Manual Gearbox will be a history, do you agree?

Kelpie

Manual Gearbox will be a history, do you agree?  

126 members have voted

1. 1.

• Yes
    • No

if those electronic clutch(selespeed etc) become more reliable..i dont see why not..

the current common auto gearboxes uses a torque converter, which is horrendously inefficient in terms of power loss..and those electronic clutches like the selespeed is still damn ex to manufacture and repair..not to mention it's reliablity..

so unless those can be more reliable..the old fashioned manual will still be the preferred transmission for the pure blood drivers..

Its getting so hard to find a manual gearbox here as you move up the market which has been a major hindrance for me personally. Seems like maunal gearbox may even become a luxury item in the near future. [laugh]

dun think will happen la,cause in europe,most car r made with manual gearbox for diesel purposes( big cc ) cause european still prefers manual over auto,think only singaporean prefers auto than manual [laugh]

manual gearbox is already getting lesser and lesser but I don't think they will be totally replaced in the near future. Singapore is only a small market. Elsewhere, manual is still very much perferred

in the olden days, people avoid auto as it's more expensive and not reliable. At present days, auto is the mainstream but people cite it to be inefficient due to power lose..

there's clutchless manual such as selespeed, MTA, or even the DSG.. I feel that this will go mainsteam in years to come..

BTW, can you translate that chinese article to english

Edited by Sony

not exactly..

my 1.5 CVT gives me lousier FC as compared to the 1.6 Auto on the Civic FD..

WRC cars using semi-manual liao lah ... where got time to wait for u to clutch n declutch? [sweatdrop] every split second counts ...

Manual gearbox will eventually be found only in high-end performance cars, and cheap budget cars - the two extreme ends of pricing! At least, in the local context.

The selespeed type of transmission is obviously superior, but too pricey to win over the market.

While Americans tend to favour AT, MT is still very much dominant in Europe - this fact alone ensures that MT will continue to survive for a long, long time.

dun tink manuals will become more expensive, but autos will become as cheap as manuals