|
| Joint membership: You may login to MyCarForum using your sgCarMart username & password |
![]() ![]() |
|
Typhoonz
Aug 4 2012, 03:30 PM
|
|
![]() 2Fast2Furious Posts: 25,329 Warn:
|
I'm currently on Hankook V12 Evo (205/55/16) on my Mazda 5 since last Apr and it has done about 40k KM. The noise is getting quite jialat especially over the rough surfaces. Thinking of switching to either GR90 or PS3. Budget no more than $180 per tyre.
Which of the above is the better choice? I would like to try out the PS3 as the average price is about $165 - $168. Been reading through the many threads about PS3 and find it's a balance of low noise and good wet / dry grip. Comments and recommendations please... -------------------- _________________________________ A bit a bit Tiko Ranger! Motto : Sit on the fence! |
|
|
|
|
Zippaboy
Aug 4 2012, 07:10 PM
|
|
|
4th Gear Posts: 606 Warn:
|
GR90 quieter. very good grip in the wet too. :)
|
|
|
|
|
Aug 4 2012, 07:57 PM
|
|
![]() 6th Gear Posts: 3,787 Warn:
|
|
|
|
|
|
Typhoonz
Aug 4 2012, 10:08 PM | In Reply To Zippaboy
|
|
|
GR90 quieter. very good grip in the wet too. :) I've yet to find out about the current price for GR90... Will do so on Monday... -------------------- _________________________________ A bit a bit Tiko Ranger! Motto : Sit on the fence! |
|
|
|
|
Typhoonz
Aug 4 2012, 10:11 PM | In Reply To 5936
|
|
|
Goodyear efficient grip 2 or Excellence. If you like more control and stability , go for Goodyear directional 5 Will look at the Excellence and the Efficient Grip 2... The thread for Directional 5 looks to be noisy like my current ones... -------------------- _________________________________ A bit a bit Tiko Ranger! Motto : Sit on the fence! |
|
|
|
|
Camrytron
Aug 4 2012, 11:59 PM | In Reply To 5936
|
|
|
5th Gear Posts: 1,792 Warn:
|
Goodyear efficient grip 2 or Excellence. If you like more control and stability , go for Goodyear directional 5 i am now on efficient grip.. noise level is quiet tyre+comfort too(mine is 225/50/17) corner+bend i don't like slow down so whether dry or wet i still do stunt,so far so good,my camry still in 1 piece |
|
|
|
|
VellfireS
Aug 5 2012, 12:20 AM | In Reply To Typhoonz
|
|
|
Supercharged Posts: 6,471 Warn:
|
I'm currently on Hankook V12 Evo (205/55/16) on my Mazda 5 since last Apr and it has done about 40k KM. The noise is getting quite jialat especially over the rough surfaces. Thinking of switching to either GR90 or PS3. Budget no more than $180 per tyre. Which of the above is the better choice? I would like to try out the PS3 as the average price is about $165 - $168. Been reading through the many threads about PS3 and find it's a balance of low noise and good wet / dry grip. Comments and recommendations please... Actually same.. haha.. Sorry to hijack your thread boss... I also will be looking for tyres for Vellfire soon.. Currently on stock Toyo PROXES R30... I am thinking of Dunlop Sport Maxx GT or actually wish to have the PSS.. But PSS I dont think can last long because heavy vehicle.. Hmmmm... Any recommendations? 18" -------------------- The Great Melon TIKO Ranger () |
|
|
|
|
Spidey10
Aug 5 2012, 08:51 AM | In Reply To SJP1965G
|
|
|
2nd Gear Posts: 245 Warn:
|
Actually same.. haha.. Sorry to hijack your thread boss... I also will be looking for tyres for Vellfire soon.. Currently on stock Toyo PROXES R30... I am thinking of Dunlop Sport Maxx GT or actually wish to have the PSS.. But PSS I dont think can last long because heavy vehicle.. Hmmmm... Any recommendations? 18" Same here bros, sorry to hijack, thinking of changing tyres for my mpv, any comments on FALKEN tyres vs MIC and BS on grip, comfort, quietness, safety..price is a lot cheaper easily 20-30% cheaper per nut. On 195/65/15... Feedback on FALKEN appreciated.. Two mind to change to this or go look for XM2 or GR90!! |
|
|
|
|
Camrytron
Aug 5 2012, 09:24 AM | In Reply To Spidey10
|
|
|
|
Same here bros, sorry to hijack, thinking of changing tyres for my mpv, any comments on FALKEN tyres vs MIC and BS on grip, comfort, quietness, safety..price is a lot cheaper easily 20-30% cheaper per nut. On 195/65/15... Feedback on FALKEN appreciated.. Two mind to change to this or go look for XM2 or GR90!! Falken will never in my list again. Used once n when mileage reach 10k, the noise I cannot tahan anymore. Change again shortly after 10k. BS should be good, many good comments. Toyo c1s, good year efficient grip all good in noise n grip. Hope my info help u. |
|
|
|
|
Arixlim
Aug 5 2012, 09:50 AM
|
|
![]() 2nd Gear Posts: 145 Warn:
|
any promotions?
|
|
|
|
|
Spidey10
Aug 5 2012, 11:26 AM | In Reply To Camrytron
|
|
|
2nd Gear Posts: 245 Warn:
|
Falken will never in my list again. Used once n when mileage reach 10k, the noise I cannot tahan anymore. Change again shortly after 10k. BS should be good, many good comments. Toyo c1s, good year efficient grip all good in noise n grip. Hope my info help u. Thanks camrytron for the feedback! I read in this forum as well that FALKEN is noisy and some members also did the same thing after a few thousand km. Strike out FALKEN on my list then. Will check out Toyo and GY as well They are having promotion now, hence a lot cheaper! So, I guess is best stick with mainstream tyres then. BS, MIC or GY... What about kumho, see a lot of taxis using them.... This post has been edited by Spidey10: Aug 5 2012, 11:28 AM |
|
|
|
|
Camrytron
Aug 5 2012, 11:38 AM | In Reply To Spidey10
|
|
|
|
Thanks camrytron for the feedback! I read in this forum as well that FALKEN is noisy and some members also did the same thing after a few thousand km. Strike out FALKEN on my list then. Will check out Toyo and GY as well They are having promotion now, hence a lot cheaper! So, I guess is best stick with mainstream tyres then. BS, MIC or GY... What about kumho, see a lot of taxis using them.... Toyo is MIJ & GY is make in Germany. Toyo $240/GY $220 size is 225/50/17. yours is 195/65/15" rite? I think will not be ex. Can your ride put 205? Last time mine is 205/65/15. |
|
|
|
|
Camrytron
Aug 5 2012, 11:39 AM | In Reply To Arixlim
|
|
|
|
|
|
|
|
|
Chickensoup
Aug 5 2012, 12:07 PM
|
|
![]() 4th Gear Posts: 680 Warn:
|
Huh. $300 a piece is cheap meh?
|
|
|
|
|
Aug 5 2012, 12:22 PM
|
|
|
For Heavy MPV such as Vellfre GY assurance, is a bit soft.
Another popular MPV favourite us Yokohama Earth |
|
|
|
|
VellfireS
Aug 5 2012, 01:03 PM | In Reply To 5936
|
|
|
|
For Heavy MPV such as Vellfre GY assurance, is a bit soft. Another popular MPV favourite us Yokohama Earth Hmmmm... So what you recommend boss? -------------------- The Great Melon TIKO Ranger () |
|
|
|
|
Camrytron
Aug 5 2012, 01:57 PM | In Reply To Chickensoup
|
|
|
|
|
|
|
|
|
Aug 5 2012, 05:28 PM | In Reply To SJP1965G
|
|
|
Yokohama earth 1
|
|
|
|
|
Lurpsexx
Aug 5 2012, 07:43 PM | In Reply To Zippaboy
|
|
|
3rd Gear Posts: 490 Warn:
|
GR90 quieter. very good grip in the wet too. :) Bro, by GR90, you mean Bridgestone Turanza GR90? Read some good reviews on this tyre... thinking of changing to it... My Hankook V12 Evo already doing 40K km now.. and its noisy and the ride is hard... going for quiet and comfortable ride... is this the tyre to change to? Appreciate your FR and the prices and places to get this tyre.. Thanks a lot in advance for your kind advice bro... |
|
|
|
|
VellfireS
Aug 6 2012, 02:21 AM | In Reply To 5936
|
|
|
|
Yokohama earth 1 haha.. Hmmm.. Must read up more on it.. Bro what you think about the PSS or Dunlop Sport Maxx GT? -------------------- The Great Melon TIKO Ranger () |
|
|
|
![]() ![]() |