|
| Joint membership: You may login to MyCarForum using your sgCarMart username & password |
![]() ![]() |
|
MadDog70
Mar 12 2010, 08:59 AM
|
|
![]() 3rd Gear Posts: 493 Warn:
|
Our car price is expensive due to the many formulas used to calculate based on OMV of a car.
This causes the car to sell at a very high price in Singapore. Anyone knows which country sell more than here? -------------------- PS3 Nick === XTheDarkSideX
Currently playing only Modern Warfare 2 |
|
|
|
|
Weiming89
Mar 12 2010, 09:03 AM
|
|
|
1st Gear Posts: 60 Warn:
|
I think cannot use most expensive....more like percentage of our salary goes into affording a car as compared to other countries if not indonesia's car should be more expensive then us...hahaha...ps...being lame but i know what u mean.
|
|
|
|
|
Curahee
Mar 12 2010, 09:07 AM
|
|
|
6th Gear Posts: 3,781 Warn:
|
I dun think its ex becoz if its ex how come on the road everyday r jam n filled with cars, n also more n more new cars on the road
|
|
|
|
|
Leepee
Mar 12 2010, 09:20 AM
|
|
|
6th Gear Posts: 2,974 Warn:
|
Singapore land is small.
So the number of cars on the road jammed up creating the impression that roads are filled with cars(Wait a minute....its true) -------------------- ++++++++++++++++++
+ I am handsome hor! + ++++++++++++++++++ |
|
|
|
|
Acieed
Mar 12 2010, 09:25 AM
|
|
|
2nd Gear Posts: 234 Warn:
|
If you calculated total cost of ownership, it can cost as much if not more in many big cities. Also considering some import taxes for luxury cars, it can also be more expensive even in Malaysia or China - yes. Shanghai also got COE, currently about S$10,000+.
|
|
|
|
|
Watwheels
Mar 12 2010, 09:27 AM | In Reply To MadDog70
|
|
![]() Turbocharged Posts: 9,714 Warn:
|
Our car price is expensive due to the many formulas used to calculate based on OMV of a car. This causes the car to sell at a very high price in Singapore. Anyone knows which country sell more than here? You are wrong. The car itself is not expensive but becos of the piece of paper call COE and 100%(x OMV) import tax that makes it ex. And it's the first owner who will bear most of the costs. If you want less ex car, can, get a 2nd hand car...if you can get pass the dealers chopping board first. -------------------- VTEC. It Just Kicked In. Yo!
|
|
|
|
|
Joseph22
Mar 12 2010, 09:29 AM | In Reply To Leepee
|
|
|
NOS-ed Posts: 11,442 Warn:
|
Singapore land is small. So the number of cars on the road jammed up creating the impression that roads are filled with cars(Wait a minute....its true) i think this excuse is over used liao. Singapore is small housing price must be high. Singapore is small hence car is expensive. Why singapore is small but our salary is low? and singapore is small why do we need to have so many over paid FT?? This post has been edited by Joseph22: Mar 12 2010, 09:37 AM |
|
|
|
|
Felipe
Mar 12 2010, 09:43 AM
|
|
![]() 6th Gear Posts: 3,453 Warn:
|
ya most expensive and most underused as well.
|
|
|
|
|
Extramint
Mar 12 2010, 09:59 AM
|
|
|
4th Gear Posts: 690 Warn:
|
if expensive, we wouldnt be seeing our roads filled up the the brim with jazz/fit/altis/camry/civic/accord/latio/sunny/forte all these common makes liao.
if it was expensive, the overall population of cars would be much lesser. not just population of expensive cars. but then again, expensive is definitive lah. |
|
|
|
|
Curahee
Mar 12 2010, 10:03 AM | In Reply To Leepee
|
|
|
6th Gear Posts: 3,781 Warn:
|
Singapore land is small. So the number of cars on the road jammed up creating the impression that roads are filled with cars(Wait a minute....its true) Last time 1 to 2 decades ago, road traffic condition is great and smooth, now sux big time. Shows that car is not ex here. Dun tell me spore land decrease all these years. |
|
|
|
|
Roh96
Mar 12 2010, 10:23 AM | In Reply To Curahee
|
|
|
5th Gear Posts: 1,218 Warn:
|
Yes agree, from the no. of Merc and BMW i see on road daily versus the no. of china car, it shows Spore car is not that exp afterall. Alot of ppl still can afford premium car.
|
|
|
|
|
Relagsingh
Mar 12 2010, 10:41 AM | In Reply To MadDog70
|
|
![]() Supercharged Posts: 7,290 Warn:
|
Our car price is expensive due to the many formulas used to calculate based on OMV of a car. This causes the car to sell at a very high price in Singapore. Anyone knows which country sell more than here? yes without a doubt. the moment the car reach our shores the price is doubled. used to be 120%, now 100% OMV less reg, custom duty and COE. ka-ching!!! -------------------- .:.:.:.:.::: Shoot the driver... Not the car :::.:.:.:.:.
|
|
|
|
|
Ericongy
Mar 12 2010, 11:13 AM
|
|
|
4th Gear Posts: 546 Warn:
|
yes! car is super ex in sg.. most ppl from overseas wun buy a car in sg cost they tink its stupid to do so..
but the thing is our face n kar chng r more expensive we muz have car, if not "loss face".. our kar chng so precious, cannot share seats wif others in bus/mrt.. haha This post has been edited by Ericongy: Mar 12 2010, 11:15 AM |
|
|
|
|
Nlstch
Mar 12 2010, 11:14 AM
|
|
|
Clutched Posts: 32 Warn:
|
If everyone have to pay full to buy car, you think how many people can buy? Same theory as HDB flat, not many people will be able to buy and the price won't rise until this type of price. So with the loan easily available, most people will buy without thinking if they can service the loan and in the end some have to sell or kena repossessed.
This post has been edited by Nlstch: Mar 12 2010, 11:15 AM |
|
|
|
|
Ericongy
Mar 12 2010, 11:18 AM | In Reply To Nlstch
|
|
|
|
If everyone have to pay full to buy car, you think how many people can buy? Same theory as HDB flat, not many people will be able to buy and the price won't rise until this type of price. So with the loan easily available, most people will buy without thinking if they can service the loan and in the end some have to sell or kena repossessed. yup correct, nothing is unaffordable when there is a magic call 'loan' |
|
|
|
|
MadDog70
Mar 12 2010, 03:39 PM
|
|
![]() 3rd Gear Posts: 493 Warn:
|
In terms of dollars, which other country cost more on cars?
-------------------- PS3 Nick === XTheDarkSideX
Currently playing only Modern Warfare 2 |
|
|
|
|
Ben5266
Mar 12 2010, 04:47 PM | In Reply To MadDog70
|
|
![]() 4th Gear Posts: 808 Warn:
|
In terms of dollars, which other country cost more on cars? Answer correct got prize? Malaysia! MERCEDES-BENZ S350L (S) (W221) (CBU) Rm908,888.00 or S$379k. SG is selling S$328k. MERCEDES-BENZ S500L (CBU) Rm1,411,888.00 or S$588k. SG is selling S$421k. AUDI A8 L 4.2 TIPTRONIC QUATTRO Rm860,000.00 or S$358k SG is selling S$323k. Only the ultra luxury cars. |
|
|
|
|
Ericongy
Mar 12 2010, 04:56 PM | In Reply To Ben5266
|
|
|
|
Answer correct got prize? Malaysia! MERCEDES-BENZ S350L (S) (W221) (CBU) Rm908,888.00 or S$379k. SG is selling S$328k. MERCEDES-BENZ S500L (CBU) Rm1,411,888.00 or S$588k. SG is selling S$421k. AUDI A8 L 4.2 TIPTRONIC QUATTRO Rm860,000.00 or S$358k SG is selling S$323k. Only the ultra luxury cars. i heard my friend say m'sia car actually not cheaper den sg... izit true? may we know the source of ur info? |
|
|
|
|
Nmnhnlm
Mar 12 2010, 05:11 PM | In Reply To MadDog70
|
|
|
4th Gear Posts: 659 Warn:
|
Yes most expensive in the world.
|
|
|
|
|
YellowFlash
Mar 12 2010, 05:21 PM | In Reply To Ericongy
|
|
![]() 5th Gear Posts: 2,262 Warn:
|
i heard my friend say m'sia car actually not cheaper den sg... izit true? may we know the source of ur info? they actually have a 100% import tax(to encourage buying of proton) like us, so for the relatively lower value car, we're slightly more expensive due to our COE but for the luxury cars where COE value is marginal to car value, it should be about the same price but if we were to compare depreciation, ours are depreciated over 10yrs(and we still have to pay for another COE) and theirs is till the end of car life. Therefore car ownership is still much higher over here. |
|
|
|
![]() ![]() |