Most Active Discussions

2 Pages V  < 1 2
Reply to this topicStart new topic
Yapahfai
Yapahfai post Oct 28 2009, 10:10 AM   |  In Reply To Neoscan
Post #21

2nd Gear
Warn: -----

IMHO, the rd tax & FC for chrysler is not worth paying for, considering the performance.

You may want to consider nissan presage/toyota estima/citroen picasso.

presage engine is quite good, using same engine as cefiro, if i rem correctly.
estima is quite comfy & spacious enough for 7.
picasso gives renowned french ride quality.

though the above not as spacious as chrysler, I think the space is decent for 7 & performance/FC is definitely better than chrysler. They are full-sized MPVs afterall.

but if u insist on space, I'd say get the alphard. but the height may pose problems in certain carparks.
Go to the top of the page

+Quote Post
Darryn
Darryn post Oct 28 2009, 10:12 AM   |  In Reply To Alfisti168
Post #22

NOS-ed
Warn: X----

QUOTE (Alfisti168 @ Oct 28 2009, 10:09 AM) *
But bro, I heard that depreciation jialat leh....

Dunno one, I just bored leh, so go anyhow whack testdrive from nearest AD....never research properly. But I would imagine that yes - resale on a S plate diesel minibus is gonna be pretty difficult - unless can somehow re-register later under PA / PB plate....but also though if keep for 7 or 8 years and only need to recover a small amount of COE may be good - big headache for P registered bus is 70km speed limit, I would bet many companies dun like this (maid agencies for example)

--------------------
Behold the tortoise! He only makes progress when he sticks his neck out.
All that's required for evil to triumph is that good men do nothing

+Quote Post
Furrynadz
Furrynadz post Oct 30 2009, 11:03 PM   |  In Reply To Neoscan
Post #23

QUOTE (Neoscan @ Jul 6 2009, 09:00 PM) *
Hi there,

Have not test driven one yet but thought the performance specification and price are quite ok.
Japanese MPV are just too common on the road.
Anyone driving this car presently? Wanted to know the car interm of:

a) Space, luxury and comfort (compare with Grandis, Odyssey, Estima equivalent)
b) Ease of maintenance and general reliability(Made in US means lousy QA)?
c) Can last the next 10 years?
d) Fuel frugal to drive around .

If you have other information, please feel free to let me know.

Thank you very much.

Regards,

i believe this link alone will totally kill your thoughts of buying
http://www.euroncap.com/tests/chrysler_voyager_2007/277.aspx

+Quote Post
Solstice_sg
Solstice_sg post May 12 2010, 03:22 PM  
Post #24

Interestingly and in the most amusing manner, I read the more than 20 posts on the Chrysler Grand Voyager. As an owner myself and someone whom upgraded to the 3.8 liter version, I wouldn't consider anything lesser. We have here people comparing it to the Vitos, Grandis and Fiat. Isn't it laughable? Would anyone in a serious mind looking to buy a Grand Voyager want to consider a Grandis or Vito? They are in a different league.

My first Voyager was purchased when I was living in the States and I bought a Dodge Caravan then. Chrysler started the minivan craze back in the eighties and today the Grand Voyager is the grandfather of all these so-called MPVs. True, the capacity is high and given Singapore context, road tax is also on the higher side. However, the gist here is that if you are looking for a tough and well built MPV, the Grand Voyager is streets ahead of its competitors. The Stow and Go concept made use of every conceivable space available in the vehicle and if I choose to drive with 4 others I can fold the center row out of sight leaving myself humongous room. What other vehicle can do that? The vehicle is spacious, comfortable and yet nimble. Little wonder the majority of Grand Voyager drivers are women.

On the aspects of safety, Europe has its NCAP ratings and the Americans have their IIHS and IHTSA equivalent. If you think the Europeans have given the American Grand Voyagers a bad rating, think about what the Alphard can be if ever they are tested. I for one, will want a vehicle that has survived 25 years of competition staying ahead in its class. Chrysler has been building the Voyagers for more than a quarter of a century. I have seen the Alphards, the Elgrands and even the German Vitos but once you land yourself a Grand Voyager, nothing comes close. You cannot go wrong if you are one of the 12 million owners of a Voyager or Caravan. That is how many Chrysler have put them on the road and that says it all.

This post has been edited by Solstice_sg: May 12 2010, 03:40 PM

+Quote Post
VellfireS
VellfireS post Jul 3 2010, 12:21 AM  
Post #25

My Estima's FC is good. 11km/l .. Better than my Camry.. Estima is spacious also.. At first , wanted to buy an Alphard , but then it is too tall for HDB car parks.. You can really feel Estima's true meaning when you go to KL,,

--------------------
The Great Melon TIKO Ranger ()

+Quote Post
Shrsrn
Shrsrn post Jul 3 2010, 01:13 AM  
Post #26

My family owned in this car in the 90s during the period of nonsense COE and high ARF it was selling for something like 240+ k. All in all our car which was the first batch of chryslers was pretty much a lemon, I recall the car having to be sent in to komoco on 2-3 incidents that were 4 figure amounts. Looks wise, the latest one looks like crap, while the 90s-early 2000s looked quite fierce. Good points include big CC engine, very luxurious seats + spacious, and something unique. Bad points are, high road tax, terrible fuel efficiency, poor reliability, DAMN expensive spare parts and there are just better options today.

+Quote Post
VellfireS
VellfireS post Aug 29 2010, 02:51 PM  
Post #27

Bro , I tell you honestly. Go for Toyota Estima.. Fantastic FC , good looks , comfortable.. and not high..

--------------------
The Great Melon TIKO Ranger ()

+Quote Post
Ferraricaliforni...
Ferraricalifornia post Aug 29 2010, 03:23 PM  
Post #28

please lah....

Estima pales in space compared to the Grand Voyager....

the Grand Voyager is the daddy of MPV's (American wise)....

Alphard is just a glorified van registered as a car....

--------------------
The Married Men 91.3FM

+Quote Post
Zztensor
Zztensor post Aug 29 2010, 03:29 PM  
Post #29

2nd Gear

Juz a gentle reminder....Chrysler isn't well known for reliability....once u start to accumulate mileage, u would wish u had bought a japanese MPV.

+Quote Post
Zztensor
Zztensor post Aug 29 2010, 03:32 PM  
Post #30

2nd Gear

JD Power Reliability ratings:
http://www.jdpower.com/autos/Chrysler/Voya...Minivan/ratings

+Quote Post
Kyrios
Kyrios post Aug 29 2010, 04:11 PM  
Post #31

5th Gear
Warn: X----

Me like the logo of Chrysler, majiam like air force wings of honour keke..also I like the Chrysler Sebring and 300C for their mobster and mafia looks. Very unique and such mobster looks stand out amongst the boring Jap makes.

Not forgetting the SRT8s. biggrin.gif

+Quote Post
Ferraricaliforni...
Ferraricalifornia post Aug 29 2010, 04:13 PM  
Post #32

SRT-8 isn't the best V8 engine around,

but it'll gladly do for me....

--------------------
The Married Men 91.3FM

+Quote Post
Ferraricaliforni...
Ferraricalifornia post Aug 29 2010, 04:14 PM  
Post #33

and don't forget the Chrysler Grand Voyager 3.3L was under old American ruling....

meaning to say,

they just couldn't have a properly build and made car....

that was a time when cars were build shoddily since it was bought and then 'thrown' away (BATA) after a few years of usage....

fast change of ownership of cars....

--------------------
The Married Men 91.3FM

+Quote Post
Ferraricaliforni...
Ferraricalifornia post Aug 29 2010, 04:15 PM  
Post #34

the current GV has improved in the build quality,

but the appearance is more van-like rather than car....

still prefer the curvier old GV 3.3 (lookswise for a BIG MPV)....

but for everything else,

get a van....

--------------------
The Married Men 91.3FM

+Quote Post
Vivienshoshanna
Vivienshoshanna post Sep 2 2010, 02:05 PM   |  In Reply To Coolpica
Post #35

2nd Gear

QUOTE (Coolpica @ Jul 7 2009, 01:11 PM) *
My friend is driving one, the older version. Only thing I hear from him, the FC is damn lousy.

How about the new one, now?

--------------------
Jumbo Dirty Cat - Super Jacket Series

+Quote Post
Alheych
Alheych post Dec 16 2012, 03:32 PM  
Post #36

4th Gear

sorry for digging up this old thread.

http://www.sgcarmart.com/used_cars/info.ph...375&DL=1000

these stuff are getting real cheap now. what's the FC and maintenance like? (i'm guessing FC won't go beyond 6km/l)

+Quote Post
Fadyl
Fadyl post May 12 2013, 01:25 PM  
Post #37

Servicing at Chrsyler agent is a killer! Anyone knows of any workshop that services chrysler vehicles in particular the grand voyager?

+Quote Post
Fadyl
Fadyl post May 12 2013, 01:30 PM   |  In Reply To Fadyl
Post #38

So far damage is close to 5k already; air con, undercarriage related repairs. Worst still, problems usually dont get resolved completely. I think the agent being sole distributor of parts are really taking advantage by fixing extremely high prices for parts E.g. Evaporator cool for $2200 minus labour. Dunno whether can surface to CASE.

+Quote Post
ER-3682
ER-3682 post May 12 2013, 09:49 PM  
Post #39

5th Gear

Well,that's the result of buying 'rare' cars.!

+Quote Post
ER-3682
ER-3682 post May 12 2013, 10:09 PM   |  In Reply To Fadyl
Post #40

5th Gear

QUOTE (Fadyl @ May 12 2013, 01:25 PM) *
Servicing at Chrsyler agent is a killer! Anyone knows of any workshop that services chrysler vehicles in particular the grand voyager?

Parts still need to get from Agent,Agent will even sell higher price to outside mechanics...forget it....

+Quote Post

2 Pages V  < 1 2
Reply to this topicStart new topic