Home renovation tips

Gary469

planning to do some minor renovation to my ageing flat, with the kitchen being one of the top priorities.

anyone able to provide tips or experiences? i'm staying in an executive hdb in pasir ris so there's abit of kitchen space.

what fittings did you guys used for your kitchen? blum / hafele?

thanks!

Edited by Gary469

If you have the space do try an island kitchen concept, with the dining area in the centre.

Definitely makes dining or entertaining more enjoyable!

Fittings wise I used Salice hinges, drawers and those lifting drawer systems (I don't know the name).

It's an Italian brand and my contractor claims it's the same quality as Blum but a lot cheaper.

Initially wanted Blum but was convinced by the cost savings. I saved about 40% by using Salice.

I purchased directly from Spaceweiss Solutions http://www.spaceweiss.com and my contractor did the rest.

But if budget is not a problem, can check out the electronic kitchen equipment by Blum. Sky high expensive but very cool!

Edited by Redlightstopper

I have Blum soft close hinges. If u want blum drawers etc will be more expensive. Blum lift systems.

Personally i only got the soft close to prevent accidental injury to my child when the door closes shut. Otherwise seems bit overkill.

Most people probably using the Excel hinges i think. Hinges + their rack systems.

Hettich/Hafele are alternative ones. But don't think many people use them.

This 4-room flat's kitchen costs $68,000
By Jennifer Dhanaraj
The New Paper
Wednesday, Oct 16, 2013
She spent almost $68,000 on her kitchen - that is more than two-thirds of her $100,000 renovation bill.
Says Miss Wendy Chng, 41, director of sales at a logistics company: "I just want my home to look good, especially because I didn't have a say in what my house looked like when I was living with my parents."
The kitchen was an important element in her home and she spared no expense to make sure the look came out absolutely right.
"Money is not an issue, so I don't mind paying for quality," she says.
Among the pricey elements in there? A state of the art induction hob, oven and steamer from Küppersbusch and a fridge from Liebherr, which alone put her back about $40,000.
New to the world of appliances, she sought advice from Kitchen Culture, a high-end appliances specialist in Bukit Merah.
Kitchen Culture CEO Lim Wee Li tells us that Singaporeans are spending more on their kitchens as they have "developed specific tastes and are passionate about cooking".
"They want only the best quality appliances - ones that can be easily customised to the family's needs," says Mr Lim.
In Miss Chng's case, she chose the appliances for their looks.
"They fit with the black and white aesthetic of the house," says Miss Chng, who is single and a first-time property owner.
The appliances also encourage a healthier lifestyle for her.
She says: "I have an oven and a steamer so I won't be tempted to fry food all the time. Usually, I just steam it as it's better for me."
Yet, the frequent traveller admits that she hardly gets to use the kitchen and her busy schedule means she cooks instant noodles more often than gourmet meals.
But the lovely kitchen comes in useful for the occasional steamboat sessions that happen when her friends visit.
She says that she wanted to have a large work space which is afforded by her kitchen island.
"So I can eat while I work," she adds.
She doesn't regret spending a single cent of the huge amount and doesn't think of it as an extravagance.
"I travel very often, so I want to come back to my home and feel like I'm in a hotel room."

you can spend a lot but only to cook instant noodle [rolleyes][rolleyes]

I have Blum soft close hinges. If u want blum drawers etc will be more expensive. Blum lift systems.

Personally i only got the soft close to prevent accidental injury to my child when the door closes shut. Otherwise seems bit overkill.

Most people probably using the Excel hinges i think. Hinges + their rack systems.

Hettich/Hafele are alternative ones. But don't think many people use them.

i think almost all brands come with soft close, definitely a must nowadays!

i will give excel a miss. used it before and had a bad experience with the quality.

If you have the space do try an island kitchen concept, with the dining area in the centre.

Definitely makes dining or entertaining more enjoyable!

Fittings wise I used Salice hinges, drawers and those lifting drawer systems (I don't know the name).

It's an Italian brand and my contractor claims it's the same quality as Blum but a lot cheaper.

Initially wanted Blum but was convinced by the cost savings. I saved about 40% by using Salice.

I purchased directly from Spaceweiss Solutions http://www.spaceweiss.com and my contractor did the rest.

But if budget is not a problem, can check out the electronic kitchen equipment by Blum. Sky high expensive but very cool!

thanks, will ask my contractor and check salice out.

you can spend a lot but only to cook instant noodle [rolleyes][rolleyes]

haha i'm afraid i don't have the budget for that. nor am i insane enough to do so unless i strike singapore sweep.

my mum and wife cook very frequently so it won't be a waste.

Ummm go for an induction stove and rip out the gas pipeline? Eubiq power tracks for kitchen appliances?

Stylo milo =D

sounds like a lot of work!

i like traditional kitchen and enjoy cooking/baking, definitely won't be doing those blum type [rolleyes]

know a couple of folks who done kitchen swee swee. but all dun cook or dun know how to.

those i know who love cooking (and can cook well) dun seemed to bothered abt branded hinges, hoods, sinks n stuff as long as the kitchen is functional.

know a couple of folks who done kitchen swee swee. but all dun cook or dun know how to.

those i know who love cooking (and can cook well) dun seemed to bothered abt branded hinges, hoods, sinks n stuff as long as the kitchen is functional.

that's quite true. my aunt who cooks really well is sticking to her old wok [laugh]. her kitchen feels like early 1990s. but her food is marvelous!

Haha yea that's true. My grandma's kitchen never changed from the 70s till now, her food is still one of the best in my opinion :)

But oh well, the wife wants it.

old folks need only one old cheap wok bought from the market and they can cook up a delicious meal.

modern folks need stainless steel pans, pots, designer knives, non stick pans, grill, oven etc and mostly not half as delicious. [grin][lipsrsealed]

Edited by Kxbc

old folks need only one old cheap wok bought from the market and they can cook up a delicious meal.

modern folks need stainless steel pans, pots, designer knives, non stick pans, grill, oven etc and mostly not half as delicious. [grin][lipsrsealed]

Hmmm talking about this makes me miss my grandma's cooking [:p]

old traditional kitchen doesn't mean the design of 70s lah, could be something simple, rustic but functional is the key. Those branded stylist kitchen are more for show room effect, unless you keep it clean (usually dun cook), or you clean it after every cooking (clean as you go!).

A real chef enjoy washing up and cleaning up the kitchen as much as he cook [laugh][laugh]

I don't mind fiddling around in the kitchen and cooking for myself (bachelor style tambah anything inside), but I fookin hate the cleaning up after. Heng my kitchen small.

Any experience to share for Ikea? Always go Ikea to walk walk but never stopped to check out their kitchen equipment.

Wanted but didn't use them as they refused my business due to year end period.

It's more practical lor 'cos got modular system and sinks got those industrial looking type (deep enough for real washing). Lol...

Cabinets, etc also got raised legs for easy washing of kitchen floors.

Edited by Kangadrool