Nissan GTR 3.8L

Aerosmith

could not seem to get anything from the singapore GTR club.

would like to ask for advice here.

I am noob on this car but i do know there is differences between every model year.

1. i heard that a 2008 model at stage 2 can already make up all the differences between the different year model in terms of performance. so if i intend to go stage 2, is it true to say 2008 model is enough?

2. what is the pro GTR workshops locally? i want to get the car checked at a workshop before purchasing it.

3. are there any serious maintenance issues with the gearbox of the GTR? can a mechanic check if it has problems? also, if the clutch has been replaced with performance ones, will it still have those serious issues?

4. anyone happen to know which company gives the best insurance rate for this car?

5. is the GTR an LTA magnet? i previously drove an LTA magnet and really hated the constant stopping and checking.

Thanks so much.

I am noob on this car but i do know there is differences between every model year.

1. i heard that a 2008 model at stage 2 can already make up all the differences between the different year model in terms of performance. so if i intend to go stage 2, is it true to say 2008 model is enough?

2. what is the pro GTR workshops locally? i want to get the car checked at a workshop before purchasing it.

3. are there any serious maintenance issues with the gearbox of the GTR? can a mechanic check if it has problems? also, if the clutch has been replaced with performance ones, will it still have those serious issues?

4. anyone happen to know which company gives the best insurance rate for this car?

5. is the GTR an LTA magnet? i previously drove an LTA magnet and really hated the constant stopping and checking.

Thanks so much.

Many workshop dealing in GTR,MBM,ST-Powered,etc,Gearbox will got problem if ex-owner do too many 'launching',2008 model,not so good...high-performance car,no cheap insurance,these type of car,sure is "LTA Magnet",keep it stock should be no problem.

thanks a lot for the feedback.

actually my main concern is whether the mechanics have ways to check on the condition of the gearbox.

There are at least 2 GTR drivers or ex-drivers here: Sp4wn and Zangetsu. The latter doesn't post much anymore (if at all), but hopefully the former notices this thread.

FWIW, I abstained from the car simply because there were too many "horror stories" about warranties being voided because of launch control and parts being expensive, etc. Considering the fact that I drove a fairly unreliable old Porsche 911 at the time, I was probably being stupid - I'm sure the GTR couldn't have been any worse.

thanks a lot for the feedback.

actually my main concern is whether the mechanics have ways to check on the condition of the gearbox.

Same here, feeling the itch to get one but have heard the usual horror stories about expensive replacement for the gearboxes. Would like to hear from the actual owners their side of the story.

In truth, I will use it as a daily grinder and not touch stuff like the launch control or hitting the track. Have phobia about gearboxes failing cos I was hit with it once, and the last thing I want is to be stuck in a multi-storey carpark (Liang Court!!) with a gearbox failure.

There are at least 2 GTR drivers or ex-drivers here: Sp4wn and Zangetsu. The latter doesn't post much anymore (if at all), but hopefully the former notices this thread.

FWIW, I abstained from the car simply because there were too many "horror stories" about warranties being voided because of launch control and parts being expensive, etc. Considering the fact that I drove a fairly unreliable old Porsche 911 at the time, I was probably being stupid - I'm sure the GTR couldn't have been any worse.

Thanks so much.

1. ok cant help you on modifications. my car has been stock since day 1. have never really bothered to look into modifications.

2. keith from mbm should be your man. met him a couple of times before .. all round nice guy.

3. i'll explain more about the gearbox and my experience with it below.

4. not sure - but when i first got my gtr, ntuc gave me the insurance and then backed out a week later claiming they didnt know what a gtr was. have been wary of them after. can try AXA.

5. so far, never been stopped. had an LTA officer pull up next to my car, he looked a little but didnt stop me. guess he saw car was bone stock.

haha thanks bro. your car diff class la bro! but gtr maintenance is probably higher than porsche :'(

Same here, feeling the itch to get one but have heard the usual horror stories about expensive replacement for the gearboxes. Would like to hear from the actual owners their side of the story.

i bought my car from tan chong instead of PI. wanted the warranty for peace of mind. turned out to be a blessing when the gearbox grenaded after a year. so under warranty - they air flew a gearbox over within 3 days and used a 2010 gearbox in my car. took them less than a week to get it up and running again. if i was driving a PI car or had modified my car, the entire exercise would have cost me approximately $30k (i saw the bill)

In truth, I will use it as a daily grinder and not touch stuff like the launch control or hitting the track. Have phobia about gearboxes failing cos I was hit with it once, and the last thing I want is to be stuck in a multi-storey carpark (Liang Court!!) with a gearbox failure.

see above. lucky for me, my gearbox died when i reached home. although, struggled to come out of carpark as mine is underground. couldnt reverse either, so had to leave by the side till towing company came. (can only use flatbed)

hope this helps!

sad to say, sometimes even i myself wonder why some gtr owners so high and mighty (not the bros at the meetup, but those i've never seen at the owners club). i've pulled up next to a couple of them .. wave hi.. and they either ignore or wind up the window. oh well :D

Thanks for the info, very helpful there :D

Which model of the GTR are you driving?

2009 black edition.

and unless i have kids, i would not consider giving up this car. i've been thru 1 major accident and the car still drives amazing (accident 100% not my fault hor!)

but maintenance is a huge cost for this car, so keep in mind. every 10k km is about 1k, and the 20k km servicing is about $3.5-$4k.

tires range from $650-800 for fronts (per pc) and $800-$1000 for rears. had a nail stuck in one new rear last time .. couldnt be repaired >< had to throw away and buy new one sia ... heart pain.

2009 black edition.

and unless i have kids, i would not consider giving up this car. i've been thru 1 major accident and the car still drives amazing (accident 100% not my fault hor!)

but maintenance is a huge cost for this car, so keep in mind. every 10k km is about 1k, and the 20k km servicing is about $3.5-$4k.

tires range from $650-800 for fronts (per pc) and $800-$1000 for rears. had a nail stuck in one new rear last time .. couldnt be repaired >< had to throw away and buy new one sia ... heart pain.

Expensive s h i t there considering my maintenance is about $300+ for every 10,000km :wacko:

plus forgetting the fact that a porsche can go to a track, go around many many laps and drive home... but the gtr cannot ... i can see the benefit of the premium :D

a lot of the bros would complain after 4-5 laps the car gets too hot. of course, heard they fixed this with the newer model, but i think the tan chong price of 500k for 2012~2013 model can die sia ...

1. ok cant help you on modifications. my car has been stock since day 1. have never really bothered to look into modifications.

2. keith from mbm should be your man. met him a couple of times before .. all round nice guy.

3. i'll explain more about the gearbox and my experience with it below.

4. not sure - but when i first got my gtr, ntuc gave me the insurance and then backed out a week later claiming they didnt know what a gtr was. have been wary of them after. can try AXA.

5. so far, never been stopped. had an LTA officer pull up next to my car, he looked a little but didnt stop me. guess he saw car was bone stock.

haha thanks bro. your car diff class la bro! but gtr maintenance is probably higher than porsche :'(

i bought my car from tan chong instead of PI. wanted the warranty for peace of mind. turned out to be a blessing when the gearbox grenaded after a year. so under warranty - they air flew a gearbox over within 3 days and used a 2010 gearbox in my car. took them less than a week to get it up and running again. if i was driving a PI car or had modified my car, the entire exercise would have cost me approximately $30k (i saw the bill)

see above. lucky for me, my gearbox died when i reached home. although, struggled to come out of carpark as mine is underground. couldnt reverse either, so had to leave by the side till towing company came. (can only use flatbed)

hope this helps!

sad to say, sometimes even i myself wonder why some gtr owners so high and mighty (not the bros at the meetup, but those i've never seen at the owners club). i've pulled up next to a couple of them .. wave hi.. and they either ignore or wind up the window. oh well :D

Insurance wise can look for Liberty. They specialise in insurance for cars in the higher range. I think now they got 5% discount or something.

Oh, I thought only the 2008 models have more severe gearbox issues, luckily yours is under warranty when it 'up lorry'!

Maintenance is very expensive though..

2009 black edition.

performance car niah. gotta pay 2 play.

first time buying spork car ah? is lie dat 1 lah, then when u drive it can showoff 2 others n tell them that u spend so much $$$ on maintenance mah chicken feet LOL

Oh, I thought only the 2008 models have more severe gearbox issues, luckily yours is under warranty when it 'up lorry'!

thats why i prepare you in advance. some bros do their servicing at every 5k km also ... but i rarely drive hard so no point for me.

(and sadly, servicing a lambo is cheaper than a gtr ... hahaha, but of course, entry price much higher)

oh forgot 1 more .. my dashboard lights died so they had to replace the entire dashboard cluster last year. and mileage restarted from 0km. haha .. it says 20k km done, but in actual fact, its already about 50k km ...

thats why i prepare you in advance. some bros do their servicing at every 5k km also ... but i rarely drive hard so no point for me.

(and sadly, servicing a lambo is cheaper than a gtr ... hahaha, but of course, entry price much higher)

oh forgot 1 more .. my dashboard lights died so they had to replace the entire dashboard cluster last year. and mileage restarted from 0km. haha .. it says 20k km done, but in actual fact, its already about 50k km ...

Nod, while doing my research, I saw that some bros recommend doing every 5k km. Woah even lambo servicing is cheaper! While my ex-car was towed back previously past the lambo workshop, there must at least be 20 lambos in there :P

20k km, can save the dealers some work in 'adjusting' the odo next time haha

just buy.....enjoy for a few months, take it to track and sell...in my opinon not a long term keep car...