Car-free zones within Civic District mulled by URA

Darthrevan

16584443.JPG?itok=LlCS9oXMRoads in vicinity of Victoria Theatre and Concert Hall, Asian Civilisation Museum to close to vehicular traffic in phases

Street level connectivity will be improved with the pedestrianisation of some roads, such as Empress Place, within the Civic District. The move is aimed at creating bigger civic open spaces and allowing pedestrians to stroll freely in a car-free environment.
This was announced by the Urban Redevelopment Authority (URA) this morning (Nov 22) as part of their Draft Master Plan 2013.
First on the list to be pedestrianised is Empress Place, a road that sits between the Asian Civilisation Museum and the Victoria Theatre and Concert Hall. The aim of the move is to integrate the buildings in the vicinity into a seamless park-like setting.
Other roads in the area such as St Andrew’s Road, Connaught Drive, Fullerton Road and Parliament Place, which sit between the Victoria Theatre and Concert Hall and the Singapore Cricket Club, could soon follow suit.
URA said they would be exploring the options of closing these roads to cars on a temporary basis for activities and events. They will also study the possibility of permitting only tour buses, public buses and pedestrians on these roads in the future.
The agency also said that it would take a “phased approach” to the implementation of the car-free zones and the opinions of local stakeholders and the public will be taken into consideration before the roads are permanently pedestrianised in the long-term.
Parks in the Civic District will also get a make-over to include more public seating, night lighting and better signage to help the public navigate the area.
To allow people to get closer to the waterfront, the bollards along the promenade of Esplanade Park will be removed and replaced with stepped plazas and “an urban beach”.
The enhancement of these parks are expected to be completed by 2015.

I support car-free zones!! but they must provide first-30-mins free bicycles just like other advanced cities which also promote car-free zones

if the city streets are free of cars, more space can be used by buses for us to move from A to B!! or even bring back trishaws etc riden by uncles, xmms with strong legs etc etc.... cities like Amsterdam have modern trishaws and they are also part of the tourist attractions

such a major change needs pilot projects.... why not make geylang car-free to test out the ideas?

I support car-free zones!! but they must provide first-30-mins free bicycles just like other advanced cities which also promote car-free zones

if the city streets are free of cars, more space can be used by buses for us to move from A to B!! or even bring back trishaws etc riden by uncles, xmms with strong legs etc etc.... cities like Amsterdam have modern trishaws and they are also part of the tourist attractions

such a major change needs pilot projects.... why not make geylang car-free to test out the ideas?

u know how big a leg can get when one cycles evryday! the thigh will be like the width of my 28 inch waist line siak! [sweatdrop][sweatdrop]

What they should also look into is to provide free public transit within this zone. This would further encourage drivers to leave their cars at home. I believe there are quite a few North America cities doing this.

nothing is free in sg...except for the air, longkang water and Todays newspaper. Wait long long.......someone will say which one u wan....walk, bicycle or bus(pay).

u know how big a leg can get when one cycles evryday! the thigh will be like the width of my 28 inch waist line siak! [sweatdrop][sweatdrop]

I, as the passenger, can and will be happy to help prevent the legs of xmm riding the trishaw from getting to 28! ----- I will ride the trishaw, she just sits on my laps while I ride.... sui bo?

nothing is free in sg...except for the air, longkang water and Todays newspaper. Wait long long.......someone will say which one u wan....walk, bicycle or bus(pay).

hahahahaa.... you forgot free shuttle buses bring people to casinos? turf city? and a few other shopping malls / hospitals? got lah, free rides are there, but we need to look around to find them

seriously, when certain amenities can be free-to-use in other places, we don't see it repeated here becoz our country always thinks of how to swell the govt's coffer without thinking how to return some of the $$ in kind to the people eg COE/ARF/ERP revenue collections vs selective free bus-rides

Edited by Maseratigood

I, as the passenger, can and will be happy to help prevent the legs of xmm riding the trishaw from getting to 28! ----- I will ride the trishaw, she just sits on my laps while I ride.... sui bo?

hahahahaa.... you forgot free shuttle buses bring people to casinos? turf city? and a few other shopping malls / hospitals? got lah, free rides are there, but we need to look around to find them

seriously, when certain amenities can be free-to-use in other places, we don't see it repeated here becoz our country always thinks of how to swell the govt's coffer without thinking how to return some of the $$ in kind to the people eg COE/ARF/ERP revenue collections vs selective free bus-rides

But then if they have free buses, alot of people will take advantage of it. I know some of my older relatives they will get around Singapore using all these free shuttle buses. They plan out how they can take the free shuttle bus from one place to another then change on to another free shuttle bus. [sweatdrop]

Don't where those COE/ERP/Casino extra revenue go? They should use this extra revenue to subsidy.

For example free tranport for elderly/student and half price for low income. Sooner many will give up car.

But less car less revenue. Lose lose n lose stutation. I don't think they want to do that. They rather lose in share maket.

Don't where those COE/ERP/Casino extra revenue go? They should use this extra revenue to subsidy.

For example free tranport for elderly/student and half price for low income. Sooner many will give up car.

But less car less revenue. Lose lose n lose stutation. I don't think they want to do that. They rather lose in share maket.

They will say:- In business, you win some, lose some, lets move on [rolleyes]

Taxing commuters with the highest rates/charges in the world yet not ploughing back the $$ sufficiently to improve public transport systems is something only they understand why

But then if they have free buses, alot of people will take advantage of it. I know some of my older relatives they will get around Singapore using all these free shuttle buses. They plan out how they can take the free shuttle bus from one place to another then change on to another free shuttle bus. [sweatdrop]

Actually looking at these older folks as a group, they are the pioneers of our countries who have contributed to nation building in its early difficult years. I feel letting them enjoy free / subsidised rides on trains and buses during off peak hours is ok, right?

Some of them really cant afford much although others may be well-off, or having well-off children. But for the reason i mentioned above, chin-chai abit with them should be ok

My 86yr old mom does take long bus rides once in a while to keep in touch with new places, how much can an old lady deprive others of the use of a seat on bus/train during off peak hours? give chance, give chance....

Edited by Maseratigood

Good idea, but don't think it will be implemented easily.. Govt will cite costs and all.

Almost every post I see from you, will see tiko stuff one leh.. I LIKE!!!

Those free rides.. Casino de, not really free. Is got ulterior motive. Hospitals and shopping malls one too.. Someone has to pay for those rides.. Still, if the area isn't too big, then I don't mind walking. Will do my fats some good..

Good idea, but don't think it will be implemented easily.. Govt will cite costs and all.

Almost every post I see from you, will see tiko stuff one leh.. I LIKE!!!

Those free rides.. Casino de, not really free. Is got ulterior motive. Hospitals and shopping malls one too.. Someone has to pay for those rides.. Still, if the area isn't too big, then I don't mind walking. Will do my fats some good..

Welcome to the Walking Club!!!

When the sun is not too hot, I walk from A to B eg last week from China town to Bugis Junction, stopped for kopi etc along the way, coz that day not busy for me.

Where got tiko thingy every post? You mean those punctuations which you misunderstood as tiko talks?

Edited by Maseratigood

Welcome to the Walking Club!!!

When the sun is not too hot, I walk from A to B eg last week from China town to Bugis Junction, stopped for kopi etc along the way, coz that day not busy for me.

Where got tiko thingy every post? You mean those punctuations which you misunderstood as tiko talks?

Not too hot, not too busy, walking is good! Can beo xmm for longer time than when driving. But hor, Bugis, one place to beo xmm is at the cross from Junction to Street. If your car first at the traffic light when it turns red, wheet wheet!

Ok la, not so tiko, maybe every other post lor... A lot about XMM, seeing and touching and everything in between..

Not too hot, not too busy, walking is good! Can beo xmm for longer time than when driving. But hor, Bugis, one place to beo xmm is at the cross from Junction to Street. If your car first at the traffic light when it turns red, wheet wheet!

Ok la, not so tiko, maybe every other post lor... A lot about XMM, seeing and touching and everything .....

Frankly I can't wait to see more pedestrian-only streets. When the weather is hot, xmms just have to put on hot pants and they will nit feel too hot. Unless for very formal occasions, men can wear smartly in burmudas, nice long socks, short sleeves. Edited by Maseratigood
  • Dislike 1