Any bird lovers or owners?

Thelord

Hi all,

The story goes like this...

Last week i found a small mynah bird standing on the steps of a staircase so i approach the bird see see if its injured. Instead the bird open its mouth thinking i have food or something, and it doesnt fly. So i figured its still a very very young bird that fell off from the nest... Afraid that the bird will become cat's food so i brought the bird home. And then ive been feeding it ever since.

So everyday the bird just go whereever i go and it stands on my hands and shoulders but i cant leave it walking around the house because it shits everywhere! And i have a dog so i cant risk my dog eating the birdshit, So i bought a cage for the bird..

Then everyday the bird kpkb kpkb and makes alot of noise until i let it out of the cage to feed it. So i was thinking maybe i set it free! So i brought the bird to the field and the bird flew and flew for a few rounds and then landed infront of me! Then crows started to circle around us and from far can see cats looking at us. And so... the bird stand on my shoulder and we went home yet again.

i already have a dog and a hamster and i dont really have time to attend to the bird, everyday have to rush home thiking the bird will get hungry, wa really quite tiring.

Anyone here is a bird lover and willing to take in the bird? Or any advices? If i just leave it in the wild will it die? Normally birds will fly away even before u get near them but this one wont!

The little guy can't eat and drink on its own yet. To it, you're both mum and dad. Once it can eat and drink on its own, let it go in some reservoir park (fewer crows in these) where they're resident mynahs. They'll probably take him in (must be same colour -- the black ones will fight with the brown ones). I had one that could talk when I was a kid.

Erm, the bird can drink and bath on its own, i put a small bucket of water it will bath itself. But when it comes to food, the bird will open the mouth and wait only, sometimes when its really hungry i will leave the worms on the floor then the bird will automatic eat the worms.

Main problem is the bird dunno whats danger... i try to peekaboo the bird and i tried running very fast towards it trying to scare it. But then the bird just stands where it is blur blur looking at me. [hur]

Anyway thanks for ur advice bro.

i have 5 chinchillas, 2 dogs and a rabbit

the mynah really has developed a bond with you which is very very rare for a wild bird

this bird will be very loyal to you because they are one to one relationship

if I were you I would keep it because nobody I know have such a close relationship

I wish I can help but i hope you will not dump the bird in the field or somewhere because

the bird has learnt to trust humans already

if really cannot try SPCA

but SPCA has a filthy habit of putting them to sleep

wa.. you really quite an animal lover, so many pets.

Haha ya i definitely wont try SPCA. I wan to keep it but im the only one taking care of the bird and most of the time im at work... I was thinking its a wild bird so maybe i should try letting it go back to the wild. Plus my parents and the bird making alot of noise haha.

Thanks for the reply and ya, these kind of mynahs can talk?

Also offer it pieces of bread, crushed hamster pellets, etc. It needs to learn to eat a variety of food. Worms are very high in protein. At this growth stage, it needs carbo more.

in fact i used to nurse a wild pigeon that flew into my house but the bird died because it was sick

I am truly jealous of your new found friend the bird is so attached to you

in chinese when a bird flies into your home usually it is a good sign that plenty of good things will come into the home

mynahs can talk but you need to be patient cannot act like my old chinese teacher and use the rotan

this technique unfortunately will not work with mynahs

You better off to keep this mynah as it is attached to you already. If you give to someone else... it will fly off or will actually stave itself....

Go to the birdshop and buy those dried food for the mynah... get 2 small container or bird cup and fill one with water and the other with the bird food... the mynah will take care of itself... You can cut some small pieces of raw chicken or pork for it to eat sometime..

Cheers.

if you need strength to go on to keep the bird

I am here to listen to all the mynahs complaining to you about your dog and parents when you get back from work

I had one as a pet when I when i was younger. Once they are hand feed (by non-expert) they will never survive in the wild again. I suggest you either give it to someone who want to adopt it or the birdpark, or keep it a pet.

Such bird are very intelligent and loyal. It will follow you and listen to your command. I used to let mine out for a few hours per day and it return (either by command or decided to do so by itself) to it's cage. It can 'sing' well and could say a lousy 'hello'. It was also toilet trained...it will only do it's biz in it's cage. It got along well with my dog. But not all dog will treat bird well. Some will kill by accident.

Edited by Silver_blade

u forgot to add, when a cat comes in, they are harbinger of death.

i'm not supersititous but based on past experience.

as for dog, they are harbinger of wealth.

Hi bro

haha ya i have 2 containers inside the cage one i used it to put water and the other for the worms, it will keep eating and eating and fling the worms here and there... And start to make noise again ahha. Ok i will try to put bread tml morning.

haha.. actually no problems la can keep the bird but the bird will jump about in the cage and bang here and there when i walk pass or if i stand near the cage and it will make noise non stop. Like very poor thing like that. The only time it remains diam diam is during the night when it sleeps. And it sleeps while standing on one leg! steady.

Oh ya before this bird there was one pigeon that flew into my house also, i put it inside a box and fed it with rice. Then the next day i came back from work my mom said the pigeon flew off. I dont really dare to keep the pigeon la i heard their droppings are infectious or something.

If this bird knows how to go out and come back by itself like yours then it will be wonderful lo...

I also trying to teach the bird how to say "Hello". because i named it Hello and everytime i see it i will "hello hello hello" haha.

I dont think is good idea to feed it with worms only. Better to give the mynah those "chicken feed" food from the bird shop. The worms maybe use as training purpose ???

I remember last time I rescued a tiny mata puteh - it got drenched in a heavy rain and cant flew anymore. I took it home to warm it and give some food. The next day I decide to release it off but guess what...it kept flying back to our house so I just kept it. One day one of my fren was interest in it after seeing that it is so tame. But when he brought it home and try to release it...the bird flew away liao

You will have to train it. 1st you have to be able to recall it. Put it some distance away from you, whistle a command (your unique one), and if lure it with food. If it comes to you, feed it. Soon it will go to you when you whistle that command.

For it to be able to fly back to your house. You will have to hang something special at your window eg. red cloth, birdcage with distinct making, etc.... Use it during your training. That should train the bird to recognizes it.

Do a search on the internet...there should be some info on this.

Edited by Silver_blade

u haf a very interesting new friend i must say!

dun release it to the wild or gif away. i'm sure it would not make it outside. unless it decides to fly away and never come back of course..

i've never seen such a bond between a wild birdie and a human like this. i myself had kept birdies tat flew into my hse b4 but the bugger zao lor when it could fly..lol [laugh]

any pic? [thumbsup]