|
| Joint membership: You may login to MyCarForum using your sgCarMart username & password |
![]() ![]() |
|
Ninafrost
Nov 5 2007, 01:51 PM
|
|
|
2nd Gear Posts: 223 Warn:
|
Hi All,
Am new here so forgive me if my questions sounds silly. I have a 1.5 sunny coming to the end of the COE next year. Am thinking of getting a second hand car... Am looking at a airtrek non turbo or a grand vitara 2L. Any advice regarding... -Reliability -FC -Maintenance cost -spaciousness my work involves indoor and outdoor where sumtimes i have to ferry huge equipments. Like lightstand and tripods and cartons of lights. This outdoor work happens once in every month or so... Have an friend who claims that airtreks are not high in demand and very hard to sell??? Any advice would be great! Thanks Nina |
|
|
|
|
Vicz
Nov 5 2007, 02:04 PM
|
|
|
4th Gear Posts: 756 Warn:
|
Bro, I will go for GV man. In any aspect, be it performance or whatever... not mean to undermine the mit brand or praise the Suzie. i think the suzie is a value for money piece lor, sommore its newer in design (general). btw, not too sure whether the airtrek is still available in C&C anymore. for the GV, its a god send now bcos the 2wd is available for those who don't need the 4wd. Unless u go for the turbo Airtrek (I think maybe airtrek is no longer available in C&C if i m not wrong, its replaced by outlander liao).
|
|
|
|
|
Comfy
Nov 5 2007, 03:01 PM
|
|
![]() NOS-ed Posts: 13,454 Warn:
|
yup, u r right. airtrek is indeed being replace by outlander.
|
|
|
|
|
Ninafrost
Nov 5 2007, 03:05 PM
|
|
|
|
Hi Vicz,
thanks for the advice. But am looking at a second hand car... Wregards to the 2WD issue. Issit cheaper to own a 2 wheel drive? I dun think 4WD is necessary for me. I wun be destroying any flora or foilage for now....will stick on the roads... Thanks Nina |
|
|
|
|
Comfy
Nov 5 2007, 03:11 PM
|
|
|
a GV do come in a 2WD flavor and have a nice and spacious interior... or u can also start looking at the MPVs available ...
|
|
|
|
|
Iziz
Nov 5 2007, 03:19 PM
|
|
|
Sponsor Posts: 2,602 Warn:
|
Yes, 4WD tends to be heavier on FC & slower pick-up, hence unless u need it for off-roading/u have big horsepower, try not to choose a 4WD.
-------------------- Pls see my thread at Merchants folder for latest Nissan prices and Customer's testimonials
Feel free to give me (Isaac Lim) a call/sms at 9753 0794 for any queries. |
|
|
|
|
Ninafrost
Nov 5 2007, 03:42 PM
|
|
|
|
Hi Comfy....
Eh... dun really like MPVs ... Best Nina |
|
|
|
|
UncleWolve
Nov 5 2007, 04:18 PM
|
|
|
5th Gear Posts: 2,048 Warn:
|
airtrek is not 3 not 4
get the other -------------------- “Live for nothing or die for something, your call. - John Rambo?
~~~~~~~ [url "http://wolverman.blogspot.com"]CLICK HERE IT MAY SAVE YOUR LIFE[/url] ~~~~~~~ |
|
|
|
|
Watwheels
Nov 5 2007, 04:32 PM
|
|
![]() Turbocharged Posts: 9,714 Warn:
|
The Triton or Hilux double cab pick up seem more suitable & practical for your needs. Fit your budget too.
-------------------- VTEC. It Just Kicked In. Yo!
|
|
|
|
|
Ninafrost
Nov 5 2007, 05:10 PM
|
|
|
|
Hi Watwheels....
Eh... i'll pass on the pickup. But yes i did consider about the pickup... but i still like the comforts of a passenger car and the looks (yes i am a sucker for looks)... |
|
|
|
|
Niteek
Nov 5 2007, 07:28 PM
|
|
|
1st Gear Posts: 53 Warn:
|
i tink grand vitara will suit u more
|
|
|
|
|
Comfy
Nov 5 2007, 07:31 PM
|
|
|
then.. nothing much left.. take a look at honda's crossroad.. looks 4wd.. but not all version are 4wd..
GV is great for its boot size and passengers too.. but bit heavy on its FC.. |
|
|
|
|
Carcraze
Nov 6 2007, 12:06 AM
|
|
![]() 5th Gear Posts: 2,011 Warn:
|
what abt the Subaru Forester?
http://www.sgcarmart.com/main/info-2EknPQO3-1047.html what's your budget btw? -------------------- M-GT
|
|
|
|
|
Vicz
Nov 6 2007, 08:00 AM
|
|
|
|
QUOTE Hi Vicz,
thanks for the advice. But am looking at a second hand car... Wregards to the 2WD issue. Issit cheaper to own a 2 wheel drive? I dun think 4WD is necessary for me. I wun be destroying any flora or foilage for now....will stick on the roads... Thanks Nina Definitely heavier. why not u consider a proper mini van like peugeot partner or kangoo type if u really need the utilitarian side of the vehicle? likewise u can still fetch ur people in a small van... one of my relative was driving a kangoo then, he was enjoying it with the family and his goods...as well as his dogs too. of cos, different people have different likes and needs. I once own a Suzie... altho just an ignis but on the whole, i find suzuki is quite user frenly and reasonable on the FC. However, do expect to burn more in a bigger vehicle like a GV though unless u wan 2 consider a mini van lor. |
|
|
|
|
Yaloryalor
Nov 6 2007, 09:21 AM
|
|
![]() 6th Gear Posts: 4,475 Warn:
|
I would suggest GV but the 2WD model. I have a friend driving the GV 4WD, high FC and slow pickup..
I like the look of GV and believe the 2WD will be better FC and pick up. If drive in Singapore, there is no need for 4WD. -------------------- 树欲静而风不止。。。
|
|
|
|
|
Akula
Nov 6 2007, 10:35 AM
|
|
![]() 5th Gear Posts: 1,257 Warn:
|
2nd hand 2WD GV might not be so easy to source cos pretty new.
The model was intro abt 1 year ago. Most if not all on the used car market now are of the 4WD variety. |
|
|
|
|
Vicz
Nov 6 2007, 02:01 PM
|
|
|
|
Buy new one lah, 2nd hand is expensive lah.
|
|
|
|
|
Comfy
Nov 6 2007, 02:05 PM
|
|
|
i won't 2nd hand one.. only new for me.. i won't know how the car was run in... beside the monthly repayment will be almost the same as a brand new car.... no point in getting a pre-owned.
|
|
|
|
|
Ninafrost
Nov 7 2007, 01:34 AM
|
|
|
|
OK , here's some questions....
Brand new 2WD GV how muchie? I saw a GV for 2nd hand for 62K.... http://www.sgcarmart.com/main/info-2fAYFHE5-1000.html First hand car the depreciation of 3 years is at a descending at an ascending rate curve, whereas, after the three years it's a linear straight line deprecitation. I can't bear to think about the crazy first 3 year deprecitation. Look at it this way, once i own the car... i prolly wun change until close to the end...which explains my current situation with the sunny. I drive till the end ....Oh btw my sunny is second hand too... carcraze, yes i do like the forestor... but it seems more pricey then the GV for the same age... ok i haven't really compared their omvs closely... I did notice the mileage is pretty low.... Budget about 60-65k... I am not a person who throttles the pedal....but i do like more power... my 1.5 is getting inadequate when i am rushing for time.... fortunately its a manual So can i conclude that highest FC wise, 1. GV 2. Airtrek 3. Forestor???? With regard to commercial vehicles. I get huge oppostion from alot of people with regard to me driving trucks/pickups... i dun really dig driving Kangoos... This isn't meant as insult to other kangooo owners but to me, the kangoo vehicle and all the vans seem to lack that "character" Insurance agent suggested the rav4 L version. Confused.... |
|
|
|
|
Slowwalker
Nov 7 2007, 09:24 AM
|
|
|
2nd Gear Posts: 206 Warn:
|
Brand new GV 2WD @ 72500.
Suggest that u stick to yr list since you have short listed GV and Airtrek. if im in yr possition, i'll go for GV. FC better than Airtrek, Insurance also cheaper. Handling wise, i've test drive GV only, 2 GV 2WD is rear wheel drive, u will surprise to feel GV is so easy to handle If u looking at RAV4, brand new one is 2.4L, BM need to indent, some PIs have ex-stock. If u keen in GV, i got contact in CM, PM me if u needed. This post has been edited by Slowwalker: Nov 7 2007, 09:24 AM |
|
|
|
![]() ![]() |