Jetta 1.4TSi

Vicz

To me even it is 170BHP stpck is very good for the 1.4TSI engine.And it is a conti below the range of 100k plus it is a sedan car with so much BHP

NB, 2006. so far i spent only on 2 servicing. total up about $500.... which is about the same price per servicing when i was using my jazz. My mileage is about 39000 now and given my jazz, i would have gone back to KM at least 3 and going to the 4th times already (10,000km once), but VW only need to do 15,000km once. I would only need to go back again on 45,000km then. of cos u can say that a TSi may cost more due to the Turbo, but so far, my changes have proven that i don't even need to pay 1 ct on the repair and replacements.

When i go for servicing, the ang mo or his man would fetch me to MRT station in a Touran TSi, whoa.... u will get addicted to its rush baby!

Well, i don't support brands or models, as long as i love it or like it, its wonderful to me. [;)] with the 6 DSG and TSi in the Jetta, honestly, if my car is up 4 yrs now, i might go for it.

Edited by Vicz

seriously, i have test drove this car, but kind of dissappointed....

First of all, i do feel lag at low end rev......and it is only when the rpm hits like maybe 1.8k before u feel the pull......

second, this is a conti, and the least i expect is that it sounds like one....its damn noisy inside the cabin when u rev....no conti quietness at all.....

everything else probably is good, but the above 2 points plus the selling price really turns me off..... [:(]

u can do whatever re-map, yes, but being conti, the cost of doing such mods are going to be more expensive, just becos its conti. OMV is not that great either.

But the driving feel, and internal comfort is sure conti....however, as i am already turn off by the 2 pts given earlier....i do not think i will go for this car.

It is after all a small engine so it needs more rev for the pull to come in. In this case, 1800 rpm probably when the turbo kick in.

I guess you are looking for refinement/quietness ? Not all conti cars are quiet when you push it. It really depends on the particular model.

U do have 2 good points there, yes. think they should improve on the noise part.... but i personally feels that it is still a tad better than most japs liao....

i think 1.4litres... whatever, it will still shake ur butt somewhat. guess u may want to take a look at Lexus then [;)] but again, then u will say that price & jap again... it never ends. i always think that its just what u want thats all. 170bhp with this standard, i guess some thinking of T-jet may want to take a look. if u r thinking of cheap & quiet, go for camry 2.4. [;)]

May i ask you whats your current ride? Reason i ask is because you mention noisy and i would like to understand whats the reference. Noisy to one may be acceptable to another.

If its like noisy compared to a much luxury ride then those driving a 1.6 jap ride maybe find it acceptable. Just my feel.

me just driving ard in a 1.3l TC jap car, which is more noisy then the jetta for sure.

the thing is, the engine noise penetration into the cabin, is nowhere near refine....

and given that its supercharge and light pressure turbo...i would not expect it to be that noisy......

i feel the gti is more refine and less noisy.....stock to stock...

Fiat T-Jet used on the 500 Abarth, Grande Punto Abarth and Bravo.

The TSI used on the Jetta endowed it with a 0-100km/h in 8.1 secs but on a Golf GT it is 7.7 seconds !

Got company do ecu remap such that the hp increase from 170hp to 200hp and torque increase from 240Nm to 300Nm ! That's mighty impressive from a 1.4 litre engine.

I think the trend is towards smaller CC engine that can give the power of a bigger CC engine. In effect, you get the best of both worlds.

U do bring up good pt on ecu remap which is normally not offered on japs.

After ecu remap, perhaps it's one of most powerful small cc cars, better than the legendary SIR.

Finally, a small cc car to take on those pesky turbo cars in sprints! [thumbsup]

Anyway, I suppose FC is also respectable, rite? Better than jap 2.0/2.4 cars?

Edited by Redboy

the major thing is the depreciation, which is bad for brands like VW

the OMV value of the car is quite low comparitively

although it is a revoluntary engine, if u are lead footed, the FC i hear is not that impressive....better than GTI of course, but similar to a 2.0 if u drive hard - which the car kinda encourages u to

when u try to sell the car away after 3 years of use, be prepared for massive loss...

the second hand car dealers will probably take it back at a shockingly low price....

2nd hand car owners would have to worry about high costs of maintaining the TSI engine and high cost in euros of the parts....

seriously, it is a good car, the jap 2.4 camry for the same price will offer u a lower total running cost at the end of the day

Sometimes, when buy this type of car, it's mind over the head.

The driving exp is something which cannot be measured by money.

Just like buying an alfa. Once bitten by serpent, will never go back to japs despite lower running & maintenance costs.

If FC really same as 2.0 when driven hard, why not?

When driven hard, can go faster than 2.0 but drink same amt of petrol.

Edited by Redboy

No lah, even after remap, it is not better than the legendary SIR. In terms of hp/torque, yes, but I think the EK4 is lighter ? Also, for SIR, there's no need to wait for the turbo to "kick" in unlike the Bravo. I believe EK4 can hit 100km/h in 2nd gear, for the Bravo, probably need 3rd gear.

FC is quite good. Been driving for the past 3 days, around 80% highway I think ? I try to use 6th gear as much as possible and now getting around 12.5km/litre. From time to time, still rev abit.

I agree with u bro.

We have to agree that evetually its what u want. Power? refinement? smoothness? FC? everyone has his own priorities, there's no best of both world.

Why not people complain about the bumpy ride in a WRX or Evo then? because they want the hardcore feeling. Also sometimes people can't be sure the difference between Porn and arts too rite? ha ha....

Honestly don't expect much on the FC for VW or any of its equivalent, mine do only 10-11 for 1.6, about 50% expressways but used to stuck in congestions (mind u, not really jam but congestion). If FC is a concern, i always think that a jap like jazz or such should always be better... again, of cos its very much what u want from your car. For conti, Merc's FC is good. However, if not a need, don't even drive would be the best [laugh]

I am driving the Bravo T-Jet.

I must qualify that so far I been driving pretty mild, change to 6th gear whenever possible and I think around 80% high way cruising ?

But I do rev the engine once in a while though. [:p]

From the trip computer, it shows that the remaining fuel can last another 480km. The fuel meter is just slightly above 50% and I have travelled around 330km.

If really I can get more than 800km on a full tank, that's really really good !