2years old mazda 3 got slow charging battery, normal?

Mangos

Neutral Newbie

Hi guys,

I'm a new driver and just bought a 2nd hand Mazda which is close to 2 years old and close to 20k kms. So I sent it to Mazda service centre to do the 20k service this morning after driving it for a few days which I didn't notice any problem with the car. I just got a call from the Mazda technician telling me that the battery is charging very slowly and they suggest to replace it with a new one at the cost of S$145. I have very little knowledge about cars but after google a little bit I think the price is higher than purchasing from 3rd party but that I can accept since everything from the original manufacturer is more expensive than from open market. But a faulty battery on a 2 years old car, is that reasonable? how long does car batteries usually last.

And any suggestions for a newbie on (consumable) car parts purchases in Singapore? And any recommended service/repair shop after warranty is over? or shall I stick to Mazda for service/repair? I live in Choa Chu Kang and work in Clementi so any suggestion closer will be appreciated.

Thanks a lot!

↡ Advertisement

Neutral Newbie

Replacing a 2yr old batt is reasonable. Some last just over a year. You can go to any reputable batt shop to have it replaced...don't have to go back to Mazda.

thank you!

can you recommend a couple of the reputable shops? I have no idea on car related stuff except ferrying wife and kids. [blush]

thank you!

can you recommend a couple of the reputable shops? I have no idea on car related stuff except ferrying wife and kids. [blush]

@145 get it change by Mazda and get them to check your autenator condition, other den go outside get carrot.

Neutral Newbie

u have PM from me.

thank you!

think I'm gonna let Mazda do it this time but will definitely consider your suggestion next time I notice any problem with the car.

thank you!