Do we give way to a flashing ambulance?

Nhyone

Yes, agree fully. But sometimes I observed that some ambulances did not speed up after the cars in front gave way... [hur] Really attend to emergency cases or flash for fun??

maybe it wants to turn out on the next junction..?

the fire truck cant speed man.. and the water in the back of the truck can cause serious inertia imbalanced when turning. so i think that the max spd they could travel. anyway i think emergency should stick to lane 1 no matter how fast or slow.. they cant be travelling on lane 2 or 3 and keep overtaking slower vehicle/slower traffic. it would waste much more critical time. [sunny]

especially if you give way and it doesn't overtake. You're not likely to give way after one such experience.

Is that your logic? Then just carry on lor! [laugh]

The one lying in the ambulance could be any one!

Edited by Fitvip

i may have sounded a little too harsh. no offence. peace.

Diplomatically speaking, its an undertone.

Generally speaking - just the right amount.

the flashing light is enough, cos they got these strobes all over the ambulance bumper,side front,back. so its suffice for car in front to see em. the horn is for horning ppl who are stubborn at giving way and as a warning while beating traffic light. anyway beating traffic light is not up to the driver but the paramedic which acts as vehicle commander. there has been cases where scdf emergency vehicle ran the red light and met with accident. and the scdf driver got jailed. so who would wanna risk beating the red light. > [crazy]

Private ambulance service is in a infant stage here. Some of these ambulance are a wee bit run down, the personnel are under-trained. There is a need to improve this area, a whole lot.

Where to start? Let's start from home, our home - not the four walls and a roof but what's inside the skin. That's it - ourselve! we need to recognise that these personnel are playing a important role in our lives. We may need them one fine day. We need to respect them as much as we must to ourself.

Honestly speaking and sadl to admit, the Malaysians(general pedestrain and driver) are more civic-mindedness. Whenever they see an ambulance coming fast, all would stop and make way for the ambulance to pass. Even traffic on the opposite direction do.

Here in Singapore, nobody gives a hoot. Ambulance speeding, ambulance not stopping at traffic light, ambulance driving like above-the-law, siren too loud. The mentality here is my property(read the car) is more important than even the love ones.

If you want to have an idea how emergency vehicles diving are like, stake out at The Strip in Las Vegas. Almost like every 15minutes, there is one zooming and wailing down the road.

It's not as bad as you think it is here. I've seen a fire engine drive through a red light at a junction before and all vehicles stopped for it to pass. Siren and lights were on and the driver was using hand signals to tell vehicles to stop and let it pass.

It's really up to the ambulance drivers on whether they want to drive past red lights at traffic junctions during the course of attending to emergencies. I'm sure drivers from all directions will gladly stop and give way. If they just stop at the red light and don't give any sign to show that they wish to drive through, definitely no cars will stop for them.

Do we give way to a flashing ambulance? It is on the first lane and its lights are flashing, but no sirens.

yes, i will gif way to them. as long as the ambulance is on 1st lane or which ever lane, got on light or no light or on siren or no siren. i will still gif way to them. u wont know inside the ambulance got people who need emergency treatment or not. maybe the ambulance travel halfway thru to hospital the siren or light become faulty or fail to work.

hmm i was wondering why they didnt make the traffic lights like in the US where by you can use a remote or something to change the traffic light in their favour loh. its useful i think. as for the gibin way on expressway i think realli hopless one la. i normally gib way to ambulance but try to cut back in on their backside so that i will hav a smooth trip all the way. i guess many of us are guilty of such stunt rite [sweatdrop]

Do we give way to a flashing ambulance? It is on the first lane and its lights are flashing, but no sirens.

my answer to you is very simple, if you notice any vehicle getting closer to you from behind, pls give way whenever it is safe to do so.

Private ambulance service is in a infant stage here. Some of these ambulance are a wee bit run down, the personnel are under-trained. There is a need to improve this area, a whole lot.

Where to start? Let's start from home, our home - not the four walls and a roof but what's inside the skin. That's it - ourselve! we need to recognise that these personnel are playing a important role in our lives. We may need them one fine day. We need to respect them as much as we must to ourself.

There was one time that I give way to one of this private ambulance as he was coming real fast behind me, with Flashing lights and he was high beaming all the way to cars in front of him, I decided to follow to see where he was going. My guess is will be SGH as I join the CTE from Balestier Rd towards City.

So instead of turning left at the Jalan Bukit Merah exit towards SGH, he turns right and I follow also. He was returning to the base along Jalan Bukit Merah, just after Hoy Fatt Rd. mad.gifmad.gifmad.gif I almost wanted to get down and approach their office and question the driver mad.gifmad.gifmad.gif

This is purely an abuse of privilege that were given to Ambulance Drivers. furious.giffurious.giffurious.gif

Having said this, I will still give way to ambulance but I just hope the relevant authority will look into this abuse of privilege unimpressed.gifPosted ImagePosted Image

......... that shouldn't be a qns at all...

where is ur common sense?... [hur]

What I've observed with flashing ambulances:

1. car doesn't give way, ambulance just follow behind

2. car doesn't give way, ambulance blasted him

3. car gives way, ambulance doesn't overtake

4. car gives way, ambulance overtakes

If you see case (1) and (3) happen, won't you get the impression that flashing light doesn't mean much?

Guys note that ambulance can only excess speed limit by 20-30kph and ambulance driver will proceed {beat red lite or speed up) only he is SURE it is safe to do so, if he had ani DOUBT exist , he will not proceed.

erm.. i read and read hor.. but whatever you wrote like doesnt corelate to what i posted leh.. Maybe you reply to wrong person?? lol..

my answer to you is very simple, if you notice any vehicle getting closer to you from behind, pls give way whenever it is safe to do so.

yes right..irregardless of ambulance,police car, fire engine etc, we drivers should practise courtesy, common sense to just give way ..

even a flashing ambulance on 2nd lane, I would give way whenever it's safe to do so

I'm amused by some of the qns posted by fellow forumers here.

Yes, we should. But I really hope they will switch on the siren for goodness sake. What's wrong with switching on the siren? Noise pollution? I feel it's better for them to switch it on....at least that will give drivers more time react and give way to them.

If ambulance in other countries can switch on the siren, why can't ours?

no lar, cannot like that say I rather they only ON the flashing light and only when needed like some ass blocking the way, then they ON the siren.... ours not a big country you know.... imagine if all ambulance (Pte & Garment) must on Siren, then sibei telok.... if suay suay that day a lot of case, you probably hear the siren none stop... and worst is those stay near SCDF station one... every few min one ambulance leave the station and ON the siren, they will all go nuts in no time, esp middle of the night... [sweatdrop] .... anyway, agree that some kind of arrangement they can have with LTA on the trafffic light... they can inform them ahead and the light will turn green when they approach the traffic light (for those Emergency Case one lar)..... if you notice... if got those farking VIP come to sillypore and got escort, they also drive through traffic light and the Candid camera will also be Off.... imagaine they drive through and kena the traffic light camera... [laugh].... don'w know who will kena fark... the TP or LTA....