Most Active Discussions

4 Pages V   1 2 3 4 >
Reply to this topicStart new topic
Geniuspear
Geniuspear post Feb 19 2012, 11:02 PM  
Post #1

1st Gear
Warn: -----

Hi guys, im new here need some advise. Basically im driving a 1.6A Kia Koup at the moment. Reg march 2010, I bought it recently on Oct 2011 at the price of 73k and down 5k took a 68k loan. recently car gimme me abit of hiccup. advised by gf's uncle who owns a reputable workshop tat kia cannot buy 1, buy jap car better ( maybe he stereotype ba :( ). my fren ( a car dealer ), say he will help me sell at 72k. after some calculation, he say i will earn abt 4k, so the installment i pay consider rent car and downpayment lppl. but gd enuff consider i dun have to fork out money i sell. Ppl told me can breakeven/earn abit good enuff better let go cos korean car ( sigh ).

frens/gf/family kp tis car 2 door, very troublesome. i personally feel tis car is very under powered, and as a "poser" status, really kana jio by ppl often and luff by some ppl ... zzzzz

my concern is should i sell it? planning to get manual car and abt 2L if possible. cos most of the time i will ferry family/friends around and the car really under powered... struggling to move... especially upslope can die.

car dealer fren told me to get balloon scheme, installment lower but at end of day no scrape value. anyone can tell me pros n cons of tis scheme? heard good n bad stuff about it...

was tinking of changing to euro R or civic.. any suggestion?

oh yes, my insurance is 3.2k ( under dad's name no NCD also no claim b4 )... looking for a car tat insurance lower ... prefer 2k+ or so...

This post has been edited by Geniuspear: Feb 19 2012, 11:07 PM
Go to the top of the page

+Quote Post
RoadTricks
RoadTricks post Feb 19 2012, 11:05 PM   |  In Reply To Geniuspear
Post #2

3rd Gear

QUOTE (Geniuspear @ Feb 19 2012, 11:02 PM) *
Hi guys, im new here need some advise. Basically im driving a 1.6A Kia Koup at the moment. Reg march 2010, I bought it recently on Oct 2011 at the price of 73k and down 5k took a 68k loan. recently car gimme me abit of hiccup. advised by gf's uncle who owns a reputable workshop tat kia cannot buy 1, buy jap car better ( maybe he stereotype ba :( ). my fren ( a car dealer ), say he will help me sell at 72k. after some calculation, he say i will earn abt 4k, so the installment i pay consider rent car and downpayment lppl. but gd enuff consider i dun have to fork out money i sell. Ppl told me can breakeven/earn abit good enuff better let go cos korean car ( sigh ).

frens/gf/family kp tis car 2 door, very troublesome. i personally feel tis car is very under powered, and as a "poser" status, really kana jio by ppl often and luff by some ppl ... zzzzz

my concern is should i sell it? planning to get manual car and abt 2L if possible. cos most of the time i will ferry family/friends around and the car really under powered... struggling to move... especially upslope can die.

car dealer fren told me to get balloon scheme, installment lower but at end of day no scrape value. anyone can tell me pros n cons of tis scheme? heard good n bad stuff about it...

was tinking of changing to euro R or civic.. any suggestion?

kia so bad mehh... heard some good reviews but of course some bad ones too..i dun noe bout which is the better choice, but i would choose the euro-r!
thumbsup.gif

+Quote Post
Macrosszero
Macrosszero post Feb 19 2012, 11:14 PM   |  In Reply To Geniuspear
Post #3

The first question is, can you afford it to upkeep a Honda Euro R or Civic?

Car price aside, the insurance on these cars are high and the road tax is a concern too.

Your desired replacement car could set you back a total of $1500 or more a month.

--------------------

Just because you've got more posts than me doesn't mean that you're right.

+Quote Post
Expertz
Expertz post Feb 19 2012, 11:16 PM  
Post #4

5th Gear
Warn: Banned

i have personally tested the koup myself and i can assure you that if you find it underpowered, you'll need to get yourself a 2.5L or a type r/euro r
i estimate your car's 0-100 can be done in roughly 10-10.5s, my bf's accord does it >11s my previous integra does it around 10, my current mazda 6 does it in >12s
if you find 0 - 100 in < 11s underpowered then you seriously need to get a much more powerful car, probably the jetta sport tsi or vw scirocco range. all other 1.6/2L japanese makes will be worst

personally i'd avoid the euro r, i've driven my bf's accord jdm which uses the same chasis as the euro r and handling really isn't there, during high speed turns the car's weight can be felt. if you insist on getting an euro r then make sure you get coilovers or lowering springs

the civic 2L is a good choice if you really want power, but expect to visit the petrol station very often. my sis's civic usually pumps 43L each time, considering 2L which should give 10km/l, you would need to refuel every 400km

This post has been edited by Expertz: Feb 19 2012, 11:17 PM

+Quote Post
Geniuspear
Geniuspear post Feb 19 2012, 11:21 PM   |  In Reply To Expertz
Post #5

1st Gear

QUOTE (Expertz @ Feb 19 2012, 11:16 PM) *
i have personally tested the koup myself and i can assure you that if you find it underpowered, you'll need to get yourself a 2.5L or a type r/euro r
i estimate your car's 0-100 can be done in roughly 10-10.5s, my bf's accord does it >11s my previous integra does it around 10, my current mazda 6 does it in >12s
if you find 0 - 100 in < 11s underpowered then you seriously need to get a much more powerful car, probably the jetta sport tsi or vw scirocco range. all other 1.6/2L japanese makes will be worst

personally i'd avoid the euro r, i've driven my bf's accord jdm which uses the same chasis as the euro r and handling really isn't there, during high speed turns the car's weight can be felt. if you insist on getting an euro r then make sure you get coilovers or lowering springs

the civic 2L is a good choice if you really want power, but expect to visit the petrol station very often. my sis's civic usually pumps 43L each time, considering 2L which should give 10km/l, you would need to refuel every 400km

ya koup is abt 10+ for 0-100, euro r cannot be more than 11s. my fren drove 1 and i experience it b4, its so much more powerful than a koup. integra shld be at least 7 +/- abit....

fren suggest me get VW car also, cc low , rd tax insurance cheap... and performance good...

+Quote Post
Expertz
Expertz post Feb 19 2012, 11:25 PM   |  In Reply To Geniuspear
Post #6

5th Gear

QUOTE (Geniuspear @ Feb 19 2012, 11:21 PM) *
ya koup is abt 10+ for 0-100, euro r cannot be more than 11s. my fren drove 1 and i experience it b4, its so much more powerful than a koup. integra shld be at least 7 +/- abit....

fren suggest me get VW car also, cc low , rd tax insurance cheap... and performance good...

accord jdm is > 11s
perhaps only the integra type r is 7s, the normal integra is at the very best 9 - 10s

careful with vw's prices, the jetta comfort is 115, the scirocco is 125
i checked last month, if you can live with the scirocco's cramped rear seats then go for the scirocco, its only 10k more

also the jetta has a horrible interior, i started a thread on it last month
if you really want to get the jetta, check out the golf if you don't mind a hatchback

my advice to you is to stick with your koup unless you can get a very good price on it, if you find that car underpowered then all other cars on the market are worst

This post has been edited by Expertz: Feb 19 2012, 11:27 PM

+Quote Post
Vega
Vega post Feb 19 2012, 11:28 PM  
Post #7

Base on what you described, from a financial stand point, i don't suggest you should own a car.

+Quote Post
Geniuspear
Geniuspear post Feb 19 2012, 11:28 PM   |  In Reply To Expertz
Post #8

1st Gear

QUOTE (Expertz @ Feb 19 2012, 11:25 PM) *
accord jdm is > 11s
perhaps only the integra type r is 7s, the normal integra is at the very best 9 - 10s

careful with vw's prices, the jetta comfort is 115, the scirocco is 125
i checked last month, if you can live with the scirocco's cramped rear seats then go for the scirocco, its only 10k more

also the jetta has a horrible interior, i started a thread on it last month
if you really want to get the jetta, check out the golf if you don't mind a hatchback

my advice to you is to stick with your koup unless you can get a very good price on it, if you find that car underpowered then all other cars on the market are worst

really meh, koup is heavy and 1.6l... i tink a vios power to weight ratio is better....

+Quote Post
Caravan
Caravan post Feb 19 2012, 11:28 PM  
Post #9

5th Gear
Warn: X----

Your koup insurance already so high, what more that of a performance car?
If you need to ferry people, better to get 4 door. But if you can sell high, you will have to buy high too, so there's no gain really.

+Quote Post
Geniuspear
Geniuspear post Feb 19 2012, 11:29 PM   |  In Reply To Vega
Post #10

1st Gear

QUOTE (Vega @ Feb 19 2012, 11:28 PM) *
Base on what you described, from a financial stand point, i don't suggest you should own a car.

dun worry, i earn more than enuff to own 1 comfortably... jus dowan to down so much, rather throw in investment more returns and beat the interest...

+Quote Post
Gohtg
Gohtg post Feb 19 2012, 11:29 PM   |  In Reply To Geniuspear
Post #11

3rd Gear

if u r going to get a manual car,i would suggest Honda civic 1.8M.e power is comparable to most other 2L cars or even better than some of them.But 1 thing for sure,it is confirmed better that Kia coup ^^.

--------------------
14.68km/L on FD1M.......very happy with such result ^^

+Quote Post
Geniuspear
Geniuspear post Feb 19 2012, 11:31 PM   |  In Reply To Caravan
Post #12

1st Gear

QUOTE (Caravan @ Feb 19 2012, 11:28 PM) *
Your koup insurance already so high, what more that of a performance car?
If you need to ferry people, better to get 4 door. But if you can sell high, you will have to buy high too, so there's no gain really.

ya im planning a 4 door, so integra also out althou im able to get a very sweet price if i buy over frm 1 of my fren...

i dont mind paying 3k+ for a performance car, but cmon... koup 3.2k?

i was told tat my dealer for the koup prolly fck me up wid the insurance to gain more comms....

+Quote Post
Expertz
Expertz post Feb 19 2012, 11:32 PM   |  In Reply To Geniuspear
Post #13

5th Gear

QUOTE (Geniuspear @ Feb 19 2012, 11:28 PM) *
really meh, koup is heavy and 1.6l... i tink a vios power to weight ratio is better....

http://www.------.com/new_cars/car_overview.php?pid=3035

11.8s is extremely poor for a light-weight car

+Quote Post
Zesty
Zesty post Feb 19 2012, 11:32 PM  
Post #14

1st Gear

dont listen to too many suggestions u will get messed up and confuse yourself.
things are always 2 sided .. do wat u tink is best for u

+Quote Post
Vega
Vega post Feb 19 2012, 11:33 PM   |  In Reply To Geniuspear
Post #15

QUOTE (Geniuspear @ Feb 19 2012, 11:29 PM) *
dun worry, i earn more than enuff to own 1 comfortably... jus dowan to down so much, rather throw in investment more returns and beat the interest...

Good to know what you are geting into. If power is what you need, go for the GTI or S4.

+Quote Post
Geniuspear
Geniuspear post Feb 19 2012, 11:35 PM   |  In Reply To Vega
Post #16

1st Gear

QUOTE (Vega @ Feb 19 2012, 11:33 PM) *
Good to know what you are geting into. If power is what you need, go for the GTI or S4.

was tinking a GTI, but price seems pretty high, and only gt auto :(

+Quote Post
Expertz
Expertz post Feb 19 2012, 11:38 PM  
Post #17

5th Gear

can consider the 2L lancer ex, from a discussion with a friend he did say that the lancer ex is as powerful as a honda accord

+Quote Post
Vega
Vega post Feb 19 2012, 11:38 PM   |  In Reply To Geniuspear
Post #18

QUOTE (Geniuspear @ Feb 19 2012, 11:35 PM) *
was tinking a GTI, but price seems pretty high, and only gt auto :(

Go the PI route. You won't regret the decision. I tested the 2L koup. This car totally no power.

This post has been edited by Vega: Feb 19 2012, 11:39 PM

+Quote Post
Geniuspear
Geniuspear post Feb 19 2012, 11:39 PM  
Post #19

1st Gear

was considering 2L lancer too, price wise very cheap for a big spacious and 2l car... insurance also cheaper only rd tax exp.

but alot in the market already lup evo body kit liao, only fuel cap still round nv change lolol

+Quote Post
Eyke
Eyke post Feb 19 2012, 11:52 PM  
Post #20

Warn: X----

Hyundai Sonata Diesel, damn fast one...

--------------------
shaolin.sg

Spreadsheet for Depreciation v4.0!