Welcome Guest ( Log In | Register )

5 Pages V   1 2 3 > » 
Reply to this topicStart new topic
Pinkypink
Pinkypink post Feb 4 2010, 12:23 AM  
Post #1

3rd Gear
Warn: -----

I noticed how some males have an issue when his girlfriend has a car to drive around in and he doesn’t. Some males who don’t have a driving licence may not have a choice, but there are some who make their female-driver girlfriend take public transport with them because they can’t stand being in a passenger seat of a female driver.

So, i just wanna ask:

To couples – Do you encounter such things in your relationship?

For the males – Do you mind being driven around by a woman? Why or why not? For those without a driving licence, would you make her take public transport with you? For those with a driving licence but without a car, would you take over the wheel when she comes to pick you? If your woman drives a more expensive car than you, will you mind?

For the females – What are your thoughts on this? Would you oblige to take public transport instead of drive just because your man is too chauvinistic? Do you face such issues?

P.S. This is not an indirect attempt to attack the Males make better drivers than Females argument, just seeking out opinions. Thank you!

--------------------
the girl who loves cars and motorsports
(Read more at www.cheryl-tay.com)
Join me on my automotive adventures on Facebook too!
Go to the top of the page

+Quote Post
Zippaboy
Zippaboy post Feb 4 2010, 12:54 AM  
Post #2

4th Gear

i have a few cars available to be used for my family members.
got 2 bikes under my name too.

i got ex-gfswho drives a SLK, 630i etc.
depending on the mood/occasions, we will take turns to drive.
especially when i am drinking.

my current gf is not a very good driver, so usually i will drive my own car or take over the wheels most of the time.

to be frank, i do wish that my gf is a good driver.
i prefer to be relaxing in the passenger seat after driving every day.

+Quote Post
Prodigysaint
Prodigysaint post Feb 4 2010, 12:59 AM  
Post #3

4th Gear

i seriously dun mind being driven around by the other gender...

how i wish my wife is more aware and less Kia Si... such traits of her made me worry for her life than the premium of my insurance...

+Quote Post
Extramint
Extramint post Feb 4 2010, 01:04 AM  
Post #4

4th Gear

a guy wldnt be offended if hes usually driven around by the gf if hes not mindful or overly concerned about the type of cars the gf drives. unless the guy is constantly comparing himself with what the gf offers.. must be either thinking too much or have self esteem issues.

for me, i'm usually the one driving (99%), my own car. i don't like to drive her family's car even when mine is away (servicing etc) because i dont like to get used to another car only for awhile den revert to driving my own car again.

but sometimes, i'd hope my gf is a more trusty, reliable and confident driver.. sometimes i drive the whole day, and i wish she could take over the wheel.. but i'll worry for her, in her current condition lol. drive too rarely, thats why not confident and steady enough. thats why she only takes over the wheel when its after 12am.. less traffic.

+Quote Post
Zyrofillica
Zyrofillica post Feb 4 2010, 01:47 AM  
Post #5

Warn: XXXX-

sit in passenger seat, turn up the radio, close my eyes, pray throughout the journey. thats how i survive being driven by GF.

+Quote Post
Bicolor
Bicolor post Feb 4 2010, 02:05 AM  
Post #6

3rd Gear

Before I even thought of learning driving, I used to take rides from my girlfriend in her old Skyline GTT and in younger days, really enjoyed the thrill and enjoyed watching her every move. I already had a fair idea of how to drive from there, even though I learnt driving relatively late compared to my peers.

She's working overseas at the moment and no longer has that car, but when we meet back I always let her drive, so I can enjoy being in the passenger seat after such long hours of being on the road myself, and I learn lots from her because she is one of those rare ladies who is a far better driver than many men. I see nothing to feel inferior about and in fact take pride in seeing my friends' surprise when she drives us around on outings instead of me and drives better than me.

Supposing she isn't a good driver, I'll still not feel inferior but for safety's sake would get her to take refresher lessons.

+Quote Post
Powerkeong
Powerkeong post Feb 4 2010, 03:38 AM  
Post #7

3rd Gear

Usually when Ima out with my gf, I will drive most of the time.

But even since my girlfriend got her licence 6th month ago, I let her drive my car more n more often. Occasionally, I will lend her my car to drive alone. This is to let her to have a few on how to identify road in Singapore. More recently, I asked her to fetch me @ SMU from Bukit Batok. She managed to identified the way with just map and direction given from me.

Therefore, I think she is quite a stable driver and I am v relax to be driven by her now in my car. =D

Not all woman are bad drivers lah. My girlfriend sometimes also cheong one. P-plate somemore. =X

This post has been edited by Powerkeong: Feb 4 2010, 03:39 AM

+Quote Post
Bird5011
Bird5011 post Feb 4 2010, 07:36 AM  
Post #8

3rd Gear

Yes...my gf is much better driver than me......
Likes to be passenger in font seat to admire her driving..
And also the "valley and mountain".... tongue.gif unsure.gif

--------------------
Adapt..Engage..Dominate

+Quote Post
Tankee531
Tankee531 post Feb 4 2010, 07:54 AM  
Post #9

3rd Gear

i see nothing wrong being a passenger in a car driven by woman.

+Quote Post
Krado
Krado post Feb 4 2010, 08:13 AM   |  In Reply To Tankee531
Post #10

5th Gear

QUOTE (Tankee531 @ Feb 4 2010, 07:54 AM) *
i see nothing wrong being a passenger in a car driven by woman.

Can recline, sleep, read newspaper, surf internet..

Then hor... those who have a problem with being a passenger in a vehicle driven by a women will have a hard time... how many buses, taxis and trains driven by women these days? biggrin.gif

--------------------
An 370H55V, and proud of it.

+Quote Post
Watwheels
Watwheels post Feb 4 2010, 08:23 AM   |  In Reply To Pinkypink
Post #11

You are that female editor from some car magazine?

The issue is not about who's driving who in your questionssssssss(paiseh, cos you post so many of them).

To summarize, it's smth like "do you mind having a gf who's doing better dan you and drives you around?". biggrin.gif
I dun think it has to do much with what "males are better drivers".

IMO no doubt there will be guys who are excessively self-conscious and do the extreme but how about the gf? A caring gf would think about the bf's feelings too and let him take the wheel? Bottom line is about trust between two person in a relationship. If there's a mutual trust, there's no need for such questions of "do you mind..."

Between a couple, there will surely be different strength & weaknesses. Your "battle of the sexes" questions will not get an answer. Whoever is confident... just take the wheel lor.

You must be single to ask these questions. ph34r.gif

This post has been edited by Watwheels: Feb 4 2010, 08:29 AM

--------------------
VTEC. It Just Kicked In. Yo!

+Quote Post
Comnao
Comnao post Feb 4 2010, 08:29 AM  
Post #12

4th Gear

aiyoh ... why so insecure ?

got car then drive lah
does it really matter so much who drive?

sometimes i on the phone with customers, so just swop over and she drive loh

i still remember my prev gf, i had a 4dr, she a 2dr
so whenever we go part-tor ... i would drive cos 4dr more spacious (got sun roof somemore...heehee)
but when we go for gatherings, meetups, with friends etc, she would drive.
bcos her 2dr cannot take people in the back ... no need to be taxi driver

i still remember her driving very hiong also
once we were on bke, she one hand w kfc, one hand driving, one hand with phone... you go figure out the rest
comparatively, i was the more sedated bapak driver
even her father also scold me driving so slow

haiz ... days of being young.

i wish my wife driving style is more like her sometimes

+Quote Post
Passion
Passion post Feb 4 2010, 08:55 AM  
Post #13

5th Gear

Everyone has a fair share of their gf's driving.My gf drive like a lady,scare this scare that.Tell her drive more confidently,so others wouldn't try to makan you.She really safety until out of carpark also can karblar.Told her to turn out,slightly tap the accelerator and press more then steering wheel place straight,she can zua until the car chiong and suddenly let go when car already on main road.Sometimes woman thinking is really one kind,whatever happen behind,she don't care.as long as she get the car out from the carpark.Apply everything learn from Final Theory,told her to brake then brake slowly,she like to do intermittent braking.sit liao also tu lan.

+Quote Post
Noobcar
Noobcar post Feb 4 2010, 09:02 AM   |  In Reply To Pinkypink
Post #14

5th Gear

My wife(girlfriend during that time) and I will try hard not to drive and ask each other to be the driver laugh.gif because we are simply lazy to drive. So I will not have a issue with who's driving.

For if my partner driving a better car then me well that is just great, really hope that I had a rich wife laugh.gif . Don't really see any problem here.

+Quote Post
Galantspeedz
Galantspeedz post Feb 4 2010, 09:16 AM   |  In Reply To Pinkypink
Post #15

NOS-ed

actually its pretty hard to ans you when the people here have car, you will only know the true answer for someone with no car.... because in some cases, a sense of inferiority complex plays a part.......

+Quote Post
Parkingidiot
Parkingidiot post Feb 4 2010, 09:23 AM   |  In Reply To Pinkypink
Post #16

5th Gear

QUOTE (Pinkypink @ Feb 4 2010, 12:23 AM) *
I noticed how some males have an issue when his girlfriend has a car to drive around in and he doesn’t. Some males who don’t have a driving licence may not have a choice, but there are some who make their female-driver girlfriend take public transport with them because they can’t stand being in a passenger seat of a female driver.

So, i just wanna ask:

To couples – Do you encounter such things in your relationship?

For the males – Do you mind being driven around by a woman? Why or why not? For those without a driving licence, would you make her take public transport with you? For those with a driving licence but without a car, would you take over the wheel when she comes to pick you? If your woman drives a more expensive car than you, will you mind?

For the females – What are your thoughts on this? Would you oblige to take public transport instead of drive just because your man is too chauvinistic? Do you face such issues?

P.S. This is not an indirect attempt to attack the Males make better drivers than Females argument, just seeking out opinions. Thank you!

Hi, if you are a reporter/journalist/writer, etc, and fishing/surveying/researching for information to write on for publication, I hope you let people know your intentions up front. We don't mind contributing, but, no one wants his discussions secretly monitored. No offence meant by this statement/request, I hope you understand. smile.gif

If you are just started a topic out of interest for normal discussion as is the usual case in MCF, pls go ahead... don't mind me! cool.gif

I'm not a mod/admin here, but I am commenting out of general concern. Thanks! sunny.gif

+Quote Post
Zniper
Zniper post Feb 4 2010, 09:29 AM  
Post #17

5th Gear

to me, i will feel unsafe sitting in car driven by my gf... but she has no license and she noe my pattern, even if she owns a car or a car more superior dan mine i will still insists on taking over the wheels rather dan let her drive me around... it's not abt MCP but it's more on insecure if she drives (fyi, i would rather take public if she drives me around)...
moreover there are many other tings like she open door and bang leaving a dent on my car and if she cant park straight and middle in a parking lot dan other ppl open door and leave a dent on my car... my gf noe tat i take care of my car a lot so she understands too...
but as of now, is i'm driving her around...

--------------------

+Quote Post
Lab4games
Lab4games post Feb 4 2010, 09:32 AM  
Post #18

4th Gear

before owning a car, i want to be in the drivers seat.
after owning a car, i rather be in the passenger seat relaxing while the woman do the driving... especially when traffic is not so smooth. haha

+Quote Post
Teowilliam
Teowilliam post Feb 4 2010, 09:46 AM  
Post #19

1st Gear

haha there was once, my gf havent driven for a long time. then i ask her to drive, then she sat there for like 1min, then she said, "just to cfm, the right leg is accelerator right?"..

+Quote Post
Tonyhawk
Tonyhawk post Feb 4 2010, 09:50 AM  
Post #20

5th Gear

my wife drives like a man, and i think thats a compliment.

+Quote Post

5 Pages V   1 2 3 > » 
Reply to this topicStart new topic