Most Active Discussions

2 Pages V   1 2 >
Reply to this topicStart new topic
Windwaver
Windwaver post Sep 17 2012, 01:04 AM  
Post #1

Warn: -----

One of my sports rim (according to workshop rim is still usable) suffered multiple scratches in an earlier accident and I'm claiming 100% from the fellow who ram into me. According to the surveyor, I can either respray all 4 rims ($200+) or they compensate me $150 for 1 rim (because rim too old not in market liao). My sports rim is those stock type one laugh.gif . Just want to know if it's better to respray all 4 rims or accept $150 for the rim.

--------------------
Disclaimer:
The above comments are solely my perspectives. You may disagree with it for I shall not be liable for whatever I may have input. Any obscene & threatening comments on me is a reflection of your personality. No profanity, obscenities of any kind and personal attacks on other users.
Go to the top of the page

+Quote Post
Porche
Porche post Sep 17 2012, 01:32 AM   |  In Reply To Windwaver
Post #2

respray all. but make sure the damaged rim is not warp.

+Quote Post
ER-3682
ER-3682 post Sep 17 2012, 02:06 AM  
Post #3

5th Gear

Since old car already,get $600.00 cash & put in pocket better.

+Quote Post
Xspace
Xspace post Sep 17 2012, 03:21 AM  
Post #4

5th Gear

Accept compensation and buy 2nd-hand good condition rims for your ride. Safer.

--------------------
Please follow the signature guidelines.

+Quote Post
Ysc3
Ysc3 post Sep 17 2012, 07:18 AM   |  In Reply To ER-3682
Post #5

5th Gear

QUOTE (ER-3682 @ Sep 17 2012, 02:06 AM) *
Since old car already,get $600.00 cash & put in pocket better.

i think the offer is only for ONE rim ... so only get $150 as FNF settlement.

+Quote Post
To_be_advised
To_be_advised post Sep 17 2012, 07:24 AM  
Post #6

3rd Gear

first ask yourself - is the rim current condition affecting you?
if yes - just respray but do keep in mind next time you may accidently kerb rash yourself too as such things do happens.
if no - take 150 lor.

--------------------
----------------
Life is never fair > correct
----------------

+Quote Post
Windwaver
Windwaver post Sep 17 2012, 09:47 AM   |  In Reply To To_be_advised
Post #7

QUOTE (To_be_advised @ Sep 17 2012, 07:24 AM) *
first ask yourself - is the rim current condition affecting you?
if yes - just respray but do keep in mind next time you may accidently kerb rash yourself too as such things do happens.
if no - take 150 lor.

Yeah $150 only cos for 1 rim nia. $150 can buy stock sports rim meh? I agree rim will get scratch especially when parking near kerb.

Upon visual inspection the rim doesn't look warp just scratched. Anyway to tell if it's really ok?

--------------------
Disclaimer:
The above comments are solely my perspectives. You may disagree with it for I shall not be liable for whatever I may have input. Any obscene & threatening comments on me is a reflection of your personality. No profanity, obscenities of any kind and personal attacks on other users.

+Quote Post
Sp4wn
Sp4wn post Sep 17 2012, 09:50 AM  
Post #8

5th Gear

if it's an old car, just take the money and live with the scratch la. chances ah, after a few months, with all the road works going on, you'll end up with some scratches again. cash is king bro!

+Quote Post
To_be_advised
To_be_advised post Sep 17 2012, 09:50 AM  
Post #9

3rd Gear

if want to be sure can just go to any tire shop. ask them to help you see if the rim is warp. they probably charge you 20-30 bucks.
but either way you also will not be getting any replacement right?

I heard if rim warp will affect the driving. maybe other experienced bros can help advise.

--------------------
----------------

+Quote Post
Windwaver
Windwaver post Sep 17 2012, 02:27 PM   |  In Reply To To_be_advised
Post #10

QUOTE (To_be_advised @ Sep 17 2012, 09:50 AM) *
if want to be sure can just go to any tire shop. ask them to help you see if the rim is warp. they probably charge you 20-30 bucks.
but either way you also will not be getting any replacement right?

I heard if rim warp will affect the driving. maybe other experienced bros can help advise.

Affect in what way? The car will be very wobbly?

--------------------
Disclaimer:

+Quote Post
Windwaver
Windwaver post Sep 17 2012, 02:27 PM   |  In Reply To Sp4wn
Post #11

QUOTE (Sp4wn @ Sep 17 2012, 09:50 AM) *
if it's an old car, just take the money and live with the scratch la. chances ah, after a few months, with all the road works going on, you'll end up with some scratches again. cash is king bro!

I know but $150 nia leh, sort of rip off for a stock sports rim tongue.gif

--------------------
Disclaimer:

+Quote Post
To_be_advised
To_be_advised post Sep 17 2012, 02:29 PM  
Post #12

3rd Gear

hm... respray cost cheaper if you know the people. believe me.

--------------------
----------------

+Quote Post
LoverofCar
LoverofCar post Sep 17 2012, 02:48 PM  
Post #13

Take the $600 lah...if rims only scratches....I think outside spray paint only $50 the most for 1 rim...

--------------------
''Things that destroy are: Politics without principle; Pleasure without conscience; Wealth without work; Knowledge without character; Business without morality; Science without humanity; and Worship without sacrifice.''

+Quote Post
To_be_advised
To_be_advised post Sep 17 2012, 02:51 PM   |  In Reply To LoverofCar
Post #14

3rd Gear

QUOTE (LoverofCar @ Sep 17 2012, 02:48 PM) *
Take the $600 lah...if rims only scratches....I think outside spray paint only $50 the most for 1 rim...

bro is $150 not $600. they compensate 1 rim only cos only kena 1 rim.

--------------------
----------------

+Quote Post
Windwaver
Windwaver post Sep 17 2012, 04:14 PM   |  In Reply To LoverofCar
Post #15

QUOTE (LoverofCar @ Sep 17 2012, 02:48 PM) *

That's the market rate but now it's a matter to take $150 or respray all rims but don't take money.

--------------------
Disclaimer:

+Quote Post
Creativeshoot
Creativeshoot post Sep 17 2012, 04:23 PM  
Post #16

1st Gear
Warn: Banned

your choice.. but my suggestion is to respray.

+Quote Post
Windwaver
Windwaver post Sep 17 2012, 04:37 PM   |  In Reply To Creativeshoot
Post #17

QUOTE (Creativeshoot @ Sep 17 2012, 04:23 PM) *
your choice.. but my suggestion is to respray.

So far half half from friends and brothers in MCF sweatdrop.gif

--------------------
Disclaimer:

+Quote Post
To_be_advised
To_be_advised post Sep 17 2012, 05:06 PM  
Post #18

3rd Gear

actually is not that difficult decision ma.

--------------------
----------------

+Quote Post
LoverofCar
LoverofCar post Sep 17 2012, 05:10 PM   |  In Reply To To_be_advised
Post #19

QUOTE (To_be_advised @ Sep 17 2012, 02:51 PM) *
bro is $150 not $600. they compensate 1 rim only cos only kena 1 rim.

opps...did not read probably...so is one rim only....get them to respray if that is the case....not so hard to make decision right>

This post has been edited by LoverofCar: Sep 17 2012, 05:11 PM

--------------------
''Things that destroy are: Politics without principle; Pleasure without conscience; Wealth without work; Knowledge without character; Business without morality; Science without humanity; and Worship without sacrifice.''

+Quote Post
Seanboi
Seanboi post Sep 17 2012, 06:48 PM   |  In Reply To Windwaver
Post #20

QUOTE (Windwaver @ Sep 17 2012, 09:47 AM) *
Yeah $150 only cos for 1 rim nia. $150 can buy stock sports rim meh? I agree rim will get scratch especially when parking near kerb.

Upon visual inspection the rim doesn't look warp just scratched. Anyway to tell if it's really ok?

$150 cant even get you one piece of stock rim from AD.

If you take the money and respray that rim, there are chances of a color mismatch.

If you can live with it, just take the $$$ lor. Sometimes the pursuit of perfection will give you more headache IMO.

+Quote Post

2 Pages V   1 2 >
Reply to this topicStart new topic