A Video Tribute To The Motor Siao In The 80s

Yeobt

Thanks ! That really bring back some memories. Others that I can add on are the rides to 99弯 & Sartona (一点水), stacking of designed helmets on stage of Prince & Jade cinema, Jurong drive-in. I still recalled having a "Monkey Face" helmet. Those days, Full Face were not allowed.....not that modified bikes were legal......

Very good memories of those 80s .

You guys remember how we organise to meet for show? Haaa. No handphone back then, so die die must meet outside bus interchange toilet at the agreed time.

Bring me back my good old memories. I think was until early 90s. Saw one of my graphic helmet in the video.. really funny when i think back now.

Edited by Maddriver

during my time, we used pager with messages in number code to identify the message.

like 190002 (7pm, 02 was cathay cinema)

liberty-theatre-movie-tickets_zpswxxkgfk

cathay-cinema-1940s_zpsbqvexz4f.jpg

send to my girl is 2912884  :yeah-im-not-drunk:

But some pictures were from the nineties and early 2000s leh...

Regardless I think I saw the 80s or 90s version of BB in some pics

Part 1 - The Fallen Of MotorXiao In 5 Days

I always wanted to write and share this story. Although it is a
non-spiritual related story to scare or frighten you but I think it
is somehow related to the changes of Singapore and it is where
you are living now. I hope I could excite you in some way in
this story. Just when I was resting myself on my highback
office chair infront of my monitor screen thinking where to start
the story line, I realized that the story I am about to write has
been happened almost 2 decade ago. The time really passing
us like a smoke. You see it rising to the air but you just
couldn�t catch it. The days of checkers shirt, baggy pants,
break dancing in Far East Plaza and side pank hair style would
never come back again. Pls don�t call us Ah Beng or Ah Seng
hor, those were the days, we were blend as Far East kids,
Daimaru kids or Center Point kids, abit high class hor. Haha

During those days, cars were not as popular as any of a
soaped up bike. If there is a choice for a lady to choose for her
ride, she would usually choose a bike for the weekend evening
with a macho man in black jacket, black tight nylon pants and
a designed helmet. Every weekend was very eventful for the
motorxiao. The party would start gradually after 6pm on Friday.
Members of the particular group from all over the places will
start flocking in and gather in their designated spot. These
members can be ranged from 20 to even 50 riders and pillions in
a group. Some of the spots were located under the HDB block;
some were meeting in Mcdonald or Shopping Mall. These places
were their regular meeting points and they were not just
possessing with the same interest with bikes, they carried the
same designed helmet for their group and they hanged out
together on every weekend to seek excitement. The few
popular groups I could still recall now are Pirate Yamaha, Spiral,
Challenger, Omega, Yi Ba Huo and so on.

There was a particular group I joined during those times and it
was located below my block. My parents were extremely strict
on me and for my safety sake; I was not allowed to learn riding
a bike. So, I took up a driving lesson instead so that I could
still join them to party. Midnight movie on Friday would never
missed. During those days, midnight movies would have to be
pre-booked in advance 2 or 3 days. For some popular movies
by Jackie Chan or Chow Yun Fatt, we may even have to book
the tickets a week in advance to avoid disappointment. Some
of the popular theatres then were Orchard Lido, Cathey,
Capitol and etc. Group and group of motorxiao were flocked in
to the nearby carpark with their modified machine and of
course the chio bu (pretty girls). It is a norm to see these
groups of bikers traveling down the road in cluster of 10 to 20.
You can hear them coming by the sound of their modified
exhaust pipe even they were 500m away. It was also very
common to see plenty of spectators gathering outside the
theatre just to check out the nicely soaped up bikes before
they entering into the theatre. Or also maybe the soaped up
chio bu. And most of the time, these spectators were also
reluctant to go into the theatre for the movie because
sometimes extra show start outside the theatre before the
actual show inside. (Fighting Lah) No wonder midnight movies
were so popular those days because the price for one ticket
can sometime catch two shows. Haha Once inside the
theatre, all the designed helmets were laid and stacked in rows
on the stage in front of the spectators inside the theatre.
Difference groups were placed their helmets separately
depending on which side they are sitting. Once, I was over
heard this from a woman sitting behind me. She said to her
boyfriend, are you bring me here for the movie or to see the
helmets? Well, she didn�t expect that she would never see it
again after the Christmas Party in 1987.

to be continue if u guys r interested

Part 2 - The Fallen Of Motor Xiao In 5 Days.

One of the fights I can still remember was happened in
Queenstown theatre. Just when everybody was already sitting
comfortably watching the movie, fight was erupted furiously
outside the theatre by some Tom, dick and Harry. The theatre
door was remaining locked to prevent them from fighting into
the theatre. One of the farker was so desperate that he banged
on the theatre door to ask for his friends inside to help. He was
like shouting � Xiao A, come out quickly, we beh tong liao
ahhh~~~~come out leh~~~hurry up lah�. Poor chap, I didn�t
see any person name Xiao A responding to his calling outside
(mayday mayday). Oh did he go to the correct theatre? Well,
after the show. We saw a few teens were caught sitting inside
the police car with both hands cuffed with a pair of silver
rolex king. Too bad, we were late for the free show outside.

The night is still young even after the midnight movie. A simple
supper in popular hawkers like Newton Circle, Lau Pa Sak, ABC
market, Redhill market, Marine Parade and the last hawker
below the Toa Payoh flyover in between the Police academy
and Catholic JC was inevitable, whitley hawker. Members from the other groups
or from the same group would also meet up at this time and the
population size now can be as much as hundred for just the
motor bikes only. Pillion were not included. Entertainment was
not many during those times and Xbox, playstation 2 and
internet were not available too. So, the most thrilling thing
then was high speed racing in the weekend. Either you are a
rider or a spectator; it would certainly excite you with the huge
turned out with plentiful of fast and furious machine.
Information of race for the night would be exchanged among
the organizer of the respective groups. The most popular spots
for racing then were Lim Chu Kang aeroplane road and 99 turns
at Pasir Panjang Road. Scout teams from the group would be
sent to check the location first for TP ambushing before they
decide the location for the race. Beside public phone, pager
was the second source of communication then. Once the
racing location is fixed, we will move out in smaller groups to
avoid detection. The news of races and location would be
shared and spread rapidly by pager messages through special
code only understandable by the organizer. Now, you will see
groups and groups of motor xiao flocking in towards the same
direction from difference parts of Singapore. The total number
of bikes alone can be as much as few hundred by now. Again,
pillion were not included in my number. If fight would be
erupted between the groups, I think even the �ang chia� police
task force would have hard time to sustain us. The fortunate
thing is, most of these fun seekers are truly just looking for
thrill for speed. However, some groups were mixed with
gangsters but are minimum. As far as the enforcer team is
concerned, we are like a time bomb. No one knows when we
would explode. But we could not be blended as secret society
because we were not one. Motor xiao, yes but as far as we
don�t break the traffic law, we would not be stopped. But soon,
with the extensive cover reports by the media for the weekend
race, the traffic police were keeping an eye on us closely. New
teams and new members from other parts of the island were
increasing rapidly everywhere. You would see designed helmet
by riders everywhere on the road. Even dispatch rider wore
designed helmet. It was like a new fancy trend. Some of which
were mixed with members from the secret society. And very
soon, the whole game that supposed to be fun and thrilling
became out of hands.

The heat up between the police and the motor xiao was soon
reached to an uncontrollable boiling point. It was happened
sometime end of 1987. As usual, groups of motor xiao were
riding up to the carpark of Prince Theatre located at Beach
Road. Because the carpark was located inside the building
itself, the sound of the modified exhaust pipe worked extremely
louder. And these motor xiao will lab their throttle to show-off
their modified pipe to the rival groups inside the carpark while
waiting for the time to enter the theatre. Whoever can lab
louder and stronger or have more money to burn their pocket
for the petrol will feel like a winner for that night. Everything
looks usual but it was very unusual tonight. The nuisance we
created inside the Prince carpark for at least half an hour had
eventually pissed off the police officers just next door. That
was Beach Road Police Station. i think they must have felt
offended for no sense of respect to them. Just before we were
ready to walk into the theatre by the carpark for the show, 4
police cars were dispatched to the scene with siren very
quickly. We sensed big problem would be coming and therefore
we quickly walked into our seats. Many plain cloth officers were
also walked into the theatre after us and the management of
the Prince theatre would ordered to turn on the lights inside.
Wow! That was really serious and it was an experienced to
witness it.

to be continue

Part 3 - The Fallen Of Motorxiao in 5 Days

As what I have expected earlier, there must be something
big coming after us for 'zai tai shui tou shang dong tu'
a handful of motor xiao were identified by the officers and
were called up from their seat inside the theatre to their
respective modified bike parked outside. I was told later
that this group of motor xiao who was called up earlier
would have their bike specially escorted for inspection by
the TP at Maxwell Road. On the other hand, remember the
designed helmets stack n displaying on the front stage like
any other midnight show we go? Those helmets were belonging
to the difference group of motor xiao still sitting quietly on their
seat. One of the plain cloth officer asked "xian a helmet? li nan
suka pasar malam helmets sibo?" Who's helmets are these? You
guys like to display your helmet right?" No one dare to walk up
to the front stage to identify their helmet. All the oily face motor
xiao remain sitting in the theatre seat hoping that their nicely
sprayed swee swee a helmet would not be ruined. And you know
what? The plain cloth officer drew out a police baton, walked
near to the stage and sweep away all the nicely sprayed helmets
to the ground. One by one kok kok kok kok kok dropping onto the
floor inside the theatre. The heart of the motor xiao drops as they
were watching their beloved helmet dropping to the ground hardly
and mercilessly. No one dare to utter a single word. In the end, 2
of my friends lost their helmet. It could have been taken away by
someone after the mixed up. It was not surprising, but what is
even more surprising was, newspaper reported that designed
helmets were thrown into the hall of the Traffic Police Station
some time after midnight that morning. Haha, very �hiong� right?
It must be the work of the rival team.

After this weekend, the TP since to step up hard on the motor
xiao. One of my unforgettable events that happened at the
Orchard Cathey was involving me. TP in plain cloth were
already secretly deployed outside the theatre for the modified
motor bike and trouble maker. They knew through experienced
that we would hide by the time the TP showed up and thus
they would have little information to identify us. Now, the TP
will take notice of the bike number involving the lapping of
exhaust outside the cinema earlier. Than, a group of operation
TP in uniform will arrive at the scene just before the midnite show
start. And obviously, those riders involved earlier with the
throttle lapping outside the theatre would quickly walked into
the theatre and just leave their bikes outside there. But now,
although the riders were not being found but the TP has
identify the bikes involved, they would then haul up the bikes
to a police lorry by a crane to the Traffic Police Station at
Maxwell for further investigation. As for me, because I drove
there and therefore I drove up to the group of motor xiao
whom some of them were my friends which wanted to safe
keep their helmets inside my car. I didn�t know I was also
marked until I received a letter from the TP for my car to send
for inspection a few days later. I didn�t suspect anything
unusual; I thought it was just a routine check. But I was
wrong, I was fcuk left right and brain washing head to toe by
an Eurasian officer in-charge and was threatened to charge me
and confiscate my car for organizing illegal racing because I
was seen talking to the group of motor xiao that night.
Fortunately I was still an underage then and thus they let me
go with just a stern warning.

The most happening time is finally arrived. It is Christmas party
again. It was supposed to be party seasons but it became a
fighting seasons. Many motor xiao from all over the island
turned up in Orchard Lido theatre (now the Isetan Scotts) on
the Christmas Eve. We went there after a function and I went
by bike as a pillion because the road in Orchard Rd would be
too congested to drive. The street along the Scotts Rd was
equally congested with hundred of bikes lining up side by side
on the busy pavement with streaming of nicely dressed
pedestrians.

Everything was seen peaceful but it was not until the supper.
Our group was told to go down to the Whitley hawker�s centre
which is located below the PIE in front of the police academy
after the midnight show. It has only a small carpark and it was
full. It was full even for motor bikes, can you imaging how
crowded it was. Anyway, we decided to park several hundred
meters away and we can hear loud lapping of exhaust sound
coming from the hawker's carpark. The time now is about 2-3am
in the morning after the midnite show. However, the street, the
road and the hawker centre were extremely crowded tonight.
We are all in a party mood and we are expecting for some
happening till the morning. We heard lapping and were sure that
some competition are now going on with the rival team inside there.
We walked there quickly and we saw team A , B and C were lapping
their exhaust pipes loudly. Bang, bang, bang, bang, the atmosphere
there was filled with carbon dioxide and I also smell gun powder.
Just when we were still wondering what to fill our stomach for the
night, an empty glass bottle of coke fly passed our head from the
hawker centre to the carpark and landed on a �sway lang�. I
supposed the victim is someone from our team. I don�t know
because we didn�t dare to go close to where it happened because
we don�t want to be hit for nothing. Anyway, our team but from
other group is provoked by the action now. Volcano is now flowing
out with hot lava. But steady, no fighting yet. Because there is a
�roti chia� police van already standing by outside the carpark. Many
motor xiao starts leaving the hawker centre slowly and orderly to
prevent trouble. We soon left the place too. We went straight to our
team HQ to seek for further instruction. We were told that we are
now in curfew status with team B and C. Also, for safety reason, we
were told not to wear our designed helmet for the time being
even on the New Year�s Eve. And, we want them to pay up on the
New Year's eve.

Hmmm�big show on New Year�s Eve.

Edited by Pocus

Meet in front of kacang puteh stall. After show, go esplanade eat satay.

ang teng bay tao satay club.

Part 4. FINAL

After our meeting in the HQ. the time now is about dawn. We
can hear noises from the exhaust of the moving buses. We
thought we are safe enough to ride home. We moved out
from the HQ and heading towards the town. We took extreme
looked out for the rival teams along the way becos we are now
in curfew and we are now wearing the designed helmet. We
tried not to go by the estate our rivals gather. However, some
times 'ren shuan bu ru tian shuan' fate like to make fun of humans.
We saw a few motor head lights coming towards us from the other
direction. We tried to avoid them but that stretch of road was
a no returned and we were getting close. the only option then
was to speed up or slow down pretending that nothing had
happened. Also, hopefully they were not any of our rival team.
But too bad, THEY ARE ~~~!

Imaging we were travelling from Teloh Blangah towards ex HDB
building / Henderson Rd and they were heading Alexandra Rd.
They passed us from the other side of the road heading up.
We were in a group of only 2 bikes. Both LC kia with pillion. I
quickly made a quick count and noticed that they have 5 bikes
and 3 with pillion. They saw us and they slowed down their
bikes. Fortunately, there is a divided with trees and greenery
of more than 10 feet wide separating us. They lap their exhaust
at us furiously. We pretending that our helmet is very tight to
our ears and didn't hear them. We juz carry on heading towards
Henderson Rd steadily. Juz when I turned back my head to
check on that bunch of monkeys, i saw them already riding up
to the divided of green trying to make an illegal U-turn coming
after us. WTF, i quickly signal to my fren and says " xiao a, au
bay lai liao ah~~~ka kin ar~~~!!!" S h i t!!! the traffic light is
red now at the junction of ex HDB building. We can't stop there,
we chiong ar~~~!!! Red lights camera was not ready then.
We head fast and furious towards our home ground, along the
way, we beat at least 6 traffic lights at the speed of not less
than 110km. D a m n, i was only 17 y/o then and was still a
virgin.

It supposed to be an ordinary party evening for the New Year�s
Eve. But, it turned out to be a night we never forget. All the
other groups from the team from all over the island gather at
our team HQ. All came without team designed helmet as planned.
Than someone went to the coffee shop nearby and bought a
packet of straws for us. We were instructed to bite a straw
throughout the night to help identify ourselves as a team
member. Later, we were briefed by our group leader that our
objective tonight is to destroy the rival�s bikes parked outside
the theatre while they were watching the midnight show. We
have no intention to hurt anybody but only the machine. We
set-off at about 1030pm from our HQ to the destination. The
total number of bikes tonight is closed to hundred or more. Just
bike alone. Pillion is not included. To avoid been stopped by TP,
we moved out in groups.

Our first stop, Katong Odean. We thought they could be there
and we want to ambush them right there. Group and group of
motorxiao starts arriving at the scene. We try to go round the
area in groups to split the team to avoid complains from the
private residential there from the sound of our loud exhaust
pipe. Some went up by the carpark ramp to the top floor to
look for the rival�s bikes. But it turned out to be nothing. The
rival�s team was not there. So, we decided to move on to
Orchard Lido and Cathey. This time, all the groups want
to �chiong tao� go first and eventually, all groups together and
became one big team moving on the road from Katong by
Geyland to Orchard Rd. Can you imaging the number of about
100 bikes moving on the road side by side? I never believe this
will happen here again.

Because the number was huge and we try to contain everyone
together to avoid going lost, (no handphone then) we were
moving towards the destination slowly and steadily. Along the
way, there came a joker squeeze into our team and start
lapping his exhaust at us. He was doing it and at the same time
zig zag between us. I think he must be either dumb, blind or a
plain i d i o t. I saw him squeezing to the front and soon someone
from our team gave him a kick at the side of his bike and I saw
him fallen down onto the road. He sensed something was wrong
by now and he quickly ran toward the old shop houses along
the Geyland Rd. I saw many motorxiao infront just dropped
down their bikes and get chase after him. The scene I saw
would only be repeated now by watching the Hong Kong �pai
kia� movie. The whole stretch of Geyland Rd now is filled with
our bikes and fallen bikes on the centre of the road. Cars
behind passing us slowly and quietly, none of the car owner
dare to put their single finger on the honk. I�m serious. I just
want to share this story and I�m not trying to bulls**t you and
I�m not showing off. I was just a fun seeker and I was not a
gangster in anyway. Nothing for me to �how lian�. I rushed down
to the front to watch free show. I saw the poor man hiding
under the big drain that was covered by a big slab infront of
those old shop houses. He hide inside there and at the same
time keep saying sorry and begging us not to harm him. I heard
somebody shouting n yelling at him to come out. �Xiao a, mai
chow! @#$%^&*, ka lim peh chu lai, @#$%^&*!!!
They later sensed that we couldn�t do much to him and therefore
we turned back to our bikes. By the time my bike rode passed the
poor man�s bike infront, his bike is now �chiew chiew� in pieces
and with an oil tank filled with many new helmet marks.

We continue our journey towards the direction of Orchard Rd.
Now, I supposed our team members had just warmed
themselves up after the poor man incident and the mood is
definitely filled with more gun powder because somebody
helmet must have just added with some holes on it after
damaging the pity man�s bike. Haha. Just when we were about
to reach Orchard Rd, someone in our team received a pager
message that the rival team was spotted and is now heading
towards the last carpark at East Coast Park. We change our
course and this time, everybody �chiong� at high speed towards
last carpark like they were just being released from the gate of
hell.

We reached the last carpark within minutes. No one was
stopped by any law enforcer. I tell u, in that moment of about
100 bikes rushing towards the same direction, we are
unstoppable. We went by the flyover and then turned into the
East Coast hawker�s centre and went straight by the service
road to the last carpark but we didn�t see the rival�s member.
So, we decided to turn back to the East Coast Mcdonald to
see if they were there. (petrol was very cheap then lah) Some
turned back by the service road but my group turned back by
the ECP and robe on the stretch of highway towards city. Just
when we were riding pass the hawker�s centre on the highway,
we saw the rival�s team riding inside the service road towards
the last carpark. They met the other groups of our team head
on inside the service road. If I was not wrong, the number of
bikes the rival team have on that night was about half of what
we are. Those members inside the service road were quickly
jumped down from the bike and start charging at the rival
members with their helmet on their hands and whatever weapon
they found handy on the ground fiercely. Very fiercely !
BROS CHIONG AHHH~~~~!!! The vocalno is now finally exploded !
Honestly, I feel that the rival�s team was not prepared and were
not expected for the fight at all and they were caught in surprise.
I saw them stunned for a few second before they threw down
their bikes onto the ground instancely and ran into the hawker�s
centre just nearby for their lives. Our group which was on the
highway, we also abandon our bikes along the road shoulder but
we do it with the stand first. We jumped across the drain and
charged towards the rival members too. One of the rival members
was caught sandwich by us and the fence
belongs to the swimming lagoon behind him. He said � tolong
tolong, Mai pa wa, mai pa wa !!!� (pls, don�t hit me). Then I
heard someone said � Mai pa A sai, helmet ka lim peh turn chu lai !!!�
(remove your helmet now). The rival man quickly removed his
helmet in record time and threw it onto the ground before he
turned and climb onto the fence behind him and disappeared
into the darkness inside the lagoon. When live is at risk,
nothing is impossible to be possible even is a 2 meter high
fencing. I saw someone picked up the helmet and said � chi liap
helmet ho A leh, lim peh beo ei a shoel helmet sibey ku liao !!!�
(I was eyeing for his shoel brand helmet man). Wow, robbery !!!
Luckily he didn't eyes for his racer's jacket and pants, if not,
the poor man might have to run naked...haha

We walked back to the service road where all the rival�s bikes
are. We removed our helmet and start throwing blows on the
machine. Just when the few of us was trying to see if helmet is
stronger or the bike, I saw 2 head lights shining at us just a
stone throw away from me. I was curious to see how would the
driver inside the car react when he saw event like this
happened in his own eyes. I looked up and you know what? It
was a �roti chia� police van with 2 policemen sitting inside the
van looking at us hitting the bikes lying on the road. I use my
elbow to alert my friends beside me. � Xiao a, xiao a, mata mata !!!�
We were stunned !!! Obviously the policemen would not come down
because we were now out number them. Also, they couldn�t move
to pretend they didn't see anything because the bikes on the
ground were obstructing their way. Therefore, we picked up the
bikes which is now 'chiew chiew' and swing them down into the
drain beside one after another. All these were witnessed in the eyes
of the policemen inside the van. After that, we jumped across the
drain and I went straight up to my friend�s bike.

We know there would be a big operation on us soon and thus
we rushed home straight by the highway at the speed of more
than 120km/hr.

After that night, we never see all the team designed helmet
anymore. I think it was banned and TP is coming hard on us even
bikes traveling in group. If I�m not wrong, bikers travel with
more than 5 in a group can be charged for illegal gathering.
This is to deter motor xiao gang and to prevent the same thing
happened as in 1987.

the end.

hope u like my true encounters!

Nice write up bro.. those were the fun days ! When i told my younger generations about the numbers that we gather, they thought i was joking.

Part 4. FINAL

virgin.

we moved out in groups.

will happen here again.

hell.

than 120km/hr.

happened as in 1987.

the end.

Biggest round up was the road outside changi cargo complex to ECP carpark G..(iirc)....code name.."Operation Senjata"....this is much earlier than 1987...came out in front page ST...anyone

remember?

Part 4. FINAL

virgin.

we moved out in groups.

will happen here again.

hell.

than 120km/hr.

happened as in 1987.

the end.

Biggest round up was the road outside changi cargo complex to ECP carpark G..(iirc)....code name.."Operation Senjata"....this is much earlier than 1987...came out in front page ST...anyone

remember?