FD engine noisy

Scoutckl628

I own a 1.8 Honda Civic (FD2) for less then 3 weeks. Recently then i realised that after i start the engine, the noise can be quite loud. I want to know is it normal? Previously I drove a lancer and the engine noise is not as loud. But when i sit inside close the door, the noise is at acceptable level. Is there something wrong with my car?

hi, not sure how loud is loud when you mentioned the noise can be quite 'loud'. sat and drove my co-worker's fd2, noticed that it is nosier than my si fei lou. but not really very 'loud'. I thought could be problem with sound insulation.

The 1.8 is known as FD1 fyi.

It's normal for FD Civics, cold start the idling is about 1500rpm.

The high idling and EGR allows our engine to be warmed up very fast.

Try timing the duration it takes for the water temp indicator to reach normal operating level. Usually when i reach ground floor from 4th floor MSCP it's warmed up already. [;)]

I own a 1.8 Honda Civic (FD2) for less then 3 weeks. Recently then i realised that after i start the engine, the noise can be quite loud. I want to know is it normal? Previously I drove a lancer and the engine noise is not as loud. But when i sit inside close the door, the noise is at acceptable level. Is there something wrong with my car?

Better get it check with KM asap. [:)]

Bro tnks for all the reply.... been busy these few days so no time to chk.

Yup I got my ride from a PI (Pinxxxx). They promise to deliver within 14 working days after loan approval. For my case, lucky there's no delay and really got it within the 14 working days. Only slight delay is the side indicator which stock only arrive in late Dec. So will have to go workshop to install again. Maybe will go and chk on the engine noise again.

After 3 weeks of driving, not so happy with this ride. First the petrol not as good as indicated, the only add on now is the 17" and full tank can only travel 520km for highway, so if between highway and city no need to say liao, lagi worst. Previous Lancer with 40L can travel same mileage.

2nd thing is recent kenna knock by a bike on my side mirror, after that the auto function of my right side glass door went crazy. When i try to press the button to roll the glass up, after the glass reach the top it went down again.....sigh...

3rd the boot. So troublesome with a key hole or button to open the boot, everytime muz open the door and press the handle.

4th the clock. Since mine is not a factory fitted stero, the clock is shown in the DVD set, so if i switch on the DVD, the clock is missing. Only if i on the radio then the clock will be shown.

5th the workshop. Lousy workshop and lousy skill of the mechanic. Can u i was driving back home halfway after my 1st service, i realised all my internal lighting is gone and my alarm was mulfunction. To rectify that, i need to go back the next day, so much time spend just after a normal service. Cant be trusted if i will to do a major service.

I dont know do other bro out there has the same encounter as well.... anyway just hv to leave with it, maybe will go to my own workshop for servicing instead.

Hi Scoutckl628,

For your side window, it's a common problem. For your case, see if the PI workshop is willing to do something for you. The prob is due to rubber lining on the side of the glass being too "siap". So the increasing friction when the window is winding up makes the motor think that something is stuck (like a finger/hand), so it auto winds down. For me, i spray some silicon spray and the thing works fine!

As for the clock, I had it when the stock integrated HU was still there. Miss the clock a bit when i changed HU, but after a while, just forgotten about it. See watch/handphone/ask passenger [laugh]

The alarm/lighting problem that you encountered, how was it rectified? Care to share more?

based on my past experience, Vtec engine in low rpm, no much different in noisy, once vtec kick in, it's quite noisy [:p]

Imuya,

For the window is that so simple? But how come the 1st 2 weeks of even that day before the knock it is still ok leh? Anyway will take note of yr suggestion and will let the technical know if they cant fix the problem.

For the clock, agreed wz u just hv to base on mobile/watch etc but u know lah, gals very problematic, so keep on hearing my gal complaining, just feel like giving her a slap sometimes.... [lipsrsealed]

Frankly speaking the alarm issue, i also dont know how was it settle. On that day itself, both the original imobiliser and the fitted alarm all when on, thinkis bcos of the lighting problem and they sense that the door is not closed, so alarm when on. For the imobilier alarm, muz use the original key to lock the door, and unlock using the key again. For the fitted alarm, normal way by putting in the key and press the "red button" usually at the side under the steering. But i tried both ways, some how after i used back the alarm button, the sirent goes on again, so no choice that night can only use key to lock door.

The next day dont know why when i was with the technician, the problem does not exist anymore.... [hur] so if u ask me i also dont know why? stupid car....