Boyboy

Krabi or Koh Samui?  

28 members have voted

1. 1.

• Koh Samui
    • Krabi
    • Both!
    • Skip both, go Phuket

Planning a road trip with my buddy. Main objective is the driving adventure, but we might also wanna do a spot of diving [nod] .

I haven't been to any of the above locations, so I better check with MCF gurus first.

I checked out tarzan666's post as well as poortraveller's blog. good resources which I will use as references.

Anyway, my trip is 5 days, intend to head up to penang, overnight there, then hit our destination on the second day evening. I'm guessing that i should only try to go for one destination. [:p]

Both of us drive, so no issues, probably do 2 hour "watches" though i've done 5 hours a pop before.. Intending to cruise at 140-150, as my car can't really do much faster without complaining.

not intending to book hotels online as i feel it's better to go there and look around and choose. we are probably going for 3-star range

Just got back last week from a week drive up to Hatyai/Krabi(Ao Nang) with the family ! One thing I would say, Krabi is meant for the White Man....the local there are pretty rude to yellow skin and could not be bothered to serve us....well in general the road side stalls. Their attitude is that they can't be bothered with you.

This sales girl selling shoes do not have the regular Land of Smile on her face. Cannot be bother. Want to buy, buy ! Don't...f**k off kind of attitude !

DSC03661.jpg

Up main street in Ao Nang...pretty quiet since it is begining of low season.

DSC03632.jpg

DSC03631.jpg

Even the boatman when I went for an island hoping trip gives me the same idea. He is always talking up with the Ang Moh and generally ignores us !

Island hoping was the name of the game there...the water is better off island. On the shore of Ao Nang, you cannot actually swim there...pretty dirty.

DSC03746.jpg

DSC03743.jpg

DSC03731.jpg

The night market there is actually not for our taste...

DSC03810.jpg

DSC03813.jpg

DSC03814.jpg

DSC03815.jpg

But the road side food is great...the vendors are better and friendlier !

Posted Image

Don't look at how he cleans the wok....or you would not dare to eat the mum mum !

Thai Fried Kway Teow - Prah Thai

Posted Image

Yummy roti prata with anything you want..banana, strawberry, honey, chocolate, cheese..worms, maggots,grasshoppers [laugh]

Posted Image

Thai Fried Kway Teow Egg Wrap !

Posted Image

Stop over at Hadyaai for a day shopping.. lots to buy

Cashew Nuts & More in the market

Posted Image

Now, is the low season and it rains daily...for several hours per day and then it goes away. Heard from the hotel staff that this is only the start as July onwards till Sept would be the worst ! Got a good bargain for the hotel room which was normally at 2400 baht but I got it for 1000 baht ! Freaking good hotel...the staff there are okay though. The Sriskusant Resort is great and righ in front of the beach.

Posted Image

PS : You should get a Garmin GPS when you go there. Getting there is not really that easy. With the GPS, it was a breeze...not needing to read maps and look out for landmark etc. Will make another trip next year but this time, I will head for Koh Samui ! BTW, my average speed driving through Malaysia is 150 kmph and in Thailand....about 100 kmph even though most places have a 60 kmph limit sign. Everybody else is doing the same or faster ! So join the Thais !

Edited by Cbx750p

great post! [thumbsup]

i've got a GPS, garmin nuvi 200 to be precise. but do u use the "skeleton" map, download maps from malsing (can't seem to find thailand maps there) or buy the thai map? [:p]

Replying to : Dwoon

Post: When you going Samui next year? Can I follow you for the drive up?

Sure but you got to be able to keep up with me cause one reason why I travel alone is because I hate long convoys and the wait and wait and waits !

Replying to : Boyboy

i've got a GPS, garmin nuvi 200 to be precise. but do u use the "skeleton" map, download maps from malsing (can't seem to find thailand maps there) or buy the thai map?

I bought map from Rotweiler ! They are great maps but must "donate" S$138/- to become life member ! Base map on Nuvi is useless ! Suggest you got to Malsing website and seek out the guru's advice.

Following and catching up is not a problem. My average to Penang is like 180km/h... highest 230km/h.... is this alright? But must stop more frequently for petrol as that'll get me only 300- 350km per tank (60 ltrs)

I also have the Rotweiler Thailand maps. But got from Jerome's webby.... cheaper at $30. [:p]

Edited by Dwoon

[blush] Eye No Paste Stamp [blush] Wah Say....looks like I would be the one trying to catch up with you at that kind of speed ! What is your ride ? Sound like 525 or something !

Wah... got so cheap one at Jerome's web meh ? Shucks...should have opt for this route . Thought that Rot's map already okay cause Garmin's Thai SD cost $280 from Perfect !

Okay, get in touch with me again next year and we can organise something. If got family with children even better ! More is fun !

CBX

Sure thing, will stay in touch.... actually, I was thinking of getting away for the 2009 CNY week. (Clear 3 days leave and get 9 days block from Sat to Sun of the following week)

I'm just driving a humble 2.0 litre Jap car lah.....

Jerome's site actually has Rotwelier's map placed there (Thailand-Routable maps consists of only 5 tiles if I remember correctly). Maybe the one you got from Rotweiler's site is more comprehensive.

Yup, got a 4 year old kid and maybe MIL in tow as well.

mind to share the web address? i am definitely interested in thai map.

actually, i want the map for NZ also. cos i wanna do some self-drive tour of NZ [inlove]

Cheaper being one thing..... but Thailand is 95RON maximum. If I make a trip there, I'll probably have to lug an 18 ltr drum of toluene along to mix. [rolleyes]

Either that or pay a visit to my tuner and pay him to de-tune [sweatdrop]

i think detune better.

so leh cheh to pour each refuelling. but depends on how much it costs to detune [;)]