Tyre puncture sealant in a can

oomph

thinking of ditching my spare tyre (odyssey) and get one of those canned puncture sealants.

i understand that these do help inflate the tyre and seal it temporarily, but wonder if anyone here got experience using this can give a review, particularly for the following:

- how long can the sealant last ?

- can the puncture be serviced the regular way (plugs/patch) and reused or is that prohibited ?

- storing the can itself - how long before it expires and doesn't work ?

I'm in favour for replacing the spare tyre with 2 cans of puncture sealants and a fire extinguisher AND a 4-channel amplifier :)

i bought the can at lim ah boy..at kelantan lane ther..1 can $7...bear in mind if tear is 2 wide...it will nt be able 2 fill up..

oso the can does not have enuf air 2 pump whole tyre.i bought a portable air compressor frm carrefour 2 supplement it..

expiry check the can lah...

If I'm not mistaken, Gad still has one in his car for a longggg while already. I have one for the past year. Still no rupture or explosion or leaks.

From what I know (I haven't personally experienced it yet), after using it, one should go to the tyre shop to get the punctured tyre replaced. The rims should also be cleaned of the stuff that was filled by the canister sealant, lest the rims get damaged by the chemicals. The stuff inside actually hardens up and seals up the puncture. I don't think the tyre can be reused due to the hardened substance coating the tyre.

wah then its quite expensive - result is to change 2 tires right for proper 'matching' ?

[reply]

If I'm not mistaken, Gad still has one in his car for a longggg while already. I have one for the past year. Still no rupture or explosion or leaks.

From what I know (I haven't personally experienced it yet), after using it, one should go to the tyre shop to get the punctured tyre replaced. The rims should also be cleaned of the stuff that was filled by the canister sealant, lest the rims get damaged by the chemicals. The stuff inside actually hardens up and seals up the puncture. I don't think the tyre can be reused due to the hardened substance coating the tyre.

Bro,

Your memory serve you well. Yes, I have 1 in my car. Used it and replenished it.

If the punctured is too wide, then the sealant will not helped much.

Below are my experience of which I 'managed' to use the can which I have kept in the boot for almost a year.

Findings:

1 Can is enough to pump 1 tyre (Assuming it is the same brand we are referring).

When you drive to the workshop to patch up the tyre, make sure you ask the mechanic to remove the tyre from the rim so that he can remove the chemical in the tyre.

My Experience:

Managed to drive my car to the tyre shop to patch up the hole. But the mechanic had a hard time trying to fix it as the chemical have harden within the tyre.

Drove off after the patch job. After a few days, realised my car car have slight vibration. Tried a few rounds of balancing but the tyre dun seems to be able to balanced.

Went to another workshop, after a few try (still cannot balance) the mechanic asked if I had pumped any chemical into the tyre. It was the chemical the causes the vibration as the tyre are not balanced.

The Chemical also causes the internal paint work of the rim to corrode as it was left inside for more than 1 month.

Hope the above info helps.

Well, largely it depends on you. If you've got $ to spare, change both left and right tyres. I'm not sure whether Gad did manage to change his repaired tyre after xxx days/weeks/months, but for me, I would rather change both. The wheels are the only thing separating you and the road. If the tyres are pretty brand new, then you may wanna consider using it till it's time to change but of course do careful monitoring.

Gad: Did you eventually replace that tyre or you are still driving with it?

Suggest yr jack up the car, so that it is easier for the can.Even 12volt tyre pump will find it very strenuous to inflate the tyre from ground up unless yr have the heavy duty type that generate very high air pressure of 350psi at low volume.Most of the 12volt elect air pump sold in supermarket or petrol kioks are just good for inflating beachballs and floats.

I am not sure about this brand, but similar products were introduced into the Spore marketplace about a decade ago but just fail to make any mark. The reason is the semi liquid tend to creat unnecessary forces resulting in wheel unbalance at high speed.

Edited by Yeobh

2 clear issues:

1. rim corrosion - is this just surface reaction of something deeper ?

2. unbalanced tire - this is probably more dangerous overall...

possibly good for commercial vehicles and taxis rather than "performance" personal rides I suppose.

EDIT - MORE DETAILS OF THE PRODUCT POSTED ABOVE

http://www.ride-on.com/prod_plt.asp

Ride-On Tire Protection System (TPS) Passenger & Light Truck (PLT) tire sealant formula is designed for use in cars and light trucks operating at speeds in excess of 30 miles per hour (50 km/h). The PLT formula will seal punctures in tubeless tires from perforating objects up to 1/8" in diameter that enter the tread area of the tire.

The PLT formula should be used for light trucks and cars that are expected to travel at highway speeds and where tire balance is of concern. Ride-On TPS PLT formula is the only product that has been independently tested by the world's leading DOT approved tire testing facility to not affect tire balance when tested on a dynamic tire balancer. Ride-On TPS PLT formula is the only tire sealant in the world that allows a tire that it has been installed in to be re-balanced if necessary on a dynamic tire balancer. NO OTHER SEALANT CAN MAKE THAT CLAIM!

Edited by oomph

That's why it's more advisable to drive to nearest tyre shop, get it cleaned and 'wormed'. Got $$$, buy new ones instead.

Hi, anyone tried the above product? What is the pro & con? Thinking to install it on my next tire replacement. [sly]

Guys, I've tried this and it works. It's called Slime Spair Tyre Kit.

http://www.slime.com/shop/smart-spair-15-minute-emergency-tire-repair-ss-pdq06/

Here's a video to check out:

With this, you don't even have to get your punctured tyre replaced/repaired by going to a workshop. Saves so much time and money.

Interested parties contact me directly at 9.8.2.2.2.0.0.4. I have a contact who distributes it!

Cheers to no more tyre puncture problems!

There has been some in fact, but I've not had a full answer yet so I need to clarify some more. Bridgestone has already said that it doesn't recommend repairing Z rated tyres at all anyway, but that a lot of tyres (not just their own) have spiral wound belts and damage to them could compromise the tyre's strength.

thinking of ditching my spare tyre (odyssey) and get one of those canned puncture sealants.

i understand that these do help inflate the tyre and seal it temporarily, but wonder if anyone here got experience using this can give a review, particularly for the following:

- how long can the sealant last ?

- can the puncture be serviced the regular way (plugs/patch) and reused or is that prohibited ?

- storing the can itself - how long before it expires and doesn't work ?

I'm in favour for replacing the spare tyre with 2 cans of puncture sealants and a fire extinguisher AND a 4-channel amplifier :)

Can know whats wrong with the spare tyre? If 2 tire flat at the same time and you got a spare tyre, you still got hope of driving home, if you know how?

those sealant had been here in the last 2 decades, and NO one can sustain the business long.

due to wheel balacing problem.

Just remember ,after you pump in the liquid you still the the tyre to be repair from inside at the same time remove all those chemical

but i think the tyre mech will show you some unhappiness due to very strong smelly chemical and spill ,

if you are kind tell them befor they remove