Most Active Discussions

3 Pages V   1 2 3 >
Reply to this topicStart new topic
Escksu
Escksu post Feb 20 2012, 09:09 PM  
Post #1

3rd Gear
Warn: Banned

This is no joke. A no name car manufacturer called Proton competed with all the big guns in rally (eg. Ford, Citoren etc....) and won by a margin of 3mins....Whats even more surprising is that Proton came in 12th overall ahead in the event of even some of the far more powerful WRC cars.

This is the first time Proton won in a SWRC competition.

http://www.wrc.com/swrc/news/andersson-cla...home/?fid=16107
Go to the top of the page

+Quote Post
Elmo
Elmo post Feb 20 2012, 09:30 PM  
Post #2

5th Gear
Warn: -----

Proton Boleh! Satria Neo can be the next popular street racer if they market it right.

--------------------
PSN ID: Havock3662

+Quote Post
Ronnchee
Ronnchee post Feb 20 2012, 10:00 PM   |  In Reply To Elmo
Post #3

5th Gear

The rest of the drivers "put water".

--------------------
I like to break, particularly records ...

+Quote Post
Renegade777
Renegade777 post Feb 20 2012, 10:01 PM   |  In Reply To Escksu
Post #4

5th Gear

Making fast car is easier than making a good, cost effective reliable car. Bring your car to the work shop, they can turn your passenger car to one hell of a monster provided you have deep pockets for such hobby. cool.gif

This post has been edited by Renegade777: Feb 20 2012, 10:01 PM

--------------------

+Quote Post
Escksu
Escksu post Feb 20 2012, 10:14 PM   |  In Reply To Elmo
Post #5

3rd Gear

QUOTE (Elmo @ Feb 20 2012, 09:30 PM) *
Proton Boleh! Satria Neo can be the next popular street racer if they market it right.

Hopefully not. I wouldn't want to see Satria neo becoming a street racer. Since Satria Neos are so rare in SG, it makes me feel proud of my car.

+Quote Post
KARTer
KARTer post Feb 20 2012, 10:14 PM   |  In Reply To Escksu
Post #6

Happy for boleh land...

just checking:- is the car using an mit evo10 engine? or proton's 'home-made' block? not that it matters in term of winning such races.... ford/volvo also share engine, rite?

--------------------
我地呢班打工仔, 通街走直头系坏肠胃, 温个些少到月底点够驶(吃个鬼), 咪话无乜所谓, 最弊波士郁的发威(癫过鸡), 一咪系处系唔系就乱黎吠, 哎亲加薪块面拿起恶睇(扭下计)...我地呢班打工仔 一生一世为钱币做奴隶, 个种辛苦折堕讲出吓鬼(死比你睇),半斤八两 就算有福都无你享...

+Quote Post
KARTer
KARTer post Feb 20 2012, 10:16 PM   |  In Reply To Renegade777
Post #7

QUOTE (Renegade777 @ Feb 20 2012, 10:01 PM) *
Making fast car is easier than making a good, cost effective reliable car. Bring your car to the work shop, they can turn your passenger car to one hell of a monster provided you have deep pockets for such hobby. cool.gif

pple win races, we can talk and be volunteer critics.... they hug their trophies to sleep at nite biggrin.gif

--------------------
我地呢班打工仔, 通街走直头系坏肠胃, 温个些少到月底点够驶(吃个鬼), 咪话无乜所谓, 最弊波士郁的发威(癫过鸡), 一咪系处系唔系就乱黎吠, 哎亲加薪块面拿起恶睇(扭下计)...我地呢班打工仔 一生一世为钱币做奴隶, 个种辛苦折堕讲出吓鬼(死比你睇),半斤八两 就算有福都无你享...

+Quote Post
Escksu
Escksu post Feb 20 2012, 10:30 PM   |  In Reply To Renegade777
Post #8

3rd Gear

QUOTE (Renegade777 @ Feb 20 2012, 10:01 PM) *

Saying is easier than doing. Go ahead and build one. Make SG proud. Don't be a NATO. See if you can win or not.

You think its easy to build a car to win a race? Do you know how much time and $$$ go into developing and making these rally cars? Not just the Proton but other S2000 cars?

+Quote Post
Escksu
Escksu post Feb 20 2012, 10:35 PM   |  In Reply To KARTer
Post #9

3rd Gear

QUOTE (KARTer @ Feb 20 2012, 10:14 PM) *
Happy for boleh land...

just checking:- is the car using an mit evo10 engine? or proton's 'home-made' block? not that it matters in term of winning such races.... ford/volvo also share engine, rite?

Nope. Its a modified 1.8L Renault F4P (same engine used in the 1.8L Waja). Its uprated to 2L and modded to be able to hit 8500RPM and 280HP (as per regulations).

http://www.memuk.com/super2000homepage.html

+Quote Post
Nightsky
Nightsky post Feb 20 2012, 10:37 PM   |  In Reply To Ronnchee
Post #10

4th Gear

QUOTE (Ronnchee @ Feb 20 2012, 10:00 PM) *
The rest of the drivers "put water".

Possible, let it win one or two legs without affecting overall result to make them happy/advertising opportunity and continue to pump in money and participate in WRC (after all, majority of jap carmakers have left WRC)

+Quote Post
Watwheels
Watwheels post Feb 20 2012, 10:41 PM  
Post #11

NOS-ed

LOL...the Swedish driver won on home ground. Still got many countries to go for the championship. We will see who will emerge as the champ and in what car.

--------------------
ALWAYS GIVE 100% AT WORK: 12% MONDAY + 23% TUESDAY + 40% WEDNESDAY +20% THURSDAY + 5% FRIDAY

+Quote Post
Escksu
Escksu post Feb 20 2012, 10:46 PM   |  In Reply To Watwheels
Post #12

3rd Gear

QUOTE (Watwheels @ Feb 20 2012, 10:41 PM) *
LOL...the Swedish driver won on home ground. Still got many countries to go for the championship. We will see who will emerge as the champ and in what car.

Yo, does this thread even concern you? How about you just f.u.c.k off my threads and go create your own?

+Quote Post
KARTer
KARTer post Feb 20 2012, 10:53 PM   |  In Reply To Escksu
Post #13

QUOTE (Escksu @ Feb 20 2012, 10:46 PM) *
Yo, does this thread even concern you? How about you just f.u.c.k off my threads and go create your own?

biggrin.gif biggrin.gif

mcf got pple like to come in others' thread and stir.... habit liao, cant be helped one... keep cool and just enjoy posts which are more positive.. smile.gif
just take it that this is a circus, got jokers/clowns and all other imaginable/unimaginable characters... smile.gif

--------------------

+Quote Post
TVT
TVT post Feb 20 2012, 10:54 PM   |  In Reply To Escksu
Post #14

QUOTE (Escksu @ Feb 20 2012, 10:35 PM) *
Nope. Its a modified 1.8L Renault F4P (same engine used in the 1.8L Waja). Its uprated to 2L and modded to be able to hit 8500RPM and 280HP (as per regulations).

I tot Waja using its own Proton invented Campro engine?

I tot only Savvy uses Renault engine leh.... confused.gif

+Quote Post
KARTer
KARTer post Feb 20 2012, 10:56 PM   |  In Reply To Escksu
Post #15

QUOTE (Escksu @ Feb 20 2012, 10:35 PM) *

http://www.memuk.com/super2000homepage.html

OIC, thanks for the info.... its good that Proton take part in international races.. thumbsup.gif

--------------------

+Quote Post
Escksu
Escksu post Feb 20 2012, 11:00 PM   |  In Reply To TVT
Post #16

3rd Gear

QUOTE (TVT @ Feb 20 2012, 10:54 PM) *
I tot Waja using its own Proton invented Campro engine?

I tot only Savvy uses Renault engine leh.... confused.gif
L

Waja has a few versions. 1.6,1.8 and 2.0. Only the newer 1.6 using Campro engine. Old 1.6 use Mitsubishi 4G18. 1.8 versions uses Renault F4P. Then 2.0 uses Mitsubishi 6A12.

So the S2000 is developed from the 1.8L F4P engine. They didn't disclose what bore and stroke they use to make it to 2L though.

+Quote Post
Escksu
Escksu post Feb 20 2012, 11:04 PM   |  In Reply To Escksu
Post #17

3rd Gear

Btw, there is also a "stock" 1.6L Satria Neo used in Rally. Cusco modified the Satria Neo chassis to include roll cage, welding etc, suspension. However, the engine remains stock. Even intake and extractor is stock. Its used in 2WD and junior rallies.

Btw, junior is not exactly easy. We are talking about over 100KM/H on a single lane mud/gravel track. no SMG, manual gears and clutch.

+Quote Post
TVT
TVT post Feb 20 2012, 11:09 PM   |  In Reply To Escksu
Post #18

Is this model "Satria Neo" still in production?

+Quote Post
Escksu
Escksu post Feb 20 2012, 11:09 PM   |  In Reply To KARTer
Post #19

3rd Gear

QUOTE (KARTer @ Feb 20 2012, 10:53 PM) *
biggrin.gif biggrin.gif

mcf got pple like to come in others' thread and stir.... habit liao, cant be helped one... keep cool and just enjoy posts which are more positive.. smile.gif
just take it that this is a circus, got jokers/clowns and all other imaginable/unimaginable characters... smile.gif

OK thanks bro I will ignore them.

Btw, the Satria S2000 isn't exactly a successful car when it was first made. One of the problem is that the engine has a very narrow power range. Handling isn't that fantastic. It took them quite a lot of time and effort to make the car became what it is today.

One of the major problem is lack of power compared to Turbo cars (APRC has Turbo Evos and WRXs). So the car has to rely on better weight distribution and handling to overcome power deficiency.

+Quote Post
Escksu
Escksu post Feb 20 2012, 11:13 PM   |  In Reply To TVT
Post #20

3rd Gear

QUOTE (TVT @ Feb 20 2012, 11:09 PM) *
Is this model "Satria Neo" still in production?

Yes, it has undergo a facelift and a slightly more powerful Campro CPS engine (125HP compared to 110HP). There are 2 variants of it today. a 125HP Neo and the 145HP R3. There is also a limited Lotus Edition with Ohlins suspension and AP Racing brakes.

But sadly, its no longer available in SG.

+Quote Post

3 Pages V   1 2 3 >
Reply to this topicStart new topic