Total Votes: 58
Guests cannot vote 
Lex250
Lex250 post Nov 20 2009, 02:07 PM  
Post #1

3rd Gear

Warn: X----

Hey peeps,

Bored at work so created this poll to see what most of us will do.

Scenario is early mrg hours 0100-0600, roads are deserted and the lights you coming up to are red. Would you stop first , check if it's clear and proceed?

drivingcar.gif

--------------------
***************** Still in search of OTR nirvana **************************
Go to the top of the page

+Quote Post
Pigkachu
Pigkachu post Nov 20 2009, 02:15 PM  
Post #2

2nd Gear

Warn: -----

Dumb poll btw.

+Quote Post
Kungming
Kungming post Nov 20 2009, 02:19 PM   |  In Reply To Pigkachu
Post #3

3rd Gear

Why don't u start a smarter poll then?

flowerface.gif

+Quote Post
Turboflat4
Turboflat4 post Nov 20 2009, 02:20 PM  
Post #4

3rd Gear

Actually it depends on whether there's a red light camera - that option is not in your poll.

+Quote Post
Lex250
Lex250 post Nov 20 2009, 02:22 PM   |  In Reply To Turboflat4
Post #5

3rd Gear

QUOTE (Turboflat4 @ Nov 20 2009, 02:20 PM) *
Actually it depends on whether there's a red light camera - that option is not in your poll.

duuuuhhhhhhhh true

Ok pls assume NO cameras

thks mate!

--------------------

+Quote Post
Lex250
Lex250 post Nov 20 2009, 02:23 PM   |  In Reply To Pigkachu
Post #6

3rd Gear

yeah waste time rite? but it'e Friday....loosen up lah

tx for participating btw

--------------------

+Quote Post
Darryn
Darryn post Nov 20 2009, 02:47 PM  
Post #7

4th Gear

BTW - "irregardless" = regardless (the ir is redundant and makes it into an "unword" - if there is such a thing)

I always find the statement "beat" the red light a little funny - to me this means speed up to get through the intersection before the light turns red, or the guy that wants to "beat" it by knocking into it and making it fall down.

PERSONALLY (not to say I am right) prefer "run" the red light, meaning to go through the intersection when the light is red.

--------------------
Behold the tortoise! He only makes progress when he sticks his neck out.
All that's required for evil to triumph is that good men do nothing

+Quote Post
Woonyang
Woonyang post Nov 20 2009, 02:53 PM   |  In Reply To Darryn
Post #8

3rd Gear

QUOTE (Darryn @ Nov 20 2009, 02:47 PM) *
BTW - "irregardless" = regardless (the ir is redundant and makes it into an "unword" - if there is such a thing)

I always find the statement "beat" the red light a little funny - to me this means speed up to get through the intersection before the light turns red, or the guy that wants to "beat" it by knocking into it and making it fall down.

PERSONALLY (not to say I am right) prefer "run" the red light, meaning to go through the intersection when the light is red.

let's not make it a language forum. as long as people understand. drivingcar.gif

+Quote Post
Darryn
Darryn post Nov 20 2009, 02:56 PM   |  In Reply To Woonyang
Post #9

4th Gear

QUOTE (Woonyang @ Nov 20 2009, 02:53 PM) *
let's not make it a language forum. as long as people understand. drivingcar.gif

agree lor...my language hardly perfect, and I dun normally post such things...just two observations is all,

BTW - no offense intended so I hope none taken

--------------------
Behold the tortoise! He only makes progress when he sticks his neck out.
All that's required for evil to triumph is that good men do nothing

+Quote Post
Berncsp76
Berncsp76 post Nov 20 2009, 02:59 PM   |  In Reply To Darryn
Post #10

3rd Gear

Second that. A better word to use. thumbsup.gif

For me I would't. Why risk my life and others??? and probably there's a hidden camera somewhere hiding...my ride not that fast too..hah... rolleyes.gif

+Quote Post
Lex250
Lex250 post Nov 20 2009, 03:04 PM   |  In Reply To Darryn
Post #11

3rd Gear

QUOTE (Darryn @ Nov 20 2009, 02:56 PM) *
agree lor...my language hardly perfect, and I dun normally post such things...just two observations is all,

BTW - no offense intended so I hope none taken

none taken leh....always good to learn something new...

--------------------

+Quote Post
Swingarm
Swingarm post Nov 20 2009, 03:04 PM   |  In Reply To Berncsp76
Post #12

2nd Gear

beating red light? good idea.... seen it alot of times at jaybee.... in singapore not dare....

--------------------
Please Dirve with care...... my car is not ur car..... so dont bang me.....

+Quote Post
Jamesc
Jamesc post Nov 20 2009, 03:16 PM  
Post #13

4th Gear

I wouldn't cos no point saving a few mins

but risk getting hit and dying.

At that hour, a lot of sleeply/drunk people

and people driving fast!

+Quote Post
Joseph22
Joseph22 post Nov 20 2009, 03:26 PM  
Post #14

You need to add-in yes only when i cannot stop in time.

+Quote Post
Lex250
Lex250 post Nov 20 2009, 03:30 PM   |  In Reply To Joseph22
Post #15

3rd Gear

QUOTE (Joseph22 @ Nov 20 2009, 03:26 PM) *
You need to add-in yes only when i cannot stop in time.

oh then u must be one of those who drive very fast since u cannot stop in time! lipsrsealed.gif flowerface.gif

--------------------

+Quote Post
Joseph22
Joseph22 post Nov 20 2009, 03:33 PM   |  In Reply To Lex250
Post #16

QUOTE (Lex250 @ Nov 20 2009, 03:30 PM) *
oh then u must be one of those who drive very fast since u cannot stop in time! lipsrsealed.gif flowerface.gif

Haha... sometime lah you know the link from AYE to PIE at clememti Ave 6? traffic light is just right after a high sloop. So sometimes will misjudge mah.

+Quote Post
Gearoil
Gearoil post Nov 20 2009, 03:39 PM   |  In Reply To Lex250
Post #17

Warn: XX---

QUOTE (Lex250 @ Nov 20 2009, 02:07 PM) *
Hey peeps,

Scenario is early mrg hours 0100-0600, roads are deserted and the lights you coming up to are red. Would you stop first , check if it's clear and proceed?

drivingcar.gif

Dear TS

It it not that I want to teach you on how to lead your life.....but when there are written laws and stated rules, on what you should and should not do...you should not ask stupid questions to test the issue.

What I post here might sound silly or even sound like your parents nagging you but hell....think about the years you have down the road and all it takes to ruin that, is a moment of folly!

+Quote Post
Watwheels
Watwheels post Nov 20 2009, 03:56 PM   |  In Reply To Lex250
Post #18

QUOTE (Lex250 @ Nov 20 2009, 02:07 PM) *
Hey peeps,

drivingcar.gif

My answer is no. I believe a lot of drivers think this way, that will explain the fatal accidents at such hours.

At such hours there are a lot of fatigue taxi drivers and possible drink drivers. Plus if other drivers assume all clear and ignore traffic lights. It becomes hazardous to drive as such hours.

--------------------
VTEC. It Just Kicked In. Yo!

+Quote Post
Lex250
Lex250 post Nov 20 2009, 04:21 PM   |  In Reply To Gearoil
Post #19

3rd Gear

QUOTE (Gearoil @ Nov 20 2009, 03:39 PM) *
Dear TS

It it not that I want to teach you on how to lead your life.....but when there are written laws and stated rules, on what you should and should not do...you should not ask stupid questions to test the issue.

What I post here might sound silly or even sound like your parents nagging you but hell....think about the years you have down the road and all it takes to ruin that, is a moment of folly!

OK Gearoil..U r definitely entitled to ur opinion....rules/laws aside, no question is stuipd IMO. A bit of an irritant maybe...but never stupid. I subscribe to the rule that I like to give people the benefit of the doubt. But it's only my take on how to live, so please do not feel compelled to emulate.

That brings me to the post/poll. It is not my intention to promote recklessness. It was more a sense of curiousity (and boredom at work) that lead me to start this post/poll.

Thank you for your concern as to my years to come. I am pretty assured that I have got many more years to come. Thats is unless an act of God or an accident beyond my control occurs first.

Cheers.

--------------------

+Quote Post
Yeshe
Yeshe post Nov 20 2009, 05:12 PM   |  In Reply To Joseph22
Post #20

QUOTE (Joseph22 @ Nov 20 2009, 03:33 PM) *
Haha... sometime lah you know the link from AYE to PIE at clememti Ave 6? traffic light is just right after a high sloop. So sometimes will misjudge mah.

that junction got red light camera hor.. dun pray pray lipsrsealed.gif sweatdrop.gif

+Quote Post

2 Pages V   1 2 >
Reply to this topicStart new topic