Are Taxi Drivers above-average Income Earners?

Kelpie

Are Taxi Drivers above-average Income Earners?  

98 members have voted

1. 1.

• Yes
    • No

1. I was told by someone who drove a Taxi that you can earn between $150 (day shift) to $230 (night shift) a day after paying the Taxi rental & fuel these days.

2. So if we base on the average taking of $190 per day X 30 days, you get $5700 monthly. If base on $230 daily, you will get $6900 monthly.

3. So do you think Taxi drivers are above-average income earner?

Regards,

sometimes luck do play a part...act they also miss out quite alot other benefits like cpf, annual leave, medical coverage etc....

What they earn is base on luck lah... how can they confirm that they will earn that much per day... there will be better days... and worst days... [dizzy]

sometimes luck do play a part...act they also miss out quite alot other benefits like cpf, annual leave, medical coverage etc....

If average income is say $3K monthly, there is alot of margain for them to exceed the average income bracket. I like to ask the taxi driver how much they earn when in a cab. Almost all gave me the impression that they are doing very well. Some told me not to look down on them, they earn much more than those wear nice shirt and tie and sit inside aircon rooms.

Regards,

That may be so but they work super long hours, weekends, public holidays etc. PLus no annual leave, medical leave.

to hit that amount, probably have to clock more than 12 hours a day and provided lucky enough keep picking up passengers.

Apart from luck, maybe the experienced one will know which hot spots to pick up ....else new ones might not hit even close to that amount ba.... [rolleyes]

I doubt so. Only if the frequency of passengers are consistent. I dun think we can just base on the max. claimed pay and average the sum, we have to look at the min. on a lousy day too.

But I still doubt the numbers will be consistent. There are quite a number of taxis on the roads. But are there so many passengers anot?

if i'm a full time taxi driver i wont bother to buy car, be it opc or normal.the taxi itself is a car.n everyday must pay de rental.y bother buy another car?...

on the subject...i don tink taxi drivers can earn 5-6k constantly.mayb on a gd mth.like got a few days holiday or festive days.n like a lot say...depends on luck n experience.mayb can ask jeffang for his frank answer to dis.

If so good, everyone will flog to be taxi-drivers liao.

My dad has been driving cab for over 20 years.

Everyday come home complain poor business. Best day won't exceed $150 after deducting cost.

Dun forget, you sick cannot work also have to pay rent for that day OK ?

NEVER, NEVER believe what the local media reports. These dogs are here to serve their masters, not the citizens.

Was toking to a taxi uncle the other day. He is driving the new comfort Hyundai Sonato cab. $102 per day not including the petrol which is about 20-30+ per driver. They never let the petrol go down pass the half way line so it about there.

2 driver sharing $102. Each is about $51+$30= $ 81 bucks.

He says good day in 2 hours he can earn about $30 bucks...this is good day. So i ask him when are the good days?

Non-raning days, weekends and holiday. Normal weekdays non-peak hour is really no good. Some 3 hours only 5-6 customers.

So u say avg per day they earn 190 is really seldom. Luck plays a big part.

He also mentioned on good days their health go down hill. Wan to pee dun dare coz see alot of customers on road where got time to go pee. Scare pee liao come out no more.

And like some MCFers mentioned they missed out alot of CPF unless u kuai kuai top up urself.

If can they rather not drive taxi.

i am sure this $190 is a one-off thingie. ie it won't happen for 30days in a month.

even if it happens, no taxi drivers drive 30days for a month.

usually it will be more realistic to assume they drive 26 days a month.

if taxi earn so much they won't bother to do those dangerous stunts of cutting in abruptly to pick up customer etc

the average income of a household based in singapore is roughly about $6k? [sly][sly]

i dont think taxi driver earns that much, maybe in the 90's century yes when there are few taxi drivers otr.

i think most to most, 4k capped. taxi driver lagi happy already.

source as follows http://forums.vr-zone.com/showthread.php?t=236600

Edited by Kifakw

in tat sense its true la cos we average office workers quite tough...that kind of 1-2% increment... shakehead.gif

taxi drivers hv the potential to earn more....tats highly possible...but they do miss out other benefits also and f-ing diesel cost etc... rifle.gif

another thing is taxi is very recession prone...once recession hit, they r hit 2 ways..company cut cost pple take mrt and the retrenched go become taxi drivers as interim measures chasing the smaller pie...

On good months, they earn 3k++, on bad months 2K++. This kind of income not considered a lot for the number of hours they put in per day and number of days per month. Also need to consider if they fall sick, taxi rental still have to pay and on top of no income.