Wheels hitting fender

Kurty

I have a slight situation..

I just change my tires.. 215/50/17.
Stock was at 205/55/16..
I know I Should go for 215/45/17 but due to comfort.. I just bit the bullet..

Now suffering hitting the fender when I go over uneven road or bumps..

However It's only right side.. left is totally fine..

Front is less than 1 finger.
Rear is around 2 finger..
Using a sport spring and stock suspension..

What Should I do?

changing Tyre is out of the question..

Should I change back to stock spring or upgrade to adjustable?

post-47635-0-48847200-1381500771_thumb.jpg

post-47635-0-92228800-1381500878_thumb.jpg

its not your springs, nor your tyre profile and some will even tell you to roll your fenders.... [sleeping]

the problem lies with your rims offset. Its too positive looking how it flush with your fenders.

Stock was at 205/55/16..

What Should I do?

Mine also like that leh...only the front right (left is OK). Front about 4-5 fingers gap. Rear not sure but higher, but if loaded with passengers it'll also "sink" downwards. Go thru uneven road or humps can hear (the front right) hitting the fenders. So what I do? Just slow down at uneven road or humps lor...

Stock was at 205/55/16..

What Should I do?

1 finger gap too narrow, the cheaper way is to add spring stiffener or roll the fender to widen the broadness for the wheel to seat in.

You can either put a spring stiffener so the rubber in between the spring will stop the wheels from hitting the fender

Another way is to change to a good set of coilovers (ISC, HKS etc) so the suspension does not bottom out.

Used to be on ISC coilovers on my car and finger width between fender and wheels is only one finger but no cases of hitting fender even on uneven roads.

Aftermarket springs with stock suspension is a very bad combination because the aftermarket springs is shorter, it lowers the car and this stresses the stock suspension because it is made to travel in a longer rebound rate. - my 2 cents.

Yeah, good point..

But due to the dire situation, I have to find quick remedy..

This morning while in port Dickson, I went to panel beating, hoping to roll the fender but too bad, It's already rolled.. and don't helps..

I also tried to install spring cushion but don't help much..

End up, I buy new tires. Now 215/45/17, now front 1 finger.

Rear 4 fingers.

No problem even at high speed

Yeah, good point..

But due to the dire situation, I have to find quick remedy..

This morning while in port Dickson, I went to panel beating, hoping to roll the fender but too bad, It's already rolled.. and don't helps..

I also tried to install spring cushion but don't help much..

Rear 4 fingers.

Thats what happens when u itchy n start changing this n that on yr "new" car.

What is roll fender?

and open camber about?

Dun play around wh yr camber. It wil affect yr handling n car might skid.

Roll Fender is easy. Go construction site n borrow a sledge hammer. Use it to whack the fender out a bit so it dun touch the tire anymore.

Rear 4 fingers.

I tot you just change tires not long ago?

Roll Fender is easy. Go construction site n borrow a sledge hammer. Use it to whack the fender out a bit so it dun touch the tire anymore.

Huh, that's not roll fenders! That is whacking fenders! [laugh] If whack like that the car body shape all out liao....

I tot you just change tires not long ago?

He got plenty of $$$ so throwing it away on his

"new" car.

Change then wrong so change again. Then too noisy, change again. Then too bumpy, change again, etc etc etc.

Huh, that's not roll fenders! That is whacking fenders! [laugh] If whack like that the car body shape all out liao....

Sometimes car not properly repaired after kenna accident so whacking might make it look better n more balanced.

Yeah, notti and ignorant..plus dumb

Well, what to do, learn from painful lesson..

Yeah, the real catalyst is the rim, the offset too little for me..

No choice, both wife and myself like the rim..

Anyway problem already solved.. whacking high and low

Edited by Kurty