Most Active Discussions

7 Pages V   1 2 3 4 5 > » 
Reply to this topicStart new topic
Mikeyeo
Mikeyeo post Dec 8 2008, 09:21 AM  
Post #1

4th Gear
Warn: -----

I do not know if any of our members who are using the Falken Zirex ZE-912 tyres have encountered this experience. This tyre has been designed to provide good aquaplaning according to the write-up.

Just end of last month, I replaced my Goodyear Eagle LS2000 which I used for 15km to Falken Zirex ZE-912 tyres. I chose the latter after reading the specs on how good is the tyre design and aquaplaning.

This morning while driving my daughter to work in a hotel along ECP at around 5.30am, it was raining extremely heavily and the road was full of water puddles. Although the road holding is good, but the aquaplaning is below my expectation.

When going through puddles of water at 80km/hr, the "pull back" feeling could be felt although my previous Goodyear Eagle LS2000 tyres which had been used for 15000km, could still cut through puddles of water even at 90 km/hr without having any 'pull back.

I held on to the the steering wheel firmly in position to prevent the tyres from 'running off' when going over puddles of water.

I have sent an email to the President of Stamford Tires this morning providing him on my feedback that I encountered of this supposedly good aquaplaning tyres and awaiting his reply.

Meanwhile, I might be changing to another set of tyres that will provide me with good road holding on dry and wet and especially very good aquaplaning.
Go to the top of the page

+Quote Post
Slonez
Slonez post Dec 8 2008, 09:38 AM  
Post #2

5th Gear

If you want proven wet performance, go for Goodyear Eagle F1 (do not buy china made version).
I've personally used Falken ST115 driving 140-160km/h under heavy rain on NS highway, very good too.

--------------------
------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------

+Quote Post
Octopus
Octopus post Dec 10 2008, 09:18 PM  
Post #3

I have sent an email to the President of Stamford Tires this morning providing him on my feedback that I encountered of this supposedly good aquaplaning tyres and awaiting his reply.

Please do keep us updated on what the president say. Thanks.

I was considering ZE-912 for my next replacement after reading the good review from Malaysia forum... Now reconsidering....

+Quote Post
Mikeyeo
Mikeyeo post Dec 10 2008, 11:58 PM  
Post #4

4th Gear

Hi Octopus,

In my email to the President of Stamford Tires, I quoted the following which I extracted from their newsletter on the description of the new tyre Falken ZE-912:

“A new asymmetric tyre, the ZE912 offers high speed response and ride comfort for passenger cars, wagons and mini-vans. The ZE912 is positioned between Falken’s entry-level models such as the Falken ZE322 and ZE522 and its flagship Ultra-High Performance Falken FK452.

The ZE912 has a unique tread pattern which gives drivers a balanced performance -- 53% of the tread is optimized for dry grip and cornering, while 47% of tread is designed for handling in wet conditions. The tread pattern has a combination of grooves, sipes and tie-bars along with a new high-wear silica compound that improves wet weather handling”.

My rationale to Stamford Tires' President was that I purchased the Falken ZE-912 based on the above description. But however, the tyres does not performed what it is supposed to be and having this 'pull back' effect when driving over puddles of water along ECP during a heavy downpour in the early morning of Hari Raya Puasa. This shows that the aquaplaning and displacement of water design on the tyres are not effective.

The personnel at Stamford Tires yesterday morning resolved the matter with the tyre shop that I purchased the tyres. Yesterday afternoon, I drove my car to the tyre shop and replaced the Falken ZE-912 with Bridgestone Adrenalin Potenza RE001 tyres which are manufactured in Japan.

Though the Bridgestone tyres are more expensive, I don't mind paying and just topped up the different in price for the Bridgestone tyres.

+Quote Post
Robo
Robo post Dec 11 2008, 12:15 AM  
Post #5

NOS-ed

u want good aqua planning tyres choose GY eagle F1. u can try driving behind a car with F1 tyres. u will know how good it is. scholar.gif

--------------------
Success is not the key to happiness. Happiness is the key to success. If you love what you are doing, you will be successful.
Albert Schweitzer

+Quote Post
Help1
Help1 post Dec 11 2008, 11:15 AM  
Post #6

i believed you have chosen the wrong tyre for your requirement.

The ZE912 has a unique tread pattern which gives drivers a balanced performance -- 53% of the tread is optimized for dry grip and cornering, while 47% of tread is designed for handling in wet conditions. The tread pattern has a combination of grooves, sipes and tie-bars along with a new high-wear silica compound that improves wet weather handling”.

that means the tyre is more suitable for dry condition rather than wet.

My rationale to Stamford Tires' President was that I purchased the Falken ZE-912 based on the above description. But however, the tyres does not performed what it is supposed to be and having this 'pull back' effect when driving over puddles of water along ECP during a heavy downpour in the early morning of Hari Raya Puasa. This shows that the aquaplaning and displacement of water design on the tyres are not effective.

it was a heavy downpour which means water ponding will appears and aquaplaning will happens regardless of any tyres u used. worst part is the tyres that u used is not suitable for such environment.

Remember all tyres reviews and tests are done in controlled environment, actual road conditions and weather are nowhere near to controlled environment so you need to take a pinch of salt in the review.

Under heavy downpour, aquaplanning will still occurs as the road surface is unable to repel water fast enough to the drainage system.

This post has been edited by Help1: Dec 11 2008, 11:21 AM

--------------------
My favorite site

+Quote Post
Dwoon
Dwoon post Dec 11 2008, 11:28 AM  
Post #7

Actually, the "pull back" effect.... is that aquaplaning???? Isn't that the opposite? sweatdrop.gif

+Quote Post
Help1
Help1 post Dec 11 2008, 11:38 AM  
Post #8

i dun really understand TS meaning on "pull back" effect...is it his action to release his accelerator and step on the brake when he felt that the car is floating over the water??? or the water is actually carried his car backwards which is very serious like tsunami tongue.gif

--------------------
My favorite site

+Quote Post
Dwoon
Dwoon post Dec 11 2008, 11:58 AM  
Post #9

I take it that the pull back effect is the resistance when one hits the water.

Aquaplaning is floating over the water surface which is different.

So by having the resistance, isn't that the intended effect to prevent aquaplaning???

+Quote Post
Help1
Help1 post Dec 11 2008, 12:28 PM  
Post #10

i should think so but lets TS clarify this "pull back"...maybe his england is more powerful than i am so i may have misinterpret wink.gif

--------------------
My favorite site

+Quote Post
Octopus
Octopus post Dec 11 2008, 12:43 PM  
Post #11

Good to know they allow you to change another set of tyres. I didn't know Stamford Tyre sell Bridgestone tyre?

From the thread pattern of ZE-912, looks like it does not have strong aquaplaning resistance. I assume the "wet weather handling" refer to wet grip, not aquaplaning?

I believe the thread pattern will affect aquaplaning, how fast can water be evaquated at high speed. But the material (such as silica) will affect wet grip, may not be a higher speed to loose wet grip, slow speed may also slide about if wet grip sucks.

+Quote Post
Help1
Help1 post Dec 11 2008, 12:47 PM  
Post #12

i think you have misread the thread...

stamford do not sell bridgestone tyres

TS went back to the tyreshop where he bought the tyres from, stamford sales rep is there to do some PR and gather information from TS. TS lost confidence in tyres sell by stamford so tyreshop may have recommend BS to TS instead

--------------------
My favorite site

+Quote Post
Tkseah
Tkseah post Dec 11 2008, 12:50 PM  
Post #13

5th Gear

When tyre hit water.. if it is unable to disperse the water backward or outwards, it will face more resistance and therefore feel more of the pull back effect.. if too much of the water cannot be dispersed then tyre will tend to 'climb' and ride on top of the water..

+Quote Post
Jerry
Jerry post Dec 11 2008, 12:51 PM  
Post #14

2nd Gear

I have been using the 912 for the past 5000km.From my experience,it provides me with quite good road handling in wet and also dry.

+Quote Post
Octopus
Octopus post Dec 11 2008, 01:01 PM  
Post #15

[reply]
i think you have misread the thread...

stamford do not sell bridgestone tyres

TS went back to the tyreshop where he bought the tyres from, stamford sales rep is there to do some PR and gather information from TS. TS lost confidence in tyres sell by stamford so tyreshop may have recommend BS to TS instead [/quote]
I see.... Thanks for clarification.

+Quote Post
Help1
Help1 post Dec 11 2008, 01:38 PM  
Post #16

well alot of times, the tyres are not the problem...the problem is the road condition which even good tyres may not be able to handle at times.

--------------------
My favorite site

+Quote Post
Dwoon
Dwoon post Dec 11 2008, 01:46 PM  
Post #17

Errr.... actually, I find that the sidewalls are too soft.... still on my ride and about 12K kms so far. Won't be getting them again once they are worn......

+Quote Post
Mikeyeo
Mikeyeo post Dec 14 2008, 09:10 AM  
Post #18

4th Gear

Hi Help1,

I refer to your posting which you mentioned

"well alot of times, the tyres are not the problem...the problem is the road condition which even good tyres may not be able to handle at times".

Pardon me for saying, personally I do not quite agree with you. Just to share this with you are other forumers, there was a heavy downpour 2 days back and I was driving along the same stretch of ECP that I encountered with the Falken ZE912 tyres before but now with Bridgestone Potenza RE001 Adrenalin tyres at 90km/hr.

Surprising, the Bridgestone tyres just cut through pools of water with ease and could still feel the road grip on the road surface and at the same time providing very good comfort level.

Although there are many tyres that are better off than the Bridgestone that I used, what I like about this tyre is it's good roadholding grip on both dry and wet road surfaces, responsive, good dispersement of water, quiet and the edge of the tyre sidewall is rounded thus providing for good cornering grip.

I must say that I am now satisfied with this tyre that meet my critiria.

I wish to qualify and categorally state that the above is based on my personal assessment as a car owner's viewpoint of the tyre after using for less than a week.

This post has been edited by Mikeyeo: Dec 14 2008, 09:14 AM

+Quote Post
Jeronleow
Jeronleow post Feb 7 2009, 08:35 PM   |  In Reply To Mikeyeo
Post #19

3rd Gear

Yo Mike I think "good aquaplanning" means less traction and grip on road leh. If the tire meant good grip and traction on road during rainy days it should be less aquaplanning.

--------------------
Starletly Yours,
Jeron Leow

+Quote Post
Leepee
Leepee post Feb 10 2009, 11:35 AM   |  In Reply To Jeronleow
Post #20

I think nowadays, people demand more emphasis on Auqaplane resistance.
I see so many tires now adays are having so deep and huge channels for water to disperse. I think the void area has increase alot in many modern tires to cater to aquaplane.

Won't this reduce the rubber contact on the ground for ultimate grip?

I still prefer the old style tyres with narrow and patterned groves.

I don't like the modern tyres which all similar with straight parallel patterns and groves. Example All continental, falken 912, 522, Re001, etc..etc.

--------------------
++++++++++++++++++
+ I am handsome hor! +
++++++++++++++++++

+Quote Post

7 Pages V   1 2 3 4 5 > » 
Reply to this topicStart new topic