Most Active Discussions

9 Pages V   1 2 3 4 5 > » 
Reply to this topicStart new topic
Darthrevan
Darthrevan post Jul 29 2012, 03:35 AM  
Post #1

Warn: -----

Car owners carrying out illegal modifications are on the rise.

The Land Transport Authority (LTA) said there's been an almost 30 per cent jump in the number from 2011.

Between January and April this year, the number of summons issued by LTA averages at 784 each month, compared to a monthly average of 611 last year.

Some of the most common illegal vehicle modifications are tinted windows and lighting infringements.

Drivers who modify their cars call it their "interest" and "passion".

There is even a car show and competition just to flaunt the many flashy modifications.

But such a hobby does not come cheap as it can amount to tens of thousands of dollars.

Experts Channel NewsAsia spoke to said these modifications done illegally can be dangerous.

The probability of an illegally modified car going up in flames after encountering an impact has a 70 per cent higher risk relative to cars that did not undergo any illegal modifications.

Also, the illegal modifications can cause damage to the car in the long run.

Owner of Hanip Automobiles, Hanip Abdul, said: "You (the car) lose a lot of power; there're a lot of unburnt gas coming out from (the car's) gaspipe. There're a lot of things happening to your car. Eventually you see that your car (has) no power, outside concession very high. These are (what) they call wrong illegal modifications."

He further added that it is not advisable to carry out any illegal modifications as every car has been designed to its optimum condition.

Nevertheless, not all modifications are illegal.

Motorists who wish to modify their vehicles are advised to check with the LTA or look up the guidelines.

For first-time offenders who illegally modify their vehicles, they face a fine of up to S$1,000, or a jail term of up to three months.

Repeat offenders will face a fine of up to S$2,000, or a jail term of up to six months.

The LTA will also take actions against workshops found to be facilitating illegal modifications.

Such workshops will face a fine of up to S$2,000, or a jail term of up to three months, for the first offence; and a fine of up to S$5,000, or a jail term of up to six months for repeat offences.

Source: http://www.channelnewsasia.com/stories/sin...1216289/1/.html

--------------------
Who I am is not important – my message is.
Go to the top of the page

+Quote Post
Seanboi
Seanboi post Jul 29 2012, 04:45 AM  
Post #2

Wah workshop also kena fined?

+Quote Post
Kelpie
Kelpie post Jul 29 2012, 06:44 AM   |  In Reply To Seanboi
Post #3

NOS-ed

It looks like they are also nipping the problem at the source cool.gif.

Some workshops survived because of their known skill set in car modifications.

Regards,

--------------------
Disclaimer:
The above comments are solely my perspectives. You may disagree with it for I shall not be liable for whatever I may have input. You may feel displeased which in this case, my sincere apologies and do kindly seek moderator's advice if need be. Any obscene & threatening comments on me is a reflection of your personality. My motto is we agree to disagree. No profanity or obscenities of any kind. No personal attacks on other users. Thank you.

+Quote Post
Turboflat4
Turboflat4 post Jul 29 2012, 09:22 AM   |  In Reply To Darthrevan
Post #4

QUOTE (Darthrevan @ Jul 29 2012, 03:35 AM) *
Owner of Hanip Automobiles, Hanip Abdul, said: "You (the car) lose a lot of power; there're a lot of unburnt gas coming out from (the car's) gaspipe. There're a lot of things happening to your car. Eventually you see that your car (has) no power, outside concession very high. These are (what) they call wrong illegal modifications."

He further added that it is not advisable to carry out any illegal modifications as every car has been designed to its optimum condition.

Ha ha, Hanip services my Vios. So much rubbish coming out of him. Never pegged him as a limelight-hogging gahmen spokesman. laugh.gif

--------------------
///Me too (like Porker, lah).

+Quote Post
ER-3682
ER-3682 post Jul 29 2012, 09:31 AM   |  In Reply To Turboflat4
Post #5

5th Gear

QUOTE (Turboflat4 @ Jul 29 2012, 09:22 AM) *
Ha ha, Hanip services my Vios. So much rubbish coming out of him. Never pegged him as a limelight-hogging gahmen spokesman. laugh.gif

Hanip is from Borneo Motor,all his jobs are done according to Toyota Japan standard.

+Quote Post
Highmount
Highmount post Jul 29 2012, 09:41 AM  
Post #6

3rd Gear

They forgot workshops in JB laugh.gif

+Quote Post
AlanZ
AlanZ post Jul 29 2012, 10:12 AM  
Post #7

2nd Gear

Coe increase so madly and vehicle population is being tighten.
Ratio of vehicle growth dun go in line with rate of increase of population growth due to lack of land.
Ppl cannot afford change car so easily yet cannot modify.
Singaporeans forced into a corner n life is so stressful in this little red dot
Haiz

+Quote Post
Satrianeo_2012
Satrianeo_2012 post Jul 29 2012, 10:42 AM  
Post #8

2nd Gear
Warn: Banned

hoho.... I am thinking about wide body mod for my car. But its not crucial so later then do.

Do hell with those LTA stuff..... All those idiots know nothing about cars.

This post has been edited by Satrianeo_2012: Jul 29 2012, 10:46 AM

+Quote Post
Macrosszero
Macrosszero post Jul 29 2012, 11:00 AM   |  In Reply To AlanZ
Post #9

What are you talking about? Mod already then stress.

Back when I was running semi slick tires, changed extractor, etc, LTA/TP pass by, I stress.

Nowadays, back to stock, no stress at all.

--------------------

Just because you've got more posts than me doesn't mean that you're right.

+Quote Post
Achee
Achee post Jul 29 2012, 11:00 AM  
Post #10

2nd Gear

Could this also be due to LTA rules being overly stringent? For example, DRL is considered illegal in Singapore when many European countries accept them with their arms open.

+Quote Post
Eyke
Eyke post Jul 29 2012, 11:08 AM   |  In Reply To Achee
Post #11

Warn: X----

QUOTE (Achee @ Jul 29 2012, 11:00 AM) *
Could this also be due to LTA rules being overly stringent? For example, DRL is considered illegal in Singapore when many European countries accept them with their arms open.

DRL is legal, but only if factory-fitted...

--------------------
shaolin.sg

Spreadsheet for Depreciation v4.0!

+Quote Post
Donut
Donut post Jul 29 2012, 11:12 AM   |  In Reply To Achee
Post #12

It's not illegal. The difference is it needed to be fixed by ADs.

If they let anyone fix, u know alot of ppl will anyhow fix

--------------------
"Is it possible to pursue happiness if the pursuit itself does not make you happy?"
From book titled "I move Your Cheese" by Deepak Malhotra

+Quote Post
Blackyv
Blackyv post Jul 29 2012, 11:15 AM   |  In Reply To Highmount
Post #13

NOS-ed

QUOTE (Highmount @ Jul 29 2012, 09:41 AM) *
They forgot workshops in JB laugh.gif

They can't do anything to jb ws... maybe causeway custom will check for car mod beside fuel meter soon?..

+Quote Post
Tohto
Tohto post Jul 29 2012, 11:23 AM  
Post #14

The problem is many after market HID are not properly adjusted, they are pointing to high up and will blind others car.

+Quote Post
Satrianeo_2012
Satrianeo_2012 post Jul 29 2012, 11:33 AM   |  In Reply To Achee
Post #15

2nd Gear
Warn: Banned

Well, this is what happens when you have pple who put out all the regulations who know absolutely nothing about cars.......

Eg. exhaust system. In other countries, they don't care what you use as long as it meet the regulations. And regulations are very tight. Sometimes, even old stock cars fail emission tests.

Then there is wide body..... Other countries are legal, here is not....

+Quote Post
KaKiLang
KaKiLang post Jul 29 2012, 11:45 AM  
Post #16

5th Gear

I support lta, they have to draw a line some where to make our conjested system safer.

Want performance go get one.

This post has been edited by KaKiLang: Jul 29 2012, 11:47 AM

+Quote Post
Mkl22
Mkl22 post Jul 29 2012, 11:50 AM   |  In Reply To Satrianeo_2012
Post #17

3rd Gear

QUOTE (Satrianeo_2012 @ Jul 29 2012, 11:33 AM) *
Well, this is what happens when you have pple who put out all the regulations who know absolutely nothing about cars.......

Eg. exhaust system. In other countries, they don't care what you use as long as it meet the regulations. And regulations are very tight. Sometimes, even old stock cars fail emission tests.

Then there is wide body..... Other countries are legal, here is not....

Being a govt official naturally you would want to be cautious. Why break your iron rice bowl by being Kay kiang and approve mods. If these mods kill someone. Then you get into trouble. I would also do blanket ban on mods. The public is now on a witch hunt. Any wrong doing is highly publicised and for sure a scape goat would be found.

+Quote Post
Jaglim
Jaglim post Jul 29 2012, 11:57 AM   |  In Reply To Eyke
Post #18

1st Gear

Then there are tonnes of $$ for LTA to collect from the road!!!

QUOTE (Eyke @ Jul 29 2012, 11:08 AM) *
DRL is legal, but only if factory-fitted...

+Quote Post
WTF
WTF post Jul 29 2012, 12:01 PM   |  In Reply To Turboflat4
Post #19

QUOTE (Turboflat4 @ Jul 29 2012, 09:22 AM) *

CNA will only post those views are are pro-authority....don't think we'll see one workshop interviewed suggesting mod is good...... laugh.gif

--------------------
命里有时终需有,命里无时莫强求

+Quote Post
Keithchue
Keithchue post Jul 29 2012, 12:46 PM   |  In Reply To ER-3682
Post #20

4th Gear

really? i went to this wks before under heavy recommendation from my friends. all i can say, rather be forgotten then going back.

--------------------
Everyday is a challenge, what make it difficult is the people around you have to work with

+Quote Post

9 Pages V   1 2 3 4 5 > » 
Reply to this topicStart new topic