Paper Recycling collection

Albeniz

Dear all MCFers, have a question regarding paper recycling.

For the past 25 years, I have accumulated many textbooks, cardboards, papers and magazines.

I am thinking of clearing my study room. The textbooks are already obsolete and nobody would want them. It would be a waste throwing into the rubbish dump directly.

I am thinking of sending it to paper recycling companies directly. Do you know of any such companies (especially in the north, western area)?

Typically what is the amount they would reimburse? Would Karang Guni collect these stuffs?

Edited by Albeniz

yup.. seperate normal paper fr white paper. white one fetch more. white mix with magazine.

normal mix with cardboard.

Thanks Apollo.

(1) Can you give some examples of "normal paper"?

(2) Can "white" paper contain printing, e.g. reports printed on one side of white 80gsm paper.

as long as those bleached one not newspaper quality will be considered white lor.

becos can recycle so more exp. newspaper already recycle. next leber end up tio si pangsai paper liaoz/

This is an open question to all:

If I have 300kg of soft cover textbooks and I drive it to a recycling company at Sungei Kadut, how much would they reimburse?

If it is too low, I will pass them to karang guni instead.

Edited by Albeniz

300kg jawdrop.gif u thumbsup.gif

btw, i also cleared some today... next monday got somemore...can pm me yr recycling contact?

thank u

Bro,recycling cardboard only about 15 cents a kg....iirc,paper should be lesser..so ah ga ..most u get about $50 the v v most if only paper cost more i think..but somehow i feel is lesser...

Edited by Freestylers09

Wondering if these recycling companies accept spoilt old 17 inch CRT monitor also?

Edited by Albeniz

Hopefully some MCFers here who happen to work in a recycling company could help shed some light. [;)]

they all cut throat one.. if u send there u wun get a thank u lah.same price. try to spot check for karung guni who is not the china chinese.

otherwise if u wanna do charity. just go down to the void deck look for those senior citizen club. ask them carry down for their own guud.

they will save for their own kitty to spend during gatherings.

I sold most of my old textbooks to the Karang Guni and some of them were given to Altvater.

Its better to recycle than to throw them away. [thumbsup][thumbsup][nod][flowerface]

Edited by Garlic

I have spoilt 17 inch CRT monitors, Pentium 2,3 casings and some obsolete spare parts. Karang Gunis don't take them.

Do the recycling companies take these stuffs?

Edited by Albeniz

I noe some areas in Jurong and Bukit Batok HDB areas do hv recycling companies collecting items like old clothes, newspapers, electrical items, etc. They do it on Sun...

Hi bro, for textbooks, the prices you will normally get is probabaly $0.10 to $0.15 per kg. The reason being that there are still work to be done to the textbooks. Unless you are able to take out the covers, then sort them out into whites and colors, then you will probably get more.

Honestly, if I were you, don't bother driving up to the companies to sell cause they won't give you good price unless you are a regular karang gunis. It is simply not worth the effort. For spoil tvs, the recycling companies will not take as well as it is a cost to dispose them at the end of the day. Your best bet will be to check with karang gunis.

Hope it helps.

I gave mine to the karang guni, he did not want it at first.

Then I told him, uncle please take it .. its FOC ... and he gladly did .... [laugh][laugh]

Edited by Garlic

p2 and p3 they will take lah...inside the mobo is gold particles leh. other then the steel metal. how come don't take. the KG come paid $5 per casing.