Nissan Sylphy 1.5A vs Mazda 3 SP 1.6A vs Ford Focus

Carrot19

Hi any of you guys care to comment on the above cars.

I was contemplating on this 3 models based on 65k budget.

Below is some personal comments on this 3 model

Nissan Sylphy 1.5A

* Outstanding leg space for rear passengers. Think it should be the best in its class.

* Very comfortable driving position but had yet to test drive.

* Styling very Ah Pek especially the excessive chrome front grille.

* Short width tall Body looks kind of a awkward.

* 15" rim is a big turn off but as the car does not have a distinctive wheel arch and also the wheel well looks kind of a small to accomodate 17".

* Any of you guys can comment on the road noise and pick up?

* Personally think Black is the more sporty color as to hide that Ah pek look.

Mazda 3 SP 1.6A Sedan

* Very sporty outlook as compare to the pre face lift model. ( Except for the GT model)

* Interior design very sporty but limited legroom for both driver and passenger.

* Tried the pre facelift model very heavy road noise.

* Poor pickup and high FC anybody can comment on the new SP model. Saw from other forum that actually the new SP is lighter.

* Think the factory fitted sound system cannot play MP3 sounds

* Was really tempted to commit but CO insist that the lousy legroom is a big no no.

Ford Focus 1.6A Auto 4 Dr Sedan

* Really love the design but must have full bodykit on. Looks so executive and different from the normal cars on road. Looks like a S40 from rear.

* Superb handling but pick up sucks big time.

* Reasonable interior legroom compare to the Mazda 3 eventhough they share the same platform.

* Too bad RM is not bringing in the trend model anymore. Got to pay xtra 6K more for the Ghai model. Eventhough the additional option is quite worthwhile.

So apart from my personal view above. Can any of you guys give me your personal feel?

I did consider sylphy & mz3 when I was car-shopping then.

Both cars have their strong & weak points.

Sylphy : I wouldn't say it's ah pek. In fact, it looks like a mini-towkay car for yuppies. Looks better than many jap cars like latio, sunny, altis, city....

Only thing is, design of rear headlights is [shakehead]!

Other than that, very spacious & elegant interior(not sporty though!)

Biggest turn-off is the price! So din test drive.

Mz3: Present ride. Probably best-looking 1.6 car you can get for the price.

Sporty looks on outside & inside. Comparable build quality with sylphy.

Headroom & legroom are surprisingly gd, though not as good

as sylphy. Reputed to be very reliable.

Power wise, not grossly underpowered due to VVT. Shd be enuf for sg roads.

At speeds [:)]

Edited by Redboy

I drive a SP mz3.Leg room really small meh? I thought it is quite ok liao and im around 1.73m, not that tall but not that short also. Should be taller than ur SO. Anyway im not that experience with cars. Never tested any other cars but got sit in altis before. Only tested mz3 and got the car liao. lol Follow ur heart!

Sound proof for mz3 is actually quite good liao. Dont compare to contis.

FC is ok nia. Im light footed but dont know why alway around 10-11km/l nia. Not sure why.

What u mean by mp3 sounds? connect mp3 to ur stereo ah?

Anyway, u are quite right about focus and S40. If u look closer, mz3 focus and S40 look quite similar from behind coz "The Axela is based on Ford's global C1 platform, which was developed by Volvo and is shared with the latest European Ford Focus and Volvo S40."

I guess both focus and mz3 pick up slow coz both are overweight.The pick up can be quite annoying. But you can actually use the manual overide to assist a little.

follow ur heart!

Last time my boss fetch me around with his ford focus, behind and front leg room imo quite cramp, some more I only 1.68 m [:p]

Although I am not Anti-ford, I wouldnt suggest

this choice.

Ever drove and sat in my friend's 1.6L Ghia S/R before.

Pickup is very slow and really have to step

on it to see some good accerleration.

Air con is very poor (Ghia comes with Digital Dualzone Control)

Can hardly feel any cool air when sitting at the rear.

The rear Seat Head rest is very lousy. Always, hit upon your

Neck unless you raise it higher.

Also the rear roof is very low( Even made worst by roof mounted

3rd brake light). I always brushed my hair against the roof

and my friend is geting worried that the roof will be

blackened or strained with Gel in a matter of time. [shakehead]

Overall comment is negative ( my personnal opinion )

The Poor Aircon really turns me off.

However, there are also several nicies typical of Conti.

Large LCD Center display in the meter console which

shows infomation like : Trip, total, balance, F/C, Time/Date

Gear Position and even Door Ajar info spelt out on words.

Front Foot Well light on upon door ajar are some of the

extra features.

Edited by Godfinger

Hey thanks for the feedback.

Sorry I meant can the factory fitted sound system play MP3 songs burn in CDs?

Ya do agree the rear headrest kind of a low. Think its more of a neckrest then headrest.

Personally think the plastic quality is not so good but comments from some car magazine says otherwise. Is the air con that lousy? I seldom seat at my colleage's back seat so didn't realise that.

But anyway unless RM brings in the Trend model again dun think will consider the Focus unless can find a second hand one.

what abt axio?

Axio PI leh. Never have good impression with them. FYI me used to be a new car salesman for 2 yrs knows all the tricks in their sleeve.

But saw the corolla model very different from Axio guess that will be the one BM is bringing in. Maybe if really seriously can consider waiting for the BM ones. Saw the ad by BM today they have reduced the Altis price by I guess 1k with all option in whereby you need to pay previously. Think it's some sign that BM is clearly the final patch of Altis.

Another new model which worth considering maybe its the New Lancer which will be launch anytime soon I guess. Since C&C is giving free upgrades to the lancer also.

hi there... juz to give u more choice... recently been to champion motor and saw the SX4 it looks very stylish on the outside and ample space on the inside... the cabin build looks solid too... but i test drove the swift so nv test drove sx4...

What about other 1.6L cars, like what I'm driving now, Renault Megane II.....solid car but then pickup slow. Its not an issue to me for pickup as compared to comfort. Go test drive!

lol pple looking for sedan wor... how come suddenly pop 1 SUV?? how bout liana?[rolleyes]

how about toyota altis? within ur budget and furthurmore its "the people's" car. u wun go wrong with it.. [;)]

Edited by Mysteria

thou the name is SX4 its actually a FF hatchback yet it has the rear space and look of SUV and its ard 60k can consider if u wan something different and able to accomodate 17".

if wan to choose between the 3 i would say a ford focus due to ncap 5 stars and the chasis used in wrc [thumbsup]

Edited by Impala

if i not wrong 6 mth save $38 nia right 1 mth only ~$6 and the payload of sylphy is unsastifying for 1.5cc at 355kg (discuss already at other thread)

Edited by Impala

Road Tax is minimal saving only. It's the FC, like what Chuablalan said.

Suddenly I see too many M3SP on the road, as compared to 2 yrs ago.