Neon Tetras - Where to get?

Gilahonda

east side can go pasir ris farmway 2... there are quite a number of fish farms there.

Edited by Strat

no. Seaview Aquarium is a farm. do a google search for the address.

I suggest you call Y618 before going down as they may run out of stock by night time.

I think Gan is more into breeding their own Aro now but still sell tetras.

if add in the petrol cost, I think its still more economical to get from LFS.

Thanks for the update on Gan.

since you are into planted tank, why not consider keeping Altum angel? they are the king of angelfish and look very majestic in a planted tank. and can only get them from July-Sep season only.

haha, i got bad experience with angel fish..

when i was young, my father used to sail, each time when he came back..

he will bring me an angel fish..

then put the fish in a cup with a spoon..

being young and ignorant.. i will use the spoon and stir the poor fish..

better not..

anyway my wife seems to enjoy the fishes too, although we only have 4 rummy nose, 1 clown larch..

each day, she will sit there and watch them play

east side can go pasir ris farmway 2... there are quite a number of fish farms there.

oh really, i stay in the east. didn't know there are fish farms..

thanks for sharing

haha, i got bad experience with angel fish..

when i was young, my father used to sail, each time when he came back..

he will bring me an angel fish..

then put the fish in a cup with a spoon..

being young and ignorant.. i will use the spoon and stir the poor fish..

better not..

anyway my wife seems to enjoy the fishes too, although we only have 4 rummy nose, 1 clown larch..

each day, she will sit there and watch them play

oh really, i stay in the east. didn't know there are fish farms..

thanks for sharing

btw, how big is your tank? tetras are schooling fish. they will feel stress if keep in too small a number.

I got 2 tanks, both are 1ft+ 35-40cm.

Tank 1, planted. Intend for rummy nose and shrimps.

Tank 2, only floating plants, intend for betta, cardinal tetra and some redhorn snail.

I got 2 tanks, both are 1ft+ 35-40cm.

Tank 1, planted. Intend for rummy nose and shrimps.

Tank 2, only floating plants, intend for betta, cardinal tetra and some redhorn snail.

cool. do post some pictures of your tanks setup here.

and do note that your shrimps may become snacks for the rummy nose.

cool. do post some pictures of your tanks setup here.

and do note that your shrimps may become snacks for the rummy nose.

Tank 1:

waiting for my co2 refill, collecting on sunday..

14383091597_fbc4d08c38.jpg14382931059_cc3d362b5b.jpg

14566160431_336951caf1.jpg

that clown larch, we call it kurty 2. lazy and always missing in action.

so far, rummy and shrimp in harmony..

although shrimp only left 1..

as of now, trying to stable the plants first before i put more fishes in.

i ordered some exotic plants from the north, collecting tomorrow.

as for tank 2..

nothing yet..

tank setup done but no fish yet.

Tank 1:

waiting for my co2 refill, collecting on sunday..

14383091597_fbc4d08c38.jpg14382931059_cc3d362b5b.jpg

14566160431_336951caf1.jpg

that clown larch, we call it kurty 2. lazy and always missing in action.

so far, rummy and shrimp in harmony..

although shrimp only left 1..

as of now, trying to stable the plants first before i put more fishes in.

i ordered some exotic plants from the north, collecting tomorrow.

as for tank 2..

nothing yet..

tank setup done but no fish yet.

nice!! any reason why you place a cover on top of the tank?

I find the rock took away the focal point of your setup. maybe removing it will make it nicer. [:)]

nice!! any reason why you place a cover on top of the tank?

I find the rock took away the focal point of your setup. maybe removing it will make it nicer. [:)]

I don't know.. I'm afraid the fishes will jump out of water?? Will They?

Yeah, Maybe I will place the rock in tank 2.

I don't know.. I'm afraid the fishes will jump out of water?? Will They?

Yeah, Maybe I will place the rock in tank 2.

Given enough hiding place, fish wont jump out. Covering it up will raise the temp which is no good for plants.

OK, noted.

I will remove it tonight.

Yeah, plants should be more than suffice.

I order around 10pots from Malaysia, They really got more types compared to us..

Even pets like gecko lizard, tarantula, snake...

Amazing.. too bad, wife don't like lizard or I would like to keep one.

Correct name is clown loach. Better to get him a kaki. They tend to bully smaller fishes and those with long tails and fins if solo.

oh, i thought clown loach is amiable and peaceful in nature?

yeah, i did notice it bully the other fishes (i also don't know their names) [laugh] , smaller than it.

(the ones, black and white, tank 1 got 2 type - 1 slimmer, 1 fatter..

i read that they help to clean up the algae and mess at the bottom, hence i probably will get another 1 for tank 2.

Tank 2 is placed near the window, hence i forsee lots of algae.

yeah, i did notice it bully the other fishes (i also don't know their names) [laugh] , smaller than it.

i read that they help to clean up the algae and mess at the bottom, hence i probably will get another 1 for tank 2.

with your tank size, you should get smaller fish so that it will make your tank appear bigger.

try getting oto, Mosquito Rasbora or galaxy.

do note, the smaller the tank size, the more challenging it is to control the parameters like co2, temp, fert, etc esp yours is a high tech setup.

oto1a.jpg

MosquitoRasbora1.jpg

danio-galaxy-rasbora.jpg

with your tank size, you should get smaller fish so that it will make your tank appear bigger.

try getting oto, Mosquito Rasbora or galaxy.

do note, the smaller the tank size, the more challenging it is to control the parameters like co2, temp, fert, etc esp yours is a high tech setup.

oto1a.jpg

MosquitoRasbora1.jpg

danio-galaxy-rasbora.jpg

Bro, you advice too late.. I made a very grave mistake..

I went to y618 and hoot 10 plants at a go..

Tomorrow will have another 10..

siao liao

For tetras is South Amarican fishes. Get Corydoras. Small catfishes wil clean up the tank batter n dun disturb other fish. Clown Loach looks nice but is aggressive n not from S.America.

Plants get like Amazon sword etc then all from same waters. Acidic then all compatable n easier to keep.

Tank too near window wil get too much sun n get too hot.

Big tank is easier to keep than small tank. Mine was a 4ft. Planted tank(Dutch tank) this was like >20 yrs ago when few pple kept planted tanks here.

Important is good lighting n fertilizer for the plants.

Yes tetras r small but colourful. Get a group. A 4 ft tank can just cardinals abt 100 wil look nice in a planted tank..

Or mix a few species of tetras of 20-30 fish each type. tetras all prefer acidic so easier to get only fish n plants from one region like S.America(amazon).

Lighting is also important to show the fish colours n to help the plants grow well. Substrate also important. Peat moss is good for plants.

Filtration also need to set up carefully. Most plants dun like too much water movement. And never use undergravel filters.

Now gor metal Halide lights which is very good for plants. Acitinic white/blue also has a full spectrum for plants. Otherwisw need good full spectrum floursent tubes.

I had the tubes inside the tank cover but all ballast outside cos of the high heat.

hahaha.... you too kan cheong already. should spend 50% of the time on planning first. try not to keep more than 3 sp of plants in one setup. less is more for planted tank in my opinion.

else, it will end up looking like a rojak tank.