Peugeot 206

Sujoy

Hi everyone, got my eyes on a '00 206 1.4M, anyone have valuable experiences and feedbacks regarding this car?

I have not owned this car before. But I have a friend owning one.

+ Good handling

+ Design

- Parts may not be easily available

- Occassional hiccups with the electronics

- Space

- Interior finishing is not exceptionally top-notch. Creaks from plastic panels may surface (esp so for a 6 year old car).

Heard that the 206 is gonna be produced in Malaysia under the NAZA Brand...

I guess parts wouldn't be a problem then...

But honestly, I guess with that move, the Peugeot 206 won't be such a rare breed anymore..lose its exclusivity i suppose...

I think it is dreadful Peugoet has allowed NAZA to do such a thing with their cars. It just completely dilutes any trust the brand has with customers whom paid a premium to own one. God knows what else they will franchise next to NAZA or any "char par lang" manufacturer across the causeway - maybe the 307 or the 407 is next? YUCK!!

I much rather buy a Picanto - at least I know KIA aint gonna franchise it to some bargain basement manufacturer whom will rebadge it and sell for less then a Kancil in Malaysia. [thumbsdown]

Definitely, I heard people are looking to buy the Peugeot badge from the distributor there to swap already. But like all imported car parts, its not cheap. Pug owners venturing across the Causeway better remove your badge and keep first. [laugh]

yarlor, sure SG peugeot badges kena gone missing over there, liao. [laugh]

Lets be fair [;)] I'm sure MY peugeot owners are also at risk. I pity those who bought the Pug 206 in MY before the Naza came out, instant devaluation of their premium Conti hatchback.