SAF Getting Adidas or Zoot Jogging Shoes

Picnic06-Biante15

[bigcry][bigcry] , my time (1977) running in flat sole black PT shoes ... [grin]

CNA: SAF to get adidas, Zoot running shoes

SINGAPORE: From the end of the year, Singapore Armed Forces (SAF) soldiers will get to choose between German brand adidas and American endurance sports brand Zoot for their running shoes.

Defence Minister Ng Eng Hen revealed on his Facebook page on Sunday (Aug 24) the fourth change to the SAF’s running shoes since 1995.

Referring to the ASICS running shoes used by the SAF since 2011, Dr Ng said he was delighted with them. “They were of a high quality and have given me many hours of happy walking and jogging,” he said.

“More good news for National Servicemen. The next set of running shoes will be from adidas and Zoot, and will be available at the end of the year.”

When contacted, the Ministry of Defence said more details on the shoes – such as the specific models and whether they would be available to recruits first or on SAF eMarts as well – would be announced later. There are more than 300,000 regulars, active full-

time and operationally ready national servicemen.

Currently, servicemen can choose from two models of ASICS running shoes, depending on their foot type – the Gel Kanbarra 4 SP for those with neutral-to-high-arched feet and the Gel 105 SP for those with mildly flat feet.

The ASICS shoes were first introduced in August 2011 and were said to be chosen because the Japanese brand is lighter, more durable and more shock-absorbent. Before that, servicemen had been using New Balance or Brooks models since 2007.

In the first three decades of National Service, soldiers wore thin-soled black gymnasium shoes.

-TODAY/cy

link: http://www.channelnewsasia.com/news/singapore/saf-to-get-adidas-zoot/1328052.html

Peng Kia nowadays chin heng ahhhhhhhhhhhh................... ^_^

I still keep that black PT shoe in my full pack. we used to call it Wong Fei Hong shoe. [laugh]

i was also given that shoe during bmt.....later they change to those newer version but the sloe always drop out or open like tiger like that especially after standing broad jump! Nowadays nsmen very lucky.....very comfortable life! Will ask my son can get for me 1 Adidas running shoe anot......hahaha!

The black ones were very retro even when I 1st enlisted. NB was only introduced after I ORD in the 90s. Now they have adidas...Still can't pass 2.4km??

The new shoes looks kinda ah gua...

Edited by Karu

i was also given that shoe during bmt.....later they change to those newer version but the sloe always drop out or open like tiger like that especially after standing broad jump! Nowadays nsmen very lucky.....very comfortable life! Will ask my son can get for me 1 Adidas running shoe anot......hahaha!

The New Balance one damn hopeless. very fast "open mouth" one.

I still keep that black PT shoe in my full pack. we used to call it Wong Fei Hong shoe. [laugh]

That shoe best lah. Bloody dark yellow/light brown sole never wears out. [thumbsup]

Hmmmm............ old stocks ......... [sly]

not sure leh. after the NB model, I rather use my own money and get from outside.

That shoe best lah. Bloody dark yellow/light brown sole never wears out. [thumbsup]

yah. Best. still help me to get ippt gold during bmt. :D

The New Balance one damn hopeless. very fast "open mouth" one.

NB still ok....at least brandwise.....i was given those black shoes that looks like Double Happiness school shoes.....hahaha! Later we were issued those modern type but no brand wan....lagi worse...mouth always opens like hungry ghost like that.....hahaha! NB looks good but dont think it will last long! Maybe SAF buy in bulk and keep for so long then issue them before the glue and rubber harden!

Envious leh... life getting better in army now, for our new generation :)

Hopefully our new generation will not lose the skills in battle fighting, using the new tech in equipment...

my time also the black taiji shoes................but we were allowed to wear our own shoes................that taiji shoes for standby use only............. [laugh] [laugh]

if you now wear the black taiji shoes back for reservist, your power will +999999999999999 [grin]

Black taiji shoes very good - long lasting and very grippy. Maybe, they should improve on the comfort level, then it will be heavenly. Those commercialised running shoes run halfway sometimes the whole sole drop out. [laugh]

if you now wear the black taiji shoes back for reservist, your power will +999999999999999 [grin]

first thing is they will check my temperature................see got above 40o C or not............ [laugh] [laugh]

My time, have to bring my own shoe cos SAF unable to provide it. Shoe size US14. [grin]

now can custom made liao.............they need to supply up to size 15 I think............