KAH Motors servicing questions

Fatfat

I'm not sure about bringing EO to KM, but just recently my FD3 has IMA problems and I sent it to Km and they quoted the PowerDrive unit at $5k which is dead and need replacement. I asked if can bring my own parts, but the SA said No!! I offered to pay labor costs but they dont allow!!

Anyone else has this issue with KM??

I'm not sure about bringing EO to KM, but just recently my FD3 has IMA problems and I sent it to Km and they quoted the PowerDrive unit at $5k which is dead and need replacement. I asked if can bring my own parts, but the SA said No!! I offered to pay labor costs but they dont allow!!

Bring your EO for $20 surcharge.  Is your IMA on warranty?

If you supply your own parts how are they able to provide you with the after-replacement warranty?

The source of your parts are unknown to them. If parts come from the AD they are able to track and send it back to Japan for a 1 to 1 replacement. If after replacement your own parts give problem they won't be liable if you know what I mean. They just don't want to deal with parts brought down by the customer. Ppl sometimes bring used parts and what's not and end up affecting more parts leading to unwanted big issues. Car owners think they might save some money but might end up spending even more.

Just let the AD workshop handle it. And this is not some common issue that other workshops can fix.

If you supply your own parts how are they able to provide you with the after-replacement warranty?

The source of your parts are unknown to them. If parts come from the AD they are able to track and send it back to Japan for a 1 to 1 replacement. If after replacement your own parts give problem they won't be liable if you know what I mean. They just don't want to deal with parts brought down by the customer. Ppl sometimes bring used parts and what's not and end up affecting more parts leading to unwanted big issues. Car owners think they might save some money but might end up spending even more.

Just let the AD workshop handle it. And this is not some common issue that other workshops can fix.

Thank you for trying to help explain.

Of course we know if we bring own parts will not expect KM to warranty the part or even if it affect other parts, but we are talking about exact part no.replacement.

KM being the Auth.Disty play such game will not have respect of Honda users, as it is, Km Ubi has very bad reputation from forum here as well as other sites.

My point is, they stick to company guide to protect themselves and not Honda users!!

So how to win loyalty to more customers?? And we are not talking about $50 or 500, but 5,000 for just ONE part repair, is it a small price for a 2nd hand car.??

Now

And by the way, I just spoke to KM SA, he informed that replacing the defect part (PDU assembly, in this case) does not mean the problem is solved, as other parts MAY have problem. And to check indepth ~ if this happens, they need further 6~8hours further diagnosis and charge $80/hour.

This will set me back total $6k if not more!!

Of course we know if we bring own parts will not expect KM to warranty the part or even if it affect other parts, but we are talking about exact part no.replacement.

KM being the Auth.Disty play such game will not have respect of Honda users, as it is, Km Ubi has very bad reputation from forum here as well as other sites.

My point is, they stick to company guide to protect themselves and not Honda users!!

So how to win loyalty to more customers?? And we are not talking about $50 or 500, but 5,000 for just ONE part repair, is it a small price for a 2nd hand car.??

Now

And by the way, I just spoke to KM SA, he informed that replacing the defect part (PDU assembly, in this case) does not mean the problem is solved, as other parts MAY have problem. And to check indepth ~ if this happens, they need further 6~8hours further diagnosis and charge $80/hour.

Bro,

Firstly, you have bought a lemon Honda Hybrid car which requires repair. Since it is no longer under warranty, KM will naturally take no responsibility if the parts are not supplied by them. Thats a given for most, if not all, Authorised dealers in Singapore. Maybe you can let me know which AD will honour the replacement warranty if parts are brought in by customers.

Secondly, you mentioned that the part that needs replacement is $5k. Would you have trusted a WS outside to handle the replacement of this magnitude? If yes, then you dont have to go back to KM already.

If that price is too high to pay for a 2nd hand car, why don't you sell off this lemon and get another car? You'll have to weigh the cost of replacement vs getting another car to see if its worth it to do the replacement.

Thirdly, do you really think outside ws will do an in-depth complete diagnosis of your car without charging a single cent? What if you don't do the replacement works with them? They would have sunk in manhour cost to check your car. Its highly unlikely they would do it for free if you asked for it. They will probably replace the parts involved and end of story.

With all that said, you seem to have already made up your mind not to do it with KM. May the force be with you for the replacement.

Edited by Buadongdong

Now

I think everyone wants to safeguard their interest. Nothing wrong with that. Did you make it clear to them that you will bear the responsibility should the part fail after replacement? I think the $5K is inclusive of labour charges to do dismantling & assembly and warranty other dan the part itself. The part doesn't crawl itself into place and install itself. Time, labour, tools, equipement all these are cost to them. You must remind yourself the warranty on your car has expired.

And the SA is right. Replacement of one part does not guarantee the issue will be resolved. There may be other issues. This I agree with them as it's an old car we are looking at and not talking about new. Further testing to make sure you do not keep going back to them is not a bad idea if you think about it.

Calm down. What they offer to you is an option or options. They did not shove it down your throat and force you to accept their terms. If you have other means of fixing it you can always do so. Other workshops might not be as thorough as the AD workshop. And you may have to keep going back to get issue resolved. And ppl do expect you to pay for their time and labour charges.

Now

To be fair to KM, I don't think any AD allows owners to bring in their own parts for them to fix. Some ADs don't even allow EO to be brought in which at least Kah allows albeit with a $20 surcharge.

Think you have no choice but to let KM do it cos IMA technology not many outside workshops can do it (at least not that I've heard of), good luck!!

Just curious, for new cars don't they cover the first year servicing at least?

Why are you guys bringing in your own oils.

warranty over for this car 2010!

Just curious, for new cars don't they cover the first year servicing at least?

Why are you guys bringing in your own oils.

Dunno leh. I also wondering. Perception that the EO they bring are of better quality and deem better for their engine lor. Probably they see Shell Helix EO no up.

KM charges $120 for a bottle of SHU.

I go Giant buy 1 bottle $40 nia. Plus $20 service fee still $60 cheaper.

Ok.. I am cheapskate. 

[:p]

I'm referring to those who say they r going in for 1k servicing, ain't oil and labour provided since it's first year.

Long long time ago, KM did not give free servicing for the first year or 2.

Only now they give free servicing.

I'm referring to those who say they r going in for 1k servicing, ain't oil and labour provided since it's first year.

yes

KM charges $120 for a bottle of SHU.

I go Giant buy 1 bottle $40 nia. Plus $20 service fee still $60 cheaper.

Ok.. I am cheapskate. 

[:p]

Long long time ago, KM did not give free servicing for the first year or 2.

Only now they give free servicing.

you maybe buying unsealed bottle as experienced and different in color.

The label at times is the same as quality differs a difference

@buadongdong

Bro, thanks but no thanks for your comments. I find it unhelpful and full of ignorance:-

1. Who can term a car a lemon except the owner himself? Reading my thread here sounds like it? Do u know how full details and condition of my car? Your conclusion that its a lemon is simply baseless.

As for AD not accepting parts from outside, im not just talking about non Honda parts but genuine used ones. Understand they have rules but it also point to the fact inflexibility for older cars.

2. The 5k PDU assembly was quoted by KM Sa and im just sharing for bros here to know! Hybrid parts (not just battery) is hell expensive if buy from KM. Whether to trust outside ws is individual risk and responsibility we have to take. Of course i know risk-cost and thats why im here to hear helpful tips from others too.

And by the way, i just send it to a Hybrid specialist ws. So dont think only AD can do the job...!!

I highly suspect KM management dun bring in other hybrid like PIs (selling like hotcakes now) as they have no confidence in their own KM service personnel??!!

Or had too much complaints in the past??

Your advise to sell off a lemon to get another, so that others and not me will suffer - is too much.

I won't do such a thing!!

3. Hello, i don't expect free diagnostics or labour even if finally parts are not replaced. Everyone has a cost in business, rental, utilities, manpower and IP, im a businessman myself!!

I dont need your force, but hope bros here can benefit if they are considering hybrids in next ride.

There is silver lining in every dark cloud!!

@buadongdong

Bro, thanks but no thanks for your comments. I find it unhelpful and full of ignorance:-

1. Who can term a car a lemon except the owner himself? Reading my thread here sounds like it? Do u know how full details and condition of my car? Your conclusion that its a lemon is simply baseless.

As for AD not accepting parts from outside, im not just talking about non Honda parts but genuine used ones. Understand they have rules but it also point to the fact inflexibility for older cars.

2. The 5k PDU assembly was quoted by KM Sa and im just sharing for bros here to know! Hybrid parts (not just battery) is hell expensive if buy from KM. Whether to trust outside ws is individual risk and responsibility we have to take. Of course i know risk-cost and thats why im here to hear helpful tips from others too.

And by the way, i just send it to a Hybrid specialist ws. So dont think only AD can do the job...!!

I highly suspect KM management dun bring in other hybrid like PIs (selling like hotcakes now) as they have no confidence in their own KM service personnel??!!

Or had too much complaints in the past??

Your advise to sell off a lemon to get another, so that others and not me will suffer - is too much.

I won't do such a thing!!

3. Hello, i don't expect free diagnostics or labour even if finally parts are not replaced. Everyone has a cost in business, rental, utilities, manpower and IP, im a businessman myself!!

I dont need your force, but hope bros here can benefit if they are considering hybrids in next ride.

There is silver lining in every dark cloud!!

Oops.. my bad for assuming the car to be a lemon. Please pardon my ignorance. Peace.

Lol what on earth just happened. That escalated real quick, didn't even have time to get popcorn.

Dont want to let u waste calories on popcorn la.. i apologise liao.. no show le.