I'm a nurse. Ask me anything about nursing

Philipkee

I realise that there have been questions popping up about SCDF and ambulance. From contacts with my friends and even family members, there seem to be a lot of misconception of what we do in the nursing field. What we can do, what we cannot do, bed situation and the such.

Following from Hardwarezone threads, I thought it might be helpful if I started a thread on nursing.

A little background.

Graduated from nursing over 15 years ago

Worked in C class and B2 ward in a restructured hospital

Worked in major OT in restructured and private hospital

Worked in Accident and Emergency department in restructured and private hospital

Lecturer in nursing

Attachments include SCDF posting when going for a specialist course

Of course the on and off volunteer missions overseas

So ask me anything. If I can answer without compromising my identity or place I work, I will do so, within reason.

p/s with O levels coming out soon, this thread is also for those who might consider nursing as a career but cannot seem to get the on the ground info [lipsrsealed]

• Praise 42

The current mediacorp 8 show, does it portray the work life of nurses accurately?

Edited by Ender

The current mediacorp 8 show, dies it portray the work life of nurses accurately?

Well I dun watch MediaCorp so cannot comment. What I do know of MediaCorp dramas though

- doctor nurse romances happen. Not common but not that uncommon. I know of a few couple who met in dept and are married.

- nurse nurse romance happen

I think only people who work shifts understand each other.

Nurses look frazzled end of shift, seldom as fresh as the actresses.

T

Most nurses work in multi bedder wards so single rooms are not the norm.

Might not be accurate comment since I dun watch the show but knowing TCS.....

I realise that there have been questions popping up about SCDF and ambulance. From contacts with my friends and even family members, there seem to be a lot of misconception of what we do in the nursing field. What we can do, what we cannot do, bed situation and the such.

Following from Hardwarezone threads, I thought it might be helpful if I started a thread on nursing.

A little background.

Worked in Accident and Emergency department in restructured and private hospital

Lecturer in nursing

So ask me anything. If I can answer without compromising my identity or place I work, I will do so, within reason.

p/s with O levels coming out soon, this thread is also for those who might consider nursing as a career but cannot seem to get the on the ground info [lipsrsealed]

I give my deepest respect to nurses. This job is not about money and how much pay you can get. It's about passion for human life.

if anyone can do things like clearing faeces, urine and cleaning wounds, then nursing is the right job for you.

Can share what is the most unruly patient ypoou have Taken care of?

do nurses get sexual harassed by patients and how is the management done.

Can share what is the most unruly patient ypoou have Taken care of?

do nurses get sexual harassed by patients and how is the management done.

Unruly patient so far no. Yes, i have handled drunks but manageable. I did encounter one suicidal man who could not be restrained. It was night shift. I instructed my junior to keep an eye on him at all times, even if we cannot clean the other patients, its ok. We can answer complaints but if he jumps off, we are finished.

Sexual harassment, I have heard before. During night shift in single rooms. Usually police will be called in. But i mean molest. Rape so far never.

A little background.

Lecturer in nursing

my son got his Dip in Health Sciences in Ngee Ann last yr......now in army serving his contract (he signed on army without telling me during his poly final yr).....now in Brunei doing his JCC. Hope he will continue his studies overseas after his contract ends. Not sure what course he wants to take but he ever told me its either physio or psychology. He told me he could take medicine in Australia.....but the fees are a killer. Can give me advice on what are the options when he finish his 4 yrs stint...heard Degree in Nursing is now offered in NUS. Is that a good route or is it better for him to study overseas. Thank you in advance. For your info he is in a combat vocation.

To be frank, I have heard from a doctor medical fees in Australia can be up to 1 million. Dunno if she added living expenses but yea, its a killer.

Physio and psycho no comments.

Nursing in NUS. Well, chance of promotion is higher. Starting pay is higher. Nursing is moving towards degree so even if he joins diploma in nursing he will have to do a top up degree eventually.

What about studying nursing overseas? Recommendation is no unless he wants the experience OR he wants to work overseas. If he studies full time overseas it is easy for him to get a PR and job. For nursing.

I can give you a bit of advice on Psychology, because I've ever attempted it many years ago (Double Major in Psychology & Business at UniSIM).

Psychology has a very long route, like all it's medical cousins, if you only stop at Bachelor's, it's a waste of your 4 years. As Psychology is a very wide field, your child has to be sure of which field to zoom into, instead of learning General Psychology. If I'm not wrong or remember correctly, locally, you need to have gone through 7 years of psychology studies, earning a PhD before whatever you have studied before becomes useful.

It's easier if your son knows which field of Psychology he wants to specialise in, rather than studying general Psychology.

Other than killer fees, you need to know also that the field of competition is great, so going Australia to study medicine is not only expensive, it is harder as he would need to compete against people from other places, other countries.

After all is said and done, it's more important to study what you are passionate about or better, study a passion that you can turn into a skill that would be useful when he steps into the workforce.

My respect for healthcare workers upped a few notches since 2003. I mean, what made them report to work daily during that period showed courage.

I saw committed and caring nurses, both FT or local, who took good care of my loved ones over the years.

Edited by Toothiewabbit

To be frank, I have heard from a doctor medical fees in Australia can be up to 1 million. Dunno if she added living expenses but yea, its a killer.

Physio and psycho no comments.

Nursing in NUS. Well, chance of promotion is higher. Starting pay is higher. Nursing is moving towards degree so even if he joins diploma in nursing he will have to do a top up degree eventually.

What about studying nursing overseas? Recommendation is no unless he wants the experience OR he wants to work overseas. If he studies full time overseas it is easy for him to get a PR and job. For nursing.

Also, Nurses are in demand everywhere as everyone wants to be doctor, they failed to see the importance of nurses.

Nurses are also more likely to be given priority when working overseas like UK, US or Australia.

I'm not asking your son to look at being a nurse because nurses do everything but people do not give them enough credit and respect.

I assume your son is an occifer (jcc), maybe he could aim for scholarships while in there, especially since he signed on, SAF would do their best to hold on to a scholar and pave the way for him. Army is the best time to study. I've seen many WOs upgrading themselves while in service. He could consider that.

Also, Nurses are in demand everywhere as everyone wants to be doctor, they failed to see the importance of nurses.

Nurses are also more likely to be given priority when working overseas like UK, US or Australia.

I'm not asking your son to look at being a nurse because nurses do everything but people do not give them enough credit and respect.

I assume your son is an occifer (jcc), maybe he could aim for scholarships while in there, especially since he signed on, SAF would do their best to hold on to a scholar and pave the way for him. Army is the best time to study. I've seen many WOs upgrading themselves while in service. He could consider that.

nope...my son is now 3rd sargeant....just finished his aslc.....he told me he was offered ocs a few time since his pop but he rejected the offer (dont know why). He told me jcc is part of his training as a specialist....so i dont want to dwell on it....actually i was hoping he could get to be a senior medic since he already signed on.....but he go and choose a combat vocation.

I can give you a bit of advice on Psychology, because I've ever attempted it many years ago (Double Major in Psychology & Business at UniSIM).

Psychology has a very long route, like all it's medical cousins, if you only stop at Bachelor's, it's a waste of your 4 years. As Psychology is a very wide field, your child has to be sure of which field to zoom into, instead of learning General Psychology. If I'm not wrong or remember correctly, locally, you need to have gone through 7 years of psychology studies, earning a PhD before whatever you have studied before becomes useful.

It's easier if your son knows which field of Psychology he wants to specialise in, rather than studying general Psychology.

Other than killer fees, you need to know also that the field of competition is great, so going Australia to study medicine is not only expensive, it is harder as he would need to compete against people from other places, other countries.

After all is said and done, it's more important to study what you are passionate about or better, study a passion that you can turn into a skill that would be useful when he steps into the workforce.

wah.....so long har.....thanks for the info.

My respect for nurses male and female is very high.

There are plenty of time where most patients are very dependant on them. Most of the time you see the nurses more than the doctors .

To me , i believe the pay of nurses should be increase to at least meeting 70% of what doctors get reason being in order attract people to go into them.

When i was studying , i had quite a couple of my friends which went to nursing simply because their o's results were not impressive but to me , i found most of them very noble simply because given it was me , i would not even go into this line not because i am scared of getting my hands dirty but i am less cool and i am easily affected emotionally.

That said , i do find nurses doing their jobs hot. I always hanged around their canteens when i was young in hope to look for pretty ones and most of the time there are plenty to go around but as we progressed i heard from my friends that lesser and lesser locals are interested and the courses are filled with foreigners which i think is just sad.

Edited by CH_CO

Zhun boh? I thought nurses work on shifts. Got so much free time to share with us MCF folks?

The part I read that nurses clear sh!t, urine and what's not clearly ppl can't see beyond or even know what other things they do.(Chuckles) Some nurses have their specialised field too. So many patients with so many different conditions the nurses cannot be bao ka liao know how to take care of all patients.

I'm really surprised to see nurse got time to share with us though. Oh yeah, now they have janitors to help clear the sh!t and urine. FYI for those who are still stuck in their world.

Sexual harassment, I have heard before. During night shift in single rooms. Usually police will be called in. But i mean molest. Rape so far never.

Patient molests nurse, I presume?