Noisy sound from the front drive shaft

Ben50

After 24 months, my Toyota Pinic gave me problems.

I heard noisy sound from the front when I negotiated corners.

BM found both drive shafts were faulty...replaced under warranty.

I was lucky that this problem happened within the warranty period.

I just hope this problem won't appear 2 years later.

Many years ago, my Honda Civic also gave me this front drive shaft problems.

It happened again for my second Honda Civic.

Do front drive cars have this problem?

Or only some models have this problem?

Common known problem for most power steering car.

My JDM corolla also kenna this problem and got it replaced closed to 3rd year.

Heard from some friends that to prevent the drive shaft problem, try not to turn when stationary and try not to hit the kerb while parking.

Not sure any other make have such issue too ?

My old civic failed me twice with the same problem similar to yours but I was not as lucky as you. Got to come out with the repair cost from my own pocket. [bigcry]

My mechanic told me that it could be the MSCP that is causing the problem.

Now I try to negotiate slowly when going up or down the corners of MSCP. Can't do much as the carparks that near my home are mostly MSCP.

Trust you got your replacement FOC under warranty.

Thank you for your advice, bro.

always check the dust cover near to the wheels... once broken, chances r the problem will excabrate to the drive shaft.

Sorry to learn that you kenna twice at own cost.

Guess we have to drive slower when going up or down the corners of MSCP.

You mean dust cover can be broken easily?

What is the material of this dust cover?

Edited by Ben50

After 24 months, my Toyota Pinic gave me problems.

I heard noisy sound from the front when I negotiated corners.

BM found both drive shafts were faulty...replaced under warranty.

I was lucky that this problem happened within the warranty period.

I just hope this problem won't appear 2 years later.

Many years ago, my Honda Civic also gave me this front drive shaft problems.

It happened again for my second Honda Civic.

Do front drive cars have this problem?

Or only some models have this problem?

all cars have this problem one lah...

becos when u turn the steering,it will create wear and tear mah....nod.gif

rubber EDPM ... yup, I broke the ones on my ex Nissan more then daewoo

and you tot korean cars were bad. muahahahaha.

How much did u spent per change ?

Heard Corolla will be about $2K if done at Borneo and about $1K at outside workshop.

My old civic failed me twice with the same problem similar to yours but I was not as lucky as you. Got to come out with the repair cost from my own pocket. [bigcry]

My mechanic told me that it could be the MSCP that is causing the problem.

Now I try to negotiate slowly when going up or down the corners of MSCP. Can't do much as the carparks that near my home are mostly MSCP.

Can we replace the rubber ourselves....

or we need to go to the workshop for replacement?

Will mechanic checks for you during servicing?

nope... it's a dust cover need to remove certain pins... unstrap the existing one. not easy but all outside workshop should b able to do it... it's very primitive.

What will be the cost to replace the dust cap?

Can't the car manufacturers use better quality material?

To replace the drive shafts every 2 years is very siong leh.

nope, u dun hv to replace drive shaft every 2 years. seriously. just dun sar the steering wheels too tight. and when u go for regular servicing and whn the car is lifted, ask mechanic to check undercarriage for you. exhaust pipe, dust cover, etc

i replaced only 1 pairof drive shaft each for nissan & daewoo for the 10 years lifespan. so really no worry.

Can we replace the rubber ourselves....

or we need to go to the workshop for replacement?

Will mechanic checks for you during servicing?

==================================

The rubber boot can only b changed by removing the CV joints(drive shafts).

Due to labour costs, might as well wait till the CV's start to make the "tok tok" sound. Then just change all at once.

Strangely my old toyotas' rubber boot was noticed broken abt 6 years back (1 year after I bought the car) but the CV joints r still very good till today. No sound at all when turning.

Since I bought the car, I never did any greasing of the CV's.

I don't know for how many years the previous owner used them but if my CV ever do fail, I sure wud like to know what type of CV they were. I will definately try to get the same kind as they seem damm solid. [thumbsup]

I wud suspect they r original made in japan toyota parts. [thumbsup]

Edited by Pisces69

I can't remember. It was done at least 3-4 years back. Think it was about max $500 inclusive of parts and labour.

If you're interested, I can check with my mechanic on the exact cost.