'Bullet scam' in Manila airport draws travellers' ire

Carnoob

In a news briefing yesterday, Transport Secretary Joseph Abaya said the situation seems to "have been blown out of proportion". He added that the number of passengers apprehended for cases involving live ammunition was just 0.004 per cent of Manila airport's total annual traffic of 34.2 million.

To put that into perspective... 0.004% of 34.2million is 1,368! That's just for live ammunition! Like that consider very little har? [hur] [hur]

Edit: wrong calculation

Edited by Vid

To put that into perspective... 0.004% of 34.2million is 136,800! That's just for live ammunition! Like that consider very little har? [hur] [hur]

To go one step further... It's about 375 cases EVERY day [dizzy]

my calculator says 0.004% of 34.2million is 136.8 leh...

Edited by Tkseah

my calculator says 0.004% of 34.2million is 136.8 leh...

Oops... my bad.... was rushing to the toilet before I head out. Should be 1,368 [:p]

Good money for them, one threat = S$895 - S$1,400... that's like one month salary for them to work here :lll._.: ... I think it is their gov's initiative to attract their talents back from Foreign Lands...  [lipsrsealed]  :ph34r:

Sounds about right, last time I was late for my flight in Manila. Some kind mata help us escort all the way to the tarmac, just before we reach he ask me for a "tip" for assistance rendered lol

I had a few nightmares when flying out of Manila (both domestic and international). Finally decided to reroute and fly out of phils via Davao instead of Manila.

full respect for the SIA groundstaff in Manila. Helped us get through the crazy check-in queue (four different stages when I last counted) in order to catch our flight out. On one occasion, it took me 3.5hours to clear all the checks, even with the "express" lane opened for SIA.

but this pullet scam takes things to a whole new level.

The airport workers will scam not juz tourist but maids too. My maid comprain when she weigh luggage at changi check in, it was within 20kg. When rechecking in for her connecting flight in manila, check in counter say bag overweight n ask for 'tip'. When go thru immigration, custom say passport got 'problem' and kena ask for 'tip' to settle. Really screwed up place.

maybe they see her passport got many Singapore chop... can tell she is a Balikbayan (Filipino overseas worker) and assume she is relatively well off compared to the local people... so they target her.

The Filipinos are very pleasant people, unfortunately their country governance is total mess. In a sense it makes Jakarta look "clean" least tourist don't kanna these kinda thing at the airport of all placed. 

As you said the checks are insane, they check and check you again  [furious]  [furious]

Next time go php better just take a carry on luggage, since its a place for shopping just buy some cheap luggage on the return flight.

I had a few nightmares when flying out of Manila (both domestic and international). Finally decided to reroute and fly out of phils via Davao instead of Manila.

full respect for the SIA groundstaff in Manila. Helped us get through the crazy check-in queue (four different stages when I last counted) in order to catch our flight out. On one occasion, it took me 3.5hours to clear all the checks, even with the "express" lane opened for SIA.

but this pullet scam takes things to a whole new level.

The Filipinos are very pleasant people, unfortunately their country governance is total mess. In a sense it makes Jakarta look "clean" least tourist don't kanna these kinda thing at the airport of all placed. 

As you said the checks are insane, they check and check you again  [furious]  [furious]

Next time go php better just take a carry on luggage, since its a place for shopping just buy some cheap luggage on the return flight.

agreed on the overall pleasantness of the Filipinos. I think the stress of big city living gets to everyone...

Jakarta... I once brought an entire steering rack for a Toyota Wish from SG to JKT.. arrived via T3 (air asia). Got a few questions fm the customs and opened up the box for checks but they let me through without any tax. Sadly it didn't completely fix the issue with the car. Gonna bring a steering yoke/coupling and tie rod ends next trip!