Test driven a Mz CX-7

Law_ong

Neutral Newbie

This is my first time writing a car review so pardon me on the bits and pieces of information available.. [:p]

I have the honour yesterday to be the first customer to test drive the new Mz CX-7, courtesy of our beloved ah veo and its the first time i drive a suv. The first glance on the exterior is that the car is big and tall, equivalent to a Rav4.

Despite the ride's built is higher and wider, it moves and behave very much like a normal sedan...the corner is good, not much body roll if you dun push it too hard like u would do to a rex..its a SUV for god sake..

The turbo kicks-in at a comfortable rpm @ abt 3500 (to me) compared to the one i tried on my cousin's legacy GT that kicks-in at 4200rpm....there is sufficient ponies to pull the 1.7 ton body under normal acceleration..

braking is good as well, given its heavy body the inertia for stopping is strong too...dunnoe if its the plastic on the chair..i actually was slipping forward when i step abit hard on the brake. Ride is firm but comfort as most of the rough patches are smoothen out by the suspension. The ride comes with sunroof, driver electric seats etc and, yes, bose sound system for those that like better sound yet not interested in sinking $$ for better aftermarket system...

The interesting part that i like about from the car is the new electric-hyraulic combined steering system, it gives u the beefy assuring steering response needed at high speed and yet able to give u the lightness needed to do turning at tight corner at low spd (the rims are 18", no joke on the wt)

Overall verdict is its a nice ride and give u the extra oomph needed as and when with high commanding view...would be a favourite for mummies or ladies my feel..(no flame me [:p])

The ve point is tat the plastic used on the dash board looks and feel abit low class for the price paid but the quality is there...