Rebuilding My Engine, What Should I Do First?

Yeobt

Am considering to rebuild my honda engine after so many years and at the same time to enhance it for better performance.

my questions are;

1. what should i do FIRST for better results?

2. if i can choose only one, which one should do first, PNP piston? change con rod? change cam? or ?

3 .how much it may cost? (base on the item you suggested)

my old car

IMG_0013c_zps7662a7c7.jpg

TIA.

Edited by BabyBlade

Why not order a new same spec engine from Japan and replace it? LTA will allow the same spec engine to be replaced. Write off this old one for a new one.

if i do, i would get a 1.8 engine which is cannot be verified visually.

i think i would still preferred to upgrade the performance part by part to feel the shiok. (pocket also not hurt badly) [rolleyes]

b20 block b16 head?

mine is original engine. just want to upgrade the parts inside to performance standard to withstand another 10 years.

Do u wanna rebuild the engine or to get better performance?

Rebuild means u hv to most things internal, isn't it?

Edited by Djdp

Open up and see what needs to be done lor. At least new pistons/rods/bearings. Probably oversized pistons depending on the cylinder walls. See how your crank is and if need to send for a polish or replace. Don't forget refreshing the head as well.

since doing full rebuild. head out do PnP. Do overbore and honing since you changing piston. You might want to do block and head shaving to increase compression. replace all bearing. parts are cheap from ebay!

Edited by Ivanpaseo

if i do, i would get a 1.8 engine which is cannot be verified visually.

i think i would still preferred to upgrade the performance part by part to feel the shiok. (pocket also not hurt badly) [rolleyes]

I do not think it's that easy. LTA will counter check with the invoice on the engine CC and engine serial number.

Up to you to decide. Upgrading parts can be quite ex.

I do not think it's that easy. LTA will counter check with the invoice on the engine CC and engine serial number.

I believe this is correct.

Upgrading of the engine to a higher cc specification would entail the process of requiring approval from LTA or government authorities.

Am considering to rebuild my honda engine after so many years and at the same time to enhance it for better performance.

my questions are;

2. if i can choose only one, which one should do first, PNP piston? change con rod? change cam? or ?

my old car

TIA.

Can I ask if there is anything wrong with your engine (other than that it is old)?

If it is working well and fine, then in my opinion, there is no need to do any rebuilding.

If it is to enhance it for better performance, then it is another story.

Some of the mods may enquire collateral enhancements as well [sly]

Since you wan to save ur pocket,

If upgrading engine internal, then better do it at one go.

U pay one time labour for dismantled and assembly work..

No way it can be cheaper to do it one by one..

Unless u DIY... take ur own time... ha ha...

my questions are;

my old car

TIA.

TS, why dont you buy a new car?

this kind of old car not worth to spend so much money and time. reliability also not there.

so many new cars that are faster nowadays....

TS, why dont you buy a new car?

this kind of old car not worth to spend so much money and time. reliability also not there.

so many new cars that are faster nowadays....

what you're saying is like telling a man who is married >10 yrs wanting to give his wife a make over to just divorce her and get a younger chick instead.

+1

rebuild engine gives me a sense of satisfaction too

just the ruling too stringent, if not, when the engine dies off..

lup a bigger and better unit.

my questions are;

my old car

TIA.

I think when it comes to this ek, theres a few factors to consider...

- what u really wan from this car?

- will u be changing car soon?

- when is e coe expiring?

- most important, how much u willing to throw into this rebuilding process?

A full rebuild on a B16B is probably gonna cost 2+K. Considering you don't have that much on your COE left, no point doing it unless you're damn sure that COE will drop in the next year or so or that you can afford the COE if it remains at 50-60k.

I would suggest doing all the upgrades and stuff after you renew your COE.

Wa sei! you'll get turbo kick in at 3k rpm and vtec screaming at 6k rpm.... this is out of the world feeling, bro!

[rolleyes]:D[drivingcar]

But... cannot in sgp leh... [rifle]

Bolt a turbo kits- dont need to change engine. save time [thumbsup]

Edited by Mz3SP0907