Between Krabi and Koh Samui

Boyboy

My thread in Road Trips was quite ignored, and poll doesn't really tell me a whole lot..

Anyway, my friend and I are driving my car up to thailand. it's part driving adventure, and part beach getaway. We may intend to scuba dive too [:)]

between koh samui and krabi, which will be better? krabi is somewhat nearer but dun get to take the car ferry which would be quite an interesting experience. of course, going to krabi means saving on car ferry and petrol as well

which is the nicer destination? i'm more for natural beauty than other things.

Never been to either place b4. But drove pass Krabi on the way to Phuket. Why not drive to Phuket instead, its 100km away from Krabi only???

Phuket more happening. Now is the down season, less tourist ard, more thai gers to hug. [laugh][laugh][laugh]

not been to samui but went to Krabi a few years back and it was nice! i did a phuket, krabi, Phi Phi road trip then, it was great! thumbsup.gif

personally, i prefer Koh Samui. Less commercialize but that was like 6 yrs ago.... not sure about now. It might sound ironic but Krabi is very dead and sian

wa lao got conflicting replies. [dizzy]

two pple i know say diving at samui is better, but krabi is the place where more of my frens have been to. [:p]

i think i shd pit stop at krabi since it can be en-route to KS. then decide whether to spend only one nite at krabi and go KS, or the rest of the time there.

not into hugging thai gers.. even if i single. very scare kena poke [laugh][laugh] thai girl show also watch already [nosebleed]

i think i shall try to catch some sea slugs mating instead, if i dive.. heard they shoot their peeniss into each other (hermaphrodite) [laugh][laugh]

krabi is less commercialised than phuket..but heard samui itself is gettin more commercialised.

Y dun u go krabi,then phuket..then cut thru to samui..

My frds juz did it..drove to 3 places in about 9 days in a mpv.

i've only got 5 days. and going with my NS buddy. 5 days going romantic place with him will either make us gay or kill each other [laugh][laugh][laugh][laugh]

during our training, my division mates and i always lament how we (as a bunch) always end up visiting the most romantic places without our gfs.

WITH MY RIFLE AND MY BUDDY AND ME-E-E [laugh][laugh][laugh]

anyway, my buddy just informed me he can't make it for the trip [bigcry][bigcry]

maybe next time [:p]. thanx for all feedback given so far

Let me try to convince your friend to change his mind. Read the following travel log :

http://forum.dreamreload.com/showthread.ph...15&pagenumber=1

I went to Koh Samui last year May after reading the above. I went again to Koh Samui this year May. Each trip is 6-7 days long. It was "mushroom" trip for me, i.e. did not nothing and just to get mold and really relaxed.

For value of money accomodation, check out Lamai Wanta @ Lamai Beach or Maya Buri @ Bophut. search the internet for more details of them.

Edited by Tploh

Flew there for both occasion.

Do you know that Koh Samui's airport biuilding does not have walls ? One of the most beautiful airport that I have seen ( and I fly a lot - one passport in 3 yeras ).

Petrol is not cheap in Thailand and I heard that their road condition is also not very good. Pay a little bit extra and save some time lah.

If you want to scuba dive, I suggest you go to Khao Lak. Get into some dive shop for a trip to the Similans. Resorts there are recovering from the tsunami and in the low season like now till Sep, prices are good.

that is the plan for the year end trip. june trip has been aborted as my friend cannot make it [:|]

similans would be the most sought after dive destination in thailand. or so i heard. i'm not very well-dived [flowerface]

year end can dive? anyway, samui is south china sea, nicer water in my opinion. krabi is adaman sea, water not so nice. any bro feel this way?

krabi not much shopping as well; just one over-priced street. if you want to do other things, phuket would be slightly better.

Then I point you to this site for some really good driving.

http

://www.budget.co.th/images/world/world...phuket_eng.pdf

The Phuket, Krabi, Samui loop.

Dive, drive and skive vacation. thumbsup.gif