YES