|
| Joint membership: You may login to MyCarForum using your sgCarMart username & password |
![]() ![]() |
|
Neoscan
Jul 6 2009, 09:00 PM
|
|
|
1st Gear Posts: 66 Warn:
|
Hi there,
Have not test driven one yet but thought the performance specification and price are quite ok. Japanese MPV are just too common on the road. Anyone driving this car presently? Wanted to know the car interm of: a) Space, luxury and comfort (compare with Grandis, Odyssey, Estima equivalent) b) Ease of maintenance and general reliability(Made in US means lousy QA)? c) Can last the next 10 years? d) Fuel frugal to drive around . If you have other information, please feel free to let me know. Thank you very much. Regards, |
|
|
|
|
Coolpica
Jul 7 2009, 01:11 PM
|
|
|
5th Gear Posts: 1,028 Warn:
|
My friend is driving one, the older version. Only thing I hear from him, the FC is damn lousy.
-------------------- Past: Kia Picanto
Present: Nissan Latio Future: Daihatsu Terios 7 Seater |
|
|
|
|
Jolie888
Jul 7 2009, 01:38 PM | In Reply To Neoscan
|
|
|
4th Gear Posts: 676 Warn:
|
Wanted to consider it previously, but changed my mind when I realized (then) that it got only 1 or 2 stars for NCAP crash safety.
In the NCAP report, the test Chrysler Voyager car actually split into two on the side impact test. Big petrol guzzler of an MPV, with bottom-drawer crash test safety. No thank you. I think my family is more important to me, for that incremental cheaper$-per-cc/size incentive. |
|
|
|
|
Neoscan
Jul 7 2009, 07:07 PM | In Reply To Jolie888
|
|
|
1st Gear Posts: 66 Warn:
|
Amazing!!!!
100k+ MPV and yet only scoring 1-2 star rating like the made in china MPV.... No wonder they went bankcrupt producing such crap |
|
|
|
|
Fcw75
Jul 7 2009, 09:20 PM
|
|
|
Supercharged Posts: 6,569 Warn:
|
Dun tink this car can ever be fuel efficient.
|
|
|
|
|
Tarzan666
Jul 7 2009, 09:24 PM
|
|
![]() Supercharged Posts: 5,393 Warn:
|
3.3 litre some more.road tax per year how much siah.3k?
-------------------- MCF PS3 CLAN
1)Dj_spike:Dj_Shahril 2)Fireball0088:hsb0088 3)Tarzan666:sardin69 4)Tonyhawk:yaharoko 5)Ah_Cow:Ah_Cow 6)Kingcopa:thegod09 7)Freestylers09:freestylers09 8)Wreckwrx:wreckwrx 9)Galantspeedz:accordH22A 10)Unltd:Unltd8 11)Ixus:luckytan 12)Limahmao:limahmao 13)Skylander:rico7ch3t 14)Little_prince:The_king137 15)Hub_n_mona:trebuh007 16)Angguguay:r3d-agg 17)Ni_Ni10: ni_ni10 18)Windchoco : windchoco 19)King:Ah_nei 20)Tansrb:Tansrb 21)Nlatio: nlatio 22)MadDog70:XTheDarkSideX 23)Tkesper:Tkesper 24)Mazdaowner:SGSEAL64 25)Introz:intro82 Games we are playing now: Bad Company 2, Transformers , Super Street Fighter IV Feel free to join us in PSN every weekday/end nights from: 10pm onwards.. |
|
|
|
|
Watwheels
Jul 7 2009, 09:42 PM | In Reply To Neoscan
|
|
![]() Turbocharged Posts: 9,714 Warn:
|
Friend, dun judge MPVs just by looking at the numbers found on the roads.
Go and test drive all to see for yourself. What you want from (a)~(d) can only be found on a Japanese MPV. The one you mentioned is opposite of everything you had in mind. -------------------- VTEC. It Just Kicked In. Yo!
|
|
|
|
|
Hamburger
Jul 7 2009, 09:57 PM
|
|
|
6th Gear Posts: 3,518 Warn:
|
test a Alphard n a voyager.........proly e Toyota will win u over
-------------------- my yoshi is so cute
|
|
|
|
|
Watwheels
Jul 7 2009, 10:00 PM | In Reply To Hamburger
|
|
![]() Turbocharged Posts: 9,714 Warn:
|
test a Alphard n a voyager.........proly e Toyota will win u over This I agree cos many Hong Kong celebs have this MPV. It can be pimped to be even more luxurious. -------------------- VTEC. It Just Kicked In. Yo!
|
|
|
|
|
Silver_blade
Jul 7 2009, 11:10 PM | In Reply To Neoscan
|
|
|
Turbocharged Posts: 9,588 Warn:
|
I was considering it when I was shopping for an MPV last year.
This car can't meet most of what you are looking for. The only thing going for it is it's size and the seats (for the passenger) is among the most comfortable...cos of it's size. Loads of shoulder, leg and headroom. The Stow N Go system is also very useful. But road handling is so-so, built quality is typical of most American cars, under power, etc... |
|
|
|
|
Furrynadz
Jul 7 2009, 11:11 PM
|
|
|
Supercharged Posts: 5,744 Warn:
|
zafira, s-max, picasso
-------------------- |
|
|
|
|
Detion
Jul 7 2009, 11:26 PM
|
|
|
2nd Gear Posts: 233 Warn:
|
Test the alphard, Vellfire or Nissan Elgrand... Definitely will be much much better than Than Chrysler Grand Voyager. IF you want power, get the Toyota Alphard or Vellfire 3.5L version..
|
|
|
|
|
Silver_blade
Jul 7 2009, 11:31 PM | In Reply To Furrynadz
|
|
|
|
zafira, s-max, picasso These are good choices. I also considered Elgrand (specs only..cos it was not launched in s'pore yet) but gave up...cos it's too high for some carpark. So it is not practical for me...cos i don't have a chauffeur to wait for me while I shop or in a meeting. This post has been edited by Silver_blade: Jul 7 2009, 11:33 PM |
|
|
|
|
Silver_blade
Jul 7 2009, 11:32 PM | In Reply To Detion
|
|
|
|
Not sure about alphard or Vellfire. But test drove the Elgrand...it's like driving a van. Completely lack of 'feel' and road-holding is van-like.
|
|
|
|
|
Nostalgia
Jul 8 2009, 10:45 AM | In Reply To Silver_blade
|
|
|
2nd Gear Posts: 230 Warn:
|
Not sure about alphard or Vellfire. But test drove the Elgrand...it's like driving a van. Completely lack of 'feel' and road-holding is van-like. I was in the showroom two years ago, bent down and look at the rear suspension setup. Leaf springs....just like good-old three tonners.... Salesperson told me it was a deliberate design choice to 'improve comfort due to the weight of the car'... This post has been edited by Nostalgia: Jul 8 2009, 11:01 AM |
|
|
|
|
Darryn
Oct 28 2009, 09:23 AM
|
|
![]() 5th Gear Posts: 2,326 Warn:
|
If you're seriously considering something that size go and take a look at the vito and fiat minibusses.
I drove the fiat 12 seater - 2 litre turbo diesel, performance was "ok", handling about what you'd expect from a van, but if you didn't want a sports car also ok. At 120km it was quiet. Seats were very comfy, and very convenient to get in and out. Was manual only but because of diesel torque easy to drive, with reversing camera parking also not a chore. And big plpus for me was the hinged rear doors and fully removable rear seats (row by row) so easy to reconfigure if wanted to carry any cargo. If I recall register as S plate when I looked a little over two years ago was about $80k -------------------- Behold the tortoise! He only makes progress when he sticks his neck out.
All that's required for evil to triumph is that good men do nothing |
|
|
|
|
Alfisti168
Oct 28 2009, 09:37 AM | In Reply To Nostalgia
|
|
![]() 5th Gear Posts: 1,890 Warn:
|
I was in the showroom two years ago, bent down and look at the rear suspension setup. Leaf springs....just like good-old three tonners.... Salesperson told me it was a deliberate design choice to 'improve comfort due to the weight of the car'... ...FC will be And what about Renault Espace? Though no longer on the price list le, but you can enquire if there are any leftover cars still unsold. Bargain hard already, you may get a comfortable cruiser. This post has been edited by Alfisti168: Oct 28 2009, 09:46 AM -------------------- "A true petrolhead must drive an Alfa at least once in his lifetime!" Jeremy Clarkson
|
|
|
|
|
Plusnplus
Oct 28 2009, 09:37 AM | In Reply To Darryn
|
|
|
2nd Gear Posts: 224 Warn:
|
If you're seriously considering something that size go and take a look at the vito and fiat minibusses. I drove the fiat 12 seater - 2 litre turbo diesel, performance was "ok", handling about what you'd expect from a van, but if you didn't want a sports car also ok. At 120km it was quiet. Seats were very comfy, and very convenient to get in and out. Was manual only but because of diesel torque easy to drive, with reversing camera parking also not a chore. And big plpus for me was the hinged rear doors and fully removable rear seats (row by row) so easy to reconfigure if wanted to carry any cargo. If I recall register as S plate when I looked a little over two years ago was about $80k vito petrol ( S plate) = viano ? if true, that's around 200k plus now (sept 2009). fiat minibus buy from PI or fiat profesional singapore? i also want 8-12 seat vehicle, petrol (S plate) with around 80-100k (from AD of course) btw, new grand voyager look so box/ square. prefer the old model. but again it is 3000cc? even for opc need big $ rd tax :) |
|
|
|
|
Darryn
Oct 28 2009, 09:50 AM | In Reply To Plusnplus
|
|
![]() 5th Gear Posts: 2,326 Warn:
|
vito petrol ( S plate) = viano ? if true, that's around 200k plus now (sept 2009). fiat minibus buy from PI or fiat profesional singapore? i also want 8-12 seat vehicle, petrol (S plate) with around 80-100k (from AD of course) btw, new grand voyager look so box/ square. prefer the old model. but again it is 3000cc? even for opc need big $ rd tax :) The Vito I didn't drive or get price - but is a premium van so expect premium pricing. The Fiat was from AD, this was back when they were at Teban Gardens - I was filling in time one day when waiting for some stuff at Alfa so decided to take it for a drive (personal circumstances make it a possible choice for me). Things I liked: 1. Small but tourqy engine - road tax managable but because of turbo diesel on road performance was ok and acceleration, while not fantastic was no worse than the likes of the Carnival or Trajedy that I also test drove (in 2.5l and 2.0 litre petrol variants respectively) 2. Removable seats - often like to carry large or bulky items, so ability to remove seats row by row was a big plus...if in 5 seat variant it had a LOT of cargo space 3. Consumption - no need to say anymore 4. Drive was surprisingly good - not like the vans I used to drive 10 or 12 years ago 5. Seriously, given the current tax structure I would go for a diesel van - remembering that a 2l turbo d is gonna give you about the same torque as a 3l plus petrol, and in this sort of vehicle is torque that is most important, afterall you dun wanna be going awfully fast in a van, but you do want to have good start off and in gear acceleration. The Fiat I drove (wasa the biggest van, but fell short of a truck) got up to 120 no problem (and still had some reserve, but I was on AYE so didn't want to take any further) -------------------- Behold the tortoise! He only makes progress when he sticks his neck out.
All that's required for evil to triumph is that good men do nothing |
|
|
|
|
Alfisti168
Oct 28 2009, 10:09 AM | In Reply To Darryn
|
|
![]() 5th Gear Posts: 1,890 Warn:
|
But bro, I heard that depreciation jialat leh....
-------------------- "A true petrolhead must drive an Alfa at least once in his lifetime!" Jeremy Clarkson
|
|
|
|
![]() ![]() |