Why the President's salary is pegged higher

Latka

Prata man got so li hai one meh?

ST Forum

Mar 18, 2011

Why the President's salary is pegged higher

MR TAN Chak Lim queried the provision of $4,267,500 in the Civil List for the President's salary this year ('About the President's pay...; Wednesday).

As Deputy Prime Minister Teo Chee Hean explained to Parliament recently, the salaries of the President, ministers and senior civil servants are based on private sector benchmarks. The principle and benchmarks have been extensively debated in Parliament, most recently in 2007.

A significant part of these salaries depends on the GDP growth rate. Hence annual salaries dropped by up to 22.5 per cent for two years during the downturn, but are expected to return to the pre-crisis level this year, in tandem with the economic recovery. Nevertheless, total annual salaries remain within the established benchmarks.

The President occupies the highest office in Singapore. He exercises custodial powers to protect our past reserves and over the appointment of key public officers to protect the integrity of the public service.

As the head of state, he represents the country and advances our interests internationally. This is why it is appropriate to peg the President's salary higher than ministers' and just above the Prime Minister's.

Chen Hwai Liang

Press Secretary to the Prime Minister

They always say using private sector as benchmark. Why not disclose the facts and figures where this benchmark is derived from.

Wait they say use Wong Cho Yau(UOB boss)'s salary as benchmark.Then it will be more than $10mil. :o

Edited by Csnewbie

They always say using private sector as benchmark. Why not disclose the facts and figures where this benchmark is derived from.

They ever revealed before. They use all the top jobs such as bank CEOs, top medical specialists, top lawyers. They say ministers must be paid to these equivalent so that they can attract and retain talents.

Which I think it's BS theory......

Edited by Donut

This was revealed previously, every year same old story

They use all the top jobs such as bank CEOs, top medical specialists, top lawyers.

Top Medical Specialists, Dr Susan Lim ?????

this is damn nonsense..*PUI!*

they should peg with the lowest 10%.

then let the whole lot of them work to bring up the pay, standard of living, and lives of people,

with the lowest 10% also increase, then they are able to justify their pay rise.

don't forget... zeng hu is supposed to be voted by the people, and as civil servants, serve the people.

this is damn nonsense..*PUI!*

they should peg with the lowest 10%.

then let the whole lot of them work to bring up the pay, standard of living, and lives of people,

with the lowest 10% also increase, then they are able to justify their pay rise.

don't forget... zeng hu is supposed to be voted by the people, and as civil servants, serve the people.

With the kind of pay they getting, it's called "civil elites", not "civil servants"

They use all the top jobs such as bank CEOs, top medical specialists, top lawyers.

Top Medical Specialists, Dr Susan Lim ?????

They are planning towards to her payscale progressively lor

Wait they say use Wong Cho Yau(UOB boss)'s salary as benchmark.Then it will be more than $10mil. :o

why you go change people surname and name? :angry:

Edited by Jman888

SALARIES PEGGED TO PRIVATE SECTOR PAY?

IF DR SUSUAN LIM CAN EARN ROUGHLY S$7 MILLION ON A AVERAGE YEAR AND S$30 MILLION ON A VERY GOOD YEAR....

PRATA MAN IS EARNING WELL BELOW THE PEGGED PAY!!

SINKIES SHOULD PAY HIM MUCH MORE! [laugh]

They ever revealed before. They use all the top jobs such as bank CEOs, top medical specialists, top lawyers. They say ministers must be paid to these equivalent so that they can attract and retain talents.

Which I think it's BS theory......

Why is it BS? Although I am not supportive of all policies, I would like to remain as objective as possible.

How do you get local talent to serve top public postitions when you don't pay that guy enough? We don't have a huge population base to choose from you know. If we are China, we can pay these ministers little because talent are abundant. Unfortunately not so for Singapore when private sector also compete for talent.

So I do not want to normally question their pay because it is true that top positions in the private sector actually pays more. What I would question however is whether are they "talent" in the first place. But that's another story altogether.

Why is it BS? Although I am not supportive of all policies, I would like to remain as objective as possible.

How do you get local talent to serve top public postitions when you don't pay that guy enough? We don't have a huge population base to choose from you know. If we are China, we can pay these ministers little because talent are abundant. Unfortunately not so for Singapore when private sector also compete for talent.

So I do not want to normally question their pay because it is true that top positions in the private sector actually pays more. What I would question however is whether are they "talent" in the first place. But that's another story altogether.

So by your logic, the bigger the country, the lesser the ministers need to be paid. The smaller the country, the more the ministers must be paid. Why didn't I think of it? Now I can sleep well tonight knowing our minsiters are paid reasonably, and not rediculously high.

Shame on Obama,country so big, still get over 100k. Shame on him. :angry:

Edited by Kiadaw

Do take a look at my thread : http://www.mycarforum.com/index.php?showto...p;#entry3657639

FYI, top highest -paid 30 politicians around the world are dominated and held by us

Personally, there should be a bench-mark which is the Maximum CAP which they could draw...

Next, our law has to be tighter...

Over these years, we have seen people corrupting ranging from organizations to govt sector

[:)]