Investing in ETF

I heard that as little as SGD100, you can invest in ETF.

Office are talking about ETF at the ATM when the Greek crisis hit and the STI goes down.

Any clue what is the risk and how to spot the right time to go in?

Office are talking about ETF at the ATM when the Greek crisis hit and the STI goes down.

ETF is like any other fund.

must take along term approach.

it's like buying a basket of blue chip in STI.

now STI is 3000+ long term ( maybe 25-30yrs ) later maybe STI 5000. lol

I'm using SRS to buy STI under Nikko.. since I can't take it out after putting it there, might as well use it for this purpose

Below is for your reference.. there are more u can do your research on.

http://blog.moneysmart.sg/invest/posb-invest-saver-ocbc-blue-chip-investment-plan-poems-share-builders-plan-which-regular-savings-plan-to-use/

And since it is for long term and dollar averaging, it doesn't really matter when u go in. There was someone who plotted a chart where he started when STI was tops and it was still okay.. only the returns were lower, that's all.

And btw.. a few yrs ago I was like u.. think the STI will go down due to the overheated economy and USA, Jap, Euro print $ like nobody biz.. my SRS was sitting in there earning 0.01%.. If i don't recall wrong, STI was around 3k+ then..

Edited by Solar

I'm using SRS to buy STI under Nikko.. since I can't take it out after putting it there, might as well use it for this purpose

Below is for your reference.. there are more u can do your research on.

http://blog.moneysmart.sg/invest/posb-invest-saver-ocbc-blue-chip-investment-plan-poems-share-builders-plan-which-regular-savings-plan-to-use/

And since it is for long term and dollar averaging, it doesn't really matter when u go in. There was someone who plotted a chart where he started when STI was tops and it was still okay.. only the returns were lower, that's all.

And btw.. a few yrs ago I was like u.. think the STI will go down due to the overheated economy and USA, Jap, Euro print $ like nobody biz.. my SRS was sitting in there earning 0.01%.. If i don't recall wrong, STI was around 3k+ then..

you buying at one go right? or you buying in like monthly via a RSP?

http://www.posb.com.sg/personal/landing/invest-saver/index.html?pid=sg-posb-vanity-investments-investsaver

Take note of the transaction cost which will eat into your profits.

0.5% sales charge per transaction for the ABF Singapore Bond Index Fund and 1% sales charge per transaction for the Nikko AM Singapore STI ETF.

Another alternative is to buy the ETF yourself (those traded on SGX). Standard chartered trading platform has no min commission (so you can buy even less than 100 dollars) and their commission is only 0.20% compared to DBS with their 1%.

Drawback is that the custodian is not SGX like other trading platforms but Standard Chartered itself. What this means is that SC will hold the shares for you in your account but under their name - if the custodian bank collapses, you will be considered just one of their many creditors.

Actually, I am not sure whether this DBS etf also has DBS as the custodian so you should check carefully. If so, then I think SC is much better than DBS due to the low transaction fee.

you buying at one go right? or you buying in like monthly via a RSP?

Monthly via OCBC BCIP. 12k about just nice one whole year till the next SRS topup

my SRS under UOB though...

U also didn't use it for anything?

Anyway, u can transfer the SRS between banks.. There are some forms to fill though..

U also didn't use it for anything?

Anyway, u can transfer the SRS between banks.. There are some forms to fill though..

Just started putting in $ last year.

Today just bought something. I used to look at STI ETF many many years ago, but the liquidity wasn't there then. Now SPDR/Nikko AM looks like actually reasonable alternatives.

Thanks everyone.. waiting for the perfect stom as Greek crisis at least will drop.. so only got some ammunition,,,

not thinking of going in and contra like stocks..

just so call opportunist in me trying to make a buck rather then cry father... cry mother .. blame gahmen blame father blame everyone except failing to seize the golden goose..

I think like sub prime... like asia flu .. like now.. the greek crisis.. must make money ..

I still remember think think think.. buy condo ... wah .. worry if drop siao liao.. now HDB.. condo and everything move up still left THINKING .. LOL

Always feel.. buy car siao.. so expensive.. last time 17K COE..

Then wah drop 50 dollars siao liao.. now 70K coe and dropping .. maybe good think to start planning and benchmark on prices to go in..

Making your first million is really difficult but after than first million it is easy.

You don't have to be a professor to earn big bucks. All you really need to do is find something you are good at. Most people are too lazy and looking for the ah ha moment which sometimes don't happen.

The other thing is before you start spending, earn first.

Here should be an inspiration for you.

As action star Jackie Chan (No. 38, $50 million).

The Top 10 (2015):

1. Floyd Mayweather ($300M)

2. Manny Pacquiao ($160M)

3. Katy Perry ($135M)

4. One Direction ($130M)

5. Howard Stern ($95M)

6. Garth Brooks($90M)

7. James Patterson ($89M)

8. Robert Downey Jr. ($80M)

9. Taylor Swift ($80M)

10. Cristiano Ronaldo ($79.5M)

Making your first million is really difficult but after than first million it is easy.

You don't have to be a professor to earn big bucks. All you really need to do is find something you are good at. Most people are too lazy and looking for the ah ha moment which sometimes don't happen.

The other thing is before you start spending, earn first.

Here should be an inspiration for you.

As action star Jackie Chan (No. 38, $50 million).

The Top 10 (2015):

1. Floyd Mayweather ($300M)

2. Manny Pacquiao ($160M)

3. Katy Perry ($135M)

4. One Direction ($130M)

5. Howard Stern ($95M)

6. Garth Brooks($90M)

7. James Patterson ($89M)

8. Robert Downey Jr. ($80M)

9. Taylor Swift ($80M)

10. Cristiano Ronaldo ($79.5M)

Don't need to be so big time.. enough to retired and see my grand children when there is one will be good enough for me .. stay happy.. live comfortably..

OOooooooo yar boh??

CIv_l0HUwAAxHLf.png

FFF says 6.7mths to rates rise... buy the rumor, sell the news

Edited by Duckduck

looks like Greek amegadom did not happen..

Have to continue waiting for the next big drop then..

Fitch did not devalue the currency either ...

CIv_l0HUwAAxHLf.png

There is a big Risky way in going all out... Buy the REIT and hedge on the value and earn the dividens.

Then pledge your property and borrow to buy more of the REIT, then pledge the REIT and one more time on the REIT.. cash out when it boom..

IF it goes bust then u need a one way ticket out of town.. LOL

There is a big Risky way in going all out... Buy the REIT and hedge on the value and earn the dividens.

Then pledge your property and borrow to buy more of the REIT, then pledge the REIT and one more time on the REIT.. cash out when it boom..

i wld do that with DBS bank bonds, consperm wont default coz its too big to fail :D

CIv_l0HUwAAxHLf.png

Rate hike , and you buy REITs???

I rather buy BAnks

Why so laychey?

Just walk into casino, showhand, double your networth easily.

Isnt that how people do it?

Heh heh heh