Driving with one arm in cast....legal?

Boyboy

hey all, i just dislocated my left elbow, arm's in a cast now. swopped car with my dad cos there' no way i can change gear (and still expect to steer) with only my right hand. just wanna check, any legal issues? i can signal as per normal.

auto or manual doesnt matter...

legal or not doesnt matter...

what really matters is ... wld u be able to drive in a safe manner?

IMHO, i wld take public transport cos nothing is absolute & i wouldnt want to be a safety hazard to other road users.

eh... by law, i think suppose to drive with both hands on steering wheel.

but i guess, they not very strict on this ruling. trouble will come only when you get into accident and it wun matter who bang who cuz u r in the wrong and can't claim insurance.

make the right choice

I'm driving with one hand sly.gif, the next hand always on the arm rest laugh.gif

Anyway,whatever u do ,dont get caught or dont endangered others. Your disadvantage is a cast arm,so you r not fit to drive.

Your reaction time will be compromised.

Why not just relax and take BMW till your arm heals? Dislocation 3 weeks in cast only.

hey all, i just dislocated my left elbow, arm's in a cast now. swopped car with my dad cos there' no way i can change gear (and still expect to steer) with only my right hand. just wanna check, any legal issues? i can signal as per normal.

can execute u-turns, those extreme turns with ease? 3 point turns... with 1 hand, i think u are compromising on safety leh.. its ur own personal safety along with ur OC.. not forgetting the other road users on the road...

The answer is yes. that's why i only concerned with the legality issue.

thanx to all for the advice [:)]

can leh.. by default, when in mscp or maneuvring, i use 1 hand only. cruising than i use two hands [sweatdrop].

then okie lah.. but then sometimes while driving on the roads, we see some bugger dun know how come swerve here and there... then got to quickly react...

think you call the TP provided in my previous post, easier right? [;)]

I have an injury to my right arm recently in the course of my work which a group of specialists in the hospital are treating me. Now, my right arm is placed onto an 'L' shaped plastic cast from my wrist up to just below my shoulder and strapped on at various locations and have to put on daily and even at night while sleeping except bathing.

They have assesed my condition and that my I might have to put on the cast permanently.

In order for me to sleep nightly with the cast without discomfort, I have to take sleeping pills to knock me off.

I contacted the Traffic Police and LTA as to whether it is legal or illegal for me to drive and should I stick a handicapped plate. I also explained to them that I have to lower the steering wheel while my right arm rests on my right knee and hold on the steering wheel at 6 o'clock position.

Their reply was that as long as I am able to do the above, they have no laws forbiding me from driving but I can't drive with only my left hand even on automatic vehicles.

I still drive but at a lower speed and prefer to take public transportation as it's not so uncomfortable.

Edited by Mikeyeo

this is the most useful reply so far. but i thank all for the advice given [:)]

can reverse park la, not neck dislocated leh, ca. still turn ard etc [dead]

weixiang, was going to take ur advice n call them with the number u provided until i saw bro mike's post.

ultimately, it's not just legal issues, but also to be extra aware of my new limitations. typing is really quite a chore now [laugh]

btw, how u kenna? that bad? [:(]

some bro mention dislocate 3 week cast ah! [bigcry]

my review is one week after accident nia, maybe upgrade to plastic cast also [nod]

anyway, while i was being loaded into the ambulance along 99 bends, some fxcker in a silver nissan cefiro horned my abulnce. hope when his time comes... [sly] . the bugger earned a good scolding from the ambulance officer and the riders who stopped to help me [laugh][laugh]

Hi Boyboy, I was climbing up a vertical catladder to the roof of a 30-storey building with a heavy backpack with cameras and tools inside to survey the roofs for building defects, etc. As I was pulling myself up with my right arm, I felt a sharp pain and noticed that the bone at my elbow jutted out.

Having been in the building consultancy field for over 20 years and took just 2 seconds to cause such injury. The specialists also discovered that the ligament between the wrist and elbow on my right arm has torn apart. I am righthanded but now have to use my left fingers on the computer keyboard. Suddenly, have to give up my passions in playing with my guitars and organ which I have been playing for over 30 years.

Well, accident happens anytime no matter how careful one is. Now on daily painkillers as a temporary reliever and have to undergo further specialists' treatments but the latter have indicated that they might not be able to save my arm.

Edited by Mikeyeo