Go to the top of the page

+Quote Post
Sirjimmy
Sirjimmy post Apr 4 2012, 08:34 PM  
Post #2

2nd Gear
Warn: -----

funny and cute ah...
But hor, i thou those are hokkien and not singlish?

+Quote Post
Tianmo
Tianmo post Apr 4 2012, 09:36 PM  
Post #3

Kee Chiew..............Kee Chiew................Kee Chiew!!!!! laugh.gif laugh.gif laugh.gif

--------------------
芸芸人海,罪孽深重,神佛不渡,唯我魔渡
with the spirit of the MCF tiko club..............We are................ TIKO RANGERS!!!

+Quote Post
W210k
W210k post Apr 4 2012, 09:52 PM   |  In Reply To Jp66
Post #4

5th Gear

Funny but those are really hokkien words interspersed with English and singlish.
Most Singaporeans are misconcepted about what singlish really is.

So what really is singlish? Just using Hokkien, Malay, or Indian words within an English sentence structure, is not singlish to me.
Thus using only words like kiasu, Bo chap, alamak, LLST, LPPL etc. is not it.

Singlish is using the Chinese or Malay sentence structure, in English, and which could be interspersed with Hokkien, Malay, or even Tamil words.

Some classic examples I can think of:
- why you liddat one? You cannot liddat one lah.
- Eh, you got do homework or not?
- how you come to school? I sit bus to school.
- come, come, gostan somemore ... Can one, don't scared
- when you come home, you must on all the lights hor
- yanda deh! Why you act so terror one?
- you want to be hero issit? Face like Roger Moore pantat!
- you got take MRT before?
- wah the tau huay at Geylang damn shiok sia! Pass by already buay tahan, must eat one!
- you damn one kind lah, die die also must smoke one!
- buttoh lah you! Your grandfather own the road issit?
- referee kayu! Balik kampong lah
- KNN, don't anyhow say one ok!

This post has been edited by W210k: Apr 4 2012, 09:54 PM

--------------------
V6 Quad-cam 24v 231 BHP RWD
IL-6 DOHC 24v 192 BHP x-Drive

+Quote Post
5936 post Apr 4 2012, 09:59 PM  
Post #5