Govt urged to promote healthy property market

Mcscot

Property Prices  

36 members have voted

1. 1. I hope that property prices will ...

• Increase
    • Stay the same
    • Decrease

http://www.propertyguru.com.sg/property-management-news/2013/11/36861/govt-urged-to-promote-healthy-property-market

The Real Estate Developers’ Association of Singapore (Redas) has urged the government to ensure that the property market remains healthy, media reports said.

Speaking at the association’s 54th anniversary dinner last Friday, Redas President Chia Boon Kuah stated: “It is our hope that the government will calibrate its land sales programme to ensure land supply at a pace that will contribute to the overall health of the market.”

He noted that “as long as homes are purchased with sound reasoning, we believe in riding out each cycle that comes our way”.

“We have faith that the government will continue to monitor the movements in Singapore's property cycle, and ensure a balance between development viability and housing affordability.”

He also revealed that while the industry has achieved success, it has had its share of challenges, which include dealing with the effects of the government’s seventh and most comprehensive round of cooling measures and the introduction of the total debt servicing ratio (TDSR).

Furthermore, the expiry of the lock-in period of the Seller Stamp Duty from now till 2017 and the large supply of homes coming on-stream continue to weigh on the industry’s mind, said Chia.

I was just wondering what the general consensus among MCFers is? Are we hoping that property prices will come down significantly so that we can buy in (remember that your current property price will also decrease in value should you require to sell before you buy) or do we all hope the property prices will continue on this crazy bull run (remembering should you choose to upgrade the next property you buy will also be relatively higher)?

Agreed, should be healthy for buyers ...... [bounce2][bounce2][bounce2]

... provided buyers have no property to sell! Currently, most people are happy cos our property has risen in value cos our neighbour has sold at a XXX higher price but this is a false sense of security.

Not really lah. I got property to sell also hope price don't increase; drop a bit also never mind 'cos more important thing is next purchase should be lower and affordable to keep the loans down.

Some buy just because they wanted to feel 'upper class' but failed to calculate, does it really necessary and do they really have the means to support it.

If one have the means to upgrade, go ahead but please ensure that the family members must be taken care off first (child educations, medical) ....

Real life story, I has a friend who sold his 4-rooms HDB to book a condo. Currently stays with parent temporary until the condo is ready in 2015 as money dumped on the condo. Suddenly son 'shot-gun' and need to settle down fast. He the KPKB also no use as money gone into the condo and no place to stay. Refused to help his son who was unemployed as just finish NS.

As a friend, advised his son to apply a rental flat from HDB first and appeal to the MP for help in getting a rental flat. Don't know the outcome as so long lost contact. [:|]

The key is a sustainable real estate market that's in line wif the country's economic conditions and market forces. An engineered crash in a boom economy shocks the system and triggers a wave of unintended consequences. Juz look at how messed up the COE system has become wif LTA's engineered interventions and screwed up populist policies....... <_<

Juz remember: "Be careful what you wish for".

Some buy just because they wanted to feel 'upper class' but failed to calculate, does it really necessary and do they really have the means to support it.

If one have the means to upgrade, go ahead but please ensure that the family members must be taken care off first (child educations, medical) ....

Real life story, I has a friend who sold his 4-rooms HDB to book a condo. Currently stays with parent temporary until the condo is ready in 2015 as money dumped on the condo. Suddenly son 'shot-gun' and need to settle down fast. He the KPKB also no use as money gone into the condo and no place to stay. Refused to help his son who was unemployed as just finish NS.

As a friend, advised his son to apply a rental flat from HDB first and appeal to the MP for help in getting a rental flat. Don't know the outcome as so long lost contact. [:|]

Gahment already tolded us, keep our HDB flats. Don't listen lah. See see see....

in other word, ENSURE property market stablise and continue to cheong ... gradually and not at full speed

since the property train already had their 100m and 200m sprint in 2012/2013 ... now they are hopping for a gold medal in 400m and 800m

jin ho jiak .... developer only want to win big and continue winning ... losing is not an option ... win at all cost

ensure that the property market remains healthy

Bloody developers, when property was selling like hot cakes, how come never can out to urge gov to " promote healthy market " They are the ones biding up land prices, now cannot sell come and blame gov?

If your household (2A2C) income is at least $20K/month, then consider private. Otherwise, be humble, live in HDB the best.

gahmen force u to go private at 12k Leh.

Wonder if before couple get promoted and pay increase to cross $12k, Gov won't force you to change right... [sweatdrop][/quote

But now a lot of couple marry late Liao.

Wonder if before couple get promoted and pay increase to cross $12k, Gov won't force you to change right... [sweatdrop][/quote

But now a lot of couple marry late Liao.

Thats the problem, salaries crosses the $12k mark ... [sweatdrop]

That is not the problem. The problem is everyone just want to sell higher. Last time is enough one.

Not really lah. I got property to sell also hope price don't increase; drop a bit also never mind 'cos more important thing is next purchase should be lower and affordable to keep the loans down.

With all the cooling measures and the aggressive building of new flats..I more worried drastic drop.

Hope the price stabilise.

Edited by Baphomet