Hui'ge: Cars may go out of fashion in Singapore

Scion

for the start, how about all ministers and MPs give up their cars, and go to their offices by walking, cycling and taking public transport?

Cars may go out of fashion in Singapore: National Development Minister Khaw Boon Wan

Published on Sep 16, 2014 1:29 PM

ManyCars160914e.jpg
Cars may one day go out of fashion in Singapore, said National Development Minister Khaw Boon Wan, as he envisions a city with fewer vehicles and more space for living. -- ST PHOTO: NG SOR LUAN

By Yeo Sam Jo

SINGAPORE - Cars may one day go out of fashion in Singapore, said National Development Minister Khaw Boon Wan, as he envisions a city with fewer vehicles and more space for living.

"It is already happening in some European cities," said Mr Khaw in a blog post on Tuesday. "Youngsters no longer see a need to take driving lessons, let alone buying a car. People are walking, cycling, taking public transport. The occasional car needs can be satisfied more cool-ly, via Uber or Zipcar or many such local ridesharing equivalents."

Noting that car parks might eventually become "excessive and redundant" as a result, Mr Khaw urged the public to participate in Singapore's annual second Park(ing) Day on Friday.

Organised by the Urban Redevelopment Authority, the event allows the public to temporarily transform carpark spaces around the island into anything from parks to living rooms. So far, there have been about 50 registrations from community groups, local businesses and student bodies, said Mr Khaw.

- See more at: http://www.straitstimes.com/news/singapore/more-singapore-stories/story/cars-may-go-out-fashion-singapore-national-development-m#sthash.EetpvgPp.dpuf

and how about abandoning the stupid Population White Paper and keep the population under control so that we will have more space without sacrificing this and that

preparing for 6.9M > 10M > 15M population? [sly]

SINGAPORE - Cars may one day go out of fashion in Singapore, said National Development Minister Khaw Boon Wan, as he envisions a city with fewer vehicles and more space for living.

Just few years back niah, there were so many calls to have bicycle lanes, but everything got shot down citing the weather blah blah blah..... Now, they are singing a different tunes. :D

Please lah this is not Europe. People here still very face and status conscious.

He better be careful what he wishes for. Sekali we start to shun this blatant materialism and pursuit of wealth then they know.

for the start, how about all ministers and MPs give up their cars, and go to their offices by walking, cycling and taking public transport?

- See more at: http://www.straitstimes.com/news/singapore/more-singapore-stories/story/cars-may-go-out-fashion-singapore-national-development-m#sthash.EetpvgPp.dpuf

and how about abandoning the stupid Population White Paper and keep the population under control so that we will have more space without sacrificing this and that

why the park they like to compare or cite us with European country har......nb! We got same standard of living mei?

it's getting ridiculous everyday....

sacrificing heritage buildings, greenery, army camps, etc for more space to build residential to accommodate the targetted population

now start to aim education (degree) and transport (cars) liao

Talk is always so easy and cheap, but the Top doesn't always practice what they talked.

Until we see them in public transport, else how are we able to believe in them...

no 6.9m how to ensure property price stay high and miniater stay.well remunerated?

yah man...

please lead by example

if the children of ministers and MPs choose ITE and poly instead of uni, and they take public transport to offices instead of driving, then i will follow them too

Talk is always so easy and cheap, but the Top doesn't always practice what they talked.
Until we see them in public transport, else how are we able to believe in them...

build so many flat and condo for what?

we got iskandar what ... but toll charges must be reduced la ... muahahaha

ship all pioneer to jb ... 30 years from now ship me too if it is cheap!

1 iskandar = 3 singapore size

build so many flat and condo for what?

to house the new citizens and PRs lor

6.9m -> 10m population mah

yes, having your own car is definitely not as "cool" as using uber or whatever car sharing scheme

what great foresight, no wonder SG continues to be ahead of the competition !

vbGoC68.jpg

once in a while lah

70b82900-6ee2-41f2-be10-f9d28d5b213f_152

1122232.jpg

Another one of those " U All " don't do it, it's for your own good .... but " they " are still doing what they encourage us not to do.....KNN