70km/hr extreme right lane CTE!

Leepee

One cabby dare claimed he is cruising at 70km/h at extreme right lane.

Then kena accident with another taxi.

The things they can say and happened to them are always interesting to hear.

http://newpaper.asia1.com.sg/news/story/0,...,165938,00.html?

THIS cabby is glad he got into an accident. The reason: It might have saved his life.

Cabby David Chua had been cruising at 70kmh along the extreme right lane of the Central Expressway (CTE) at about 9pm yesterday.

Then he saw a shadow darkening the left side of his taxi and wondered what it was.

When he finally realised that it was a huge tree branch falling onto the road, it was nearly too late.

Mr Chua stepped on the brakes. But he knew he wasn't going to make it, so he swerved and hit a taxi which was in front of him on the left.

That taxi driver had also seen the branch falling and had come to a stop.

Mr Chua, 67, said: 'Luckily, the taxi in front had come to a full stop, so he cushioned me. Otherwise, I would probably not be around now as I would have driven right under the falling branch.'

BLOCKED FOUR LANES

The branch, which fell near the Ang Mo Kio Avenue 1 exit of the expressway going towards the city, blocked all three lanes, as well as one lane of the traffic going in the opposite direction.

Traffic came to a standstill along the stretch of the CTE going towards the city.

Ms Nora Shikin, 25, who was going home towards Ang Mo Kio, said: 'We could still move but on the other side (going to the city), there was no way for anyone to move, so after a while, all the drivers just switched off their engines.'

The tree that the large branch fell from.

Some drivers on her side of the CTE got out of their cars and tried to shift the branch.

'They managed to shift it a bit and unblock part of the lane on the side going towards Ang Mo Kio Ave 10,' she said.

Curious residents nearby had also gathered at a overhead bridge situated just metres from the fallen tree to watch the drama.

Mr C Teo said: 'At first, there was a lot of honking, but then I think people realised what had happened and the drivers just waited for the police to come.

'I saw some people get out of their cars, jump over the railing to get onto the overhead bridge. Perhaps they were the passengers and they wanted to walk home, leaving the drivers to wait.

IMPATIENT

'Some people were very impatient and tried to move the tree themselves.'

Police were called and a contractor was also called to remove the fallen tree branch.

A police spokesman told The New Paper that they had received a call at about 9pm informing them about the incident.

He said: 'The police were at the scene to divert traffic to Ang Mo Kio Ave 3 and 5, while all efforts were being made to remove the tree.'

A contractor was called to clear away the fallen branch. TNP Pictures: JONATHAN CHOO

The contractor, who declined to be named, said he was called at 9.10pm.

He said: 'I called the police and told them to block traffic for me as I had to drive against the traffic from Ang Mo Kio Ave 1 to get to the tree.'

It took several men more than an hour to chop up the enormous tree branch and clear the road.

By 11pm, traffic was flowing smoothly again.

Mr Chua, the cabby, had to wait until then for the tow truck to arrive.

His taxi's front left bumper guard fell off from the impact and a sharp edge punctured the left front tyre.

'Because of the punctured tyre, I couldn't drive off,' he said. 'But the other driver, his vehicle could still be driven, so he went off. As he drove off, he said he was very happy no one was hurt.

'I'm also happy because I'm alive and well.'

who in our park department should be punished ??? I thought all this tree have number and proper record one...and they always do the "Tree Pruning" thing along CTE ?? Maybe the "Blanga" never do a good job ?? HA HA HA HA [laugh][laugh][laugh] park department going pay for taxi damaged with our tax money ???

Mr C Teo said: 'At first, there was a lot of honking, but then I think people realised what had happened and the drivers just waited for the police to come.

'I saw some people get out of their cars, jump over the railing to get onto the overhead bridge. Perhaps they were the passengers and they wanted to walk home, leaving the drivers to wait.

IMPATIENT

'Some people were very impatient and tried to move the tree themselves.'

wtf... rather than him sit there talk c0ck. What's wrong with peeps trying to move the branches themselfs by helping others to clear the congestion?

I bet if everyone jammed there give an effort, the branches would be removed.

If there was a lorry load of foreign workers.

Maybe the lorry can use the backside to 'push' the tree away and free up some lanes.

Ya if he had travelled faster he should have avoided the falling branch and also avoided swerving and hitting the taxi on his left...and avoided getting caught in the jam. And if I am not wrong, he cannot claim insurance as it is an act of god

Usually when you are stuck in a Jam, you will be open to ridiculous solutions.

I believe the drivers will cooperate to allow the lorry to do 3point turn to use the rear bumper metal bar to push away the tree to the road shoulder.

Maybe the taxi driver could use his already langared taxi backside to help push the tree away too.

u probably don't understand the situation ms.... JAM PACKED... even if cars wanna to make space also cannot lor... 3 pt turn u do before anot... the cars can siam to give so much space meh dizzy.gif

no need, the lowlee just use rope to tie the trunk and use its enormous torque to tow away the branch to the side can alreadi [cool]

Hello dear...u don't understand how the traffic situation is like on CTE on a weekday @ 9pm. Suggest u go and try it first and tell me if u can reach the same speeds on CTE as on the PIE on any given weekday, 9pm.

Typical singaporean reaction. point fingers.

If there was a lorry load of foreign workers.

Maybe the lorry can use the backside to 'push' the tree away and free up some lanes.

70km/h is very fast at 9pm on the 1st lane of that cte...

normally can only go at 50-60km/h

so can i ask you "how can that taxi travelled faster???" lol

Ya if he had travelled faster he should have avoided the falling branch and also avoided swerving and hitting the taxi on his left...and avoided getting caught in the jam. And if I am not wrong, he cannot claim insurance as it is an act of god

Although the sign on CTE is 90km/h, but as per the ppl mention here, CTE actual speed never made it past 70km/h, U have to thank god if u can drive smoothly at 60km/h.

Its better to change the title of this thread [thumbsup]