Welcome Guest ( Log In | Register )

32 Pages V   1 2 3 > » 
Reply to this topicStart new topic
Ferraricaliforni...
Ferraricalifornia post Jan 25 2010, 09:40 AM  
Post #1

Warn: -----

hi all!! between these 2 car brands, which do you prefer?? German reliability or Italian style?? as far as i know, these 2 car brands have rivaling cars at around the same price...

--------------------
The Married Men 91.3FM
Go to the top of the page

+Quote Post
Joseph22
Joseph22 post Jan 25 2010, 09:59 AM   |  In Reply To Ferraricalifornia
Post #2

NOS-ed

QUOTE (Ferraricalifornia @ Jan 25 2010, 09:40 AM) *
hi all!! between these 2 car brands, which do you prefer?? German reliability or Italian style?? as far as i know, these 2 car brands have rivaling cars at around the same price...

VW. Feel that its more practical than Alfa.
personal opinion only.
Alfa look good on first look. but later look, find it getting uglier and uglier. (like looking at girls chio but dont last.)
VW look plain with first look. but after sometime, felt that the looks is nice. (like looking at some girls the more you look the prettier you find them to be.)

+Quote Post
Ferraricaliforni...
Ferraricalifornia post Jan 25 2010, 10:14 AM  
Post #3

i like the style of the Alfa Romeo Brera coupe...others looks quite dated...

159 has quite a sporty looking front, but rear is rather plain jane...

their quality is still a notch below VW...and their cars are still troublesome compared to her German rivals...

that said, the interior design is uber cool...

but they might go bankrupt this year if nobody buys their cars...so my 169 is only a dream, which will never make it into reality...

hence i'm also considering the 2011 VW Passat CC when it's launched...

--------------------
The Married Men 91.3FM

+Quote Post
Pool100
Pool100 post Jan 25 2010, 10:29 AM  
Post #4

3rd Gear

VW for FC, reliability, comfort and build quality.

Alfa for style and driver-engagement drive.

That's why VW outsells Alfa by so many times.

+Quote Post
Maroon5
Maroon5 post Jan 25 2010, 10:33 AM  
Post #5

5th Gear

alfa for me..but too bad the selespeed not my cup of tea...not here not there feeling.
prob wil never get a VW in singapore.

+Quote Post
Ferraricaliforni...
Ferraricalifornia post Jan 25 2010, 10:40 AM  
Post #6

i think VW is really improving their styling...going to give AR a real hard time!!

--------------------
The Married Men 91.3FM

+Quote Post
Alechi
Alechi post Jan 25 2010, 10:49 AM  
Post #7

5th Gear

Alfa side no. plate really ugly ... my personal opinion only ...

+Quote Post
Ferraricaliforni...
Ferraricalifornia post Jan 25 2010, 10:55 AM  
Post #8

they put the no. plate on the side bumper so as to not spoil it's overall front profile, especially the grille...

but one thing i don't like about Alfa Romeo, especially their sedans (159) is that though the size is between the Merc C&E-Class, the interior, especially the rear seats is really cramp...you can't fit adults in there...only kids...

same for the Brera too...it's really only a 2-seater and that to me, defeats the purpose of getting one, though it's drop dead gorgeous...

--------------------
The Married Men 91.3FM

+Quote Post
Lamebrain
Lamebrain post Jan 25 2010, 11:21 AM   |  In Reply To Ferraricalifornia
Post #9

3rd Gear

It has to be the Alfa for me. That's y bought the 159 over the Jetta. Driver engagement is better than the VW

+Quote Post
Ferraricaliforni...
Ferraricalifornia post Jan 25 2010, 11:26 AM  
Post #10

159 is already a 4/5yr old model right?? BTW it rivals the Passat, not Jetta sedan...in terms of size that is!!

if AR ends business end of this year, then i guess it's VW then...

am really liking the looks of the 2011 VW CC...that will pose a huge challenge to AR man...

it's better build, has better engine and transmission range, and looks fierce!! i can spec more optional extras on VW cars too!!

the current Passat CC looks is good enough, but delivery for my spec car is around 5months...when the car arrives if i buy now, i'd get to drive it for 6 months, then new model comes...so might as well wait...

afterall, i'm not in a hurry to get it!!

--------------------
The Married Men 91.3FM

+Quote Post
Count_duku
Count_duku post Jan 25 2010, 03:30 PM   |  In Reply To Lamebrain
Post #11

3rd Gear

QUOTE (Lamebrain @ Jan 25 2010, 11:21 AM) *
It has to be the Alfa for me. That's y bought the 159 over the Jetta. Driver engagement is better than the VW

Bro, the Alfa is definitely chio-er than Jetta. The 159 is a good balance of sedan practicality and sporty looks. Good choice lah .. dun worry the 159 won't date so quickly one lah. Giugiaro designs are timeless..

This post has been edited by Count_duku: Jan 25 2010, 03:31 PM

+Quote Post
Ferraricaliforni...
Ferraricalifornia post Jan 25 2010, 04:03 PM  
Post #12

i don't think when EA sells the Giuletta, it'll rival the VW Golf pricing...i think it'd be a lot more...

expect at least $105k for the 1.4T 120bhp and $130k for 1.4Multi-aire 170bhp, if it's build in the first place, since product development has stopped for the mean time...

MiTo already selling $88,000...though using 1.4Turbo 155bhp 6MT, size is rivalling VW Polo...

Brera though, 2.2Selespeed@$155,800 and 3.2V6(A)@$189,800...

how to compete with VW Scirocco which it's supposed to??

--------------------
The Married Men 91.3FM

+Quote Post
Joseph22
Joseph22 post Jan 25 2010, 04:07 PM   |  In Reply To Ferraricalifornia
Post #13

NOS-ed

QUOTE (Ferraricalifornia @ Jan 25 2010, 04:03 PM) *
i don't think when EA sells the Giuletta, it'll rival the VW Golf pricing...i think it'd be a lot more...

expect at least $105k for the 1.4T 120bhp and $130k for 1.4Multi-aire 170bhp, if it's build in the first place, since product development has stopped for the mean time...

MiTo already selling $88,000...though using 1.4Turbo 155bhp 6MT, size is rivalling VW Polo...

Brera though, 2.2Selespeed@$155,800 and 3.2V6(A)@$189,800...

how to compete with VW Scirocco which it's supposed to??

No wonder i was feeling very funny when the comparision between Alfa and VW. you confirm my doubt. Alfa is consider 1 class up from VW. maybe a good gap between VW and BMW,Merc type of class.

+Quote Post
Ferraricaliforni...
Ferraricalifornia post Jan 25 2010, 04:13 PM  
Post #14

i also thought AR and VW are competing with each other...based on the pricing of the 159 Q2 2.2Selespeed now at $99,800 as advertised...

but that i suspect is clearance stock price...

the Brera pricing is based on indent basis and is the original price...

if the 159 isn't on clearance stock for current batch of cars, it'll probably be going at $120k...

FYI the MiTo in italy doesn't have any semi-auto or DSG gearbox yet...

that said, there are tonnes of engines available for their cars, most if not all are manual...

159 has many diesel engines too...if you're interested...

--------------------
The Married Men 91.3FM

+Quote Post
Ferraricaliforni...
Ferraricalifornia post Jan 25 2010, 04:23 PM  
Post #15

159 Petrol (semi-auto/ Q-tronic):
2.2JTS 185bhp
3.2V6 260bhp

159 Petrol (manual):
1750tbi 200bhp
1.8L 140bhp
1.9JTS 160bhp
2.2JTS 185bhp

159 Diesel (semi-auto/ Q-tronic):
1.9JTDM 150bhp
2.4JTDM 200bhp

159 Diesel (manual):
1.9 120bhp
1.9JTDM 150bhp
2.0JTDM 170bhp

so they have really a lot of engine, but only the 3.2V6 Q-tronic petrol unit suits our auto-lifestyle here...but roadtax is a killer...

2.2JTS selespeed is too jerky for most...hence their sub-sale standard...

--------------------
The Married Men 91.3FM

+Quote Post
Eyke
Eyke post Jan 25 2010, 04:37 PM   |  In Reply To Ferraricalifornia
Post #16

5th Gear

QUOTE (Ferraricalifornia @ Jan 25 2010, 04:03 PM) *

design already done and developed.

so unless Fiat closes AR, the Giulietta will come.

--------------------

+Quote Post
Protege
Protege post Jan 25 2010, 04:39 PM  
Post #17

There is rumour that VW group is planning to buy AR if Fiat is going to sell right? I remember reading it somewhere.

+Quote Post
Ferraricaliforni...
Ferraricalifornia post Jan 25 2010, 04:39 PM  
Post #18

they haven't started selling the Giuletta in their home country, italy yet, so very hard to say whether it'll go into production...

basically AR has stopped operation for now...their cars are not rolling out fast enough from what the factory is producing...

--------------------
The Married Men 91.3FM

+Quote Post
Ferraricaliforni...
Ferraricalifornia post Jan 25 2010, 04:41 PM  
Post #19

no lah...so far no news that VW will buy Fiat...

--------------------
The Married Men 91.3FM

+Quote Post
Agentwilson
Agentwilson post Jan 25 2010, 04:41 PM   |  In Reply To Alechi
Post #20

4th Gear

QUOTE (Alechi @ Jan 25 2010, 10:49 AM) *
Alfa side no. plate really ugly ... my personal opinion only ...

oh...for me i tink the side license plate is nice...
different from the rest.
forza italia!

+Quote Post

32 Pages V   1 2 3 > » 
Reply to this topicStart new topic