Honda Stream VS OPEL Zafira

Shull

Bros,

I'm currently comparing between this 2 car..both cost around the 70k range..both is mid-size MPV..both 1.8L

Comparison as follow:

Stream:

Jepun made

well known Honda built and reliablity

Zafira:

Conti make

Better gear box

more gadgets

Just now went to test drive the Stream..so now i need to find out about the Zafira..

my concern is the following:

Reliablity

After sales service(ie, servicing cost, parts availablity, friendliness of the AD workshop etc)..

Resale value of OPEL

I'm currently driving the 2002 Civic..and i love every single second of it..but my family needs now increase to MPV sized car..to ferry my grandmother around during weekends..

Any comments is appreciated..

Thanks

STREAM. zafira will make you bleed. the cost will be more than 70+K in the long term. even if you sell early lose like crazy. just go with the flow and buy a common car. uncommon cars cost $$$. if opel is so good many more will be driving it. singaporeans are not stupid.

zafira thumbsup.gif..

as for servicing and stuff bout opel..

wait for Sony to come in and 'brief' u..

maybe he has a clearer pic..since he drives an opel as well sly.gif

well you pay for being exclusive lor. conti cars are never cheap to run. always cost more in the end. parts are ex cause of euro. and parts supply is also limited. I drove the lousy opel vectra before. the brake master pump cost me 500 in part cost alone. a corolla or honda is 100+ and no choice but to buy from agent hor cause the whole bloody singapore, no one else has the part. so either suck it up and pay or car sit idle.

hmmm..

how much does 1 servicing at opel's AD will cost?

but what makes me gian is that opel comes with 5 yrs warranty..compared to honda's 3 yrs

hey bro. both are very good cars. dont be put off by servicing and resale value.

Honda KM servicing isn't very cheap either.

However the new Honda Stream looks very good.

For my case, i prefer a uncommon car.

if serious, go down take a look and ask for maintenance cost schedule - some AD have costing drawn up to dispel myths abt high servicing costs. test drive oso hoh ... seriously consider the zaf not only from cost aspect, but oso from safety, handling angles too. come back and give us mini review leh.

STREAM. zafira will make you bleed. the cost will be more than 70+K in the long term. even if you sell early lose like crazy. just go with the flow and buy a common car. uncommon cars cost $$$. if opel is so good many more will be driving it. singaporeans are not stupid.

so you owned a conti car before? which one is so bad? at least I will know which one to stay away from...

how much will you lose between zafira and new stream if you sell early? do you have the figures?

geely is very uncommon you know.

edit.. oh yah sorry I saw your later post... a vectra...

Edited by Fresh

hi,

i feel that both cars are quite nice... in terms of looks i think stream holds the upper hand...

conti car tends to be more stable at higher speed i feel... but conti made cars... parts are more expensive and more diff to source...

1 of my friend test drive 3 mpv... wish, stream and carens...

and guess what she felt that carens is the best... =)

feedback for stream is quite powerful. but abit noisy =)

if you intend to buy stream and if you are buying from a PI.. i strong recon you to do some home work first... dun just look at the PI showroom itself... look at their service centre... and make sure they dun void your "warranty" if you want to service outside...

cause i just realise that my pi dun allow me to service my car outside.. hai~~ sad... have to bear with their service centre for few more times...

for sure the zafria will lose more. 2 scenarios.

1) under the old system where it was more worth while to scrap and buy a new car. export price of the opel and euro models are generally poor. because sri lanka, and other african countries prefer jap.so you take a hit on your body price.

2) sell locally which would be the likely case from now on unless taxes drop or some rule change comes about to make cars cheaper again. the demand for conti locally is usually poor. renaults for eg take a bigger hit.than an altis.ie you can calculate it as depreciation of a brand new car vs a 2 year old car. for most jap cars. talking about bread and butter cars like corolla, civic etc, not sports or high end cars, you will see that the used depreciation and new depreciation are close. for conti you can take some value off.up to 1k /year.

anyway in the ends its $$. things that be solved by $$ is not a problem. and how much you intend to bleed for a car.

tml morning i will most prob go and test drive the zafira..

test drove the stream just now..pick up very slow leh..as compared to my ES Civic..dont have the g-force feel when flooring the accelerator..even though it's 140bhp pulling a 1.4ton..maybe MPV all the same..

what i like abt the stream is the looks..damn gorgeous.. [thumbsup] anyway, i will get my stream from KM..also, i like KM Jurong Service centre guys..they provide very good service..so KM after sales is not a prob to me..

but zafira i like because it's ncap 5 star..and has got more than the std 2 airbags..

btw, how is the FC like for zafira ah?