Questions on TRIATHLON???

Kelpie

(edited)

1. I'm new to Triathlon and I have some questions.

2. The 1st event is swimming at the sea. It seems like must swim suit and a swim cap. Wonder what short of swim to get?? As I only know what is a swimming trunk [laugh]. I assume the organizer will help to look after the bicycle and my belongings during the swim.

3. After swim, how to change out the swim suit and trunk [:/]? Do they have a toilet to put on t-shirt, short, running shoes and helmet for the next cycling event? when I start to cycle, who take cares of my swim suit, trunk and etc [:|]?

4. After the cycling, where to park the bicycle? again, who takes care of the bicycle and my helmet? Anyone know what is drafting? What is a race belt and a race bib?

5. If during the running event, want to go pee, can go visit toilet?

Hope the experts out there can give me advice.

Thank you very much.

Regards,

Edited by Kelpie
↡ Advertisement

I'm no expert lah but I like watching it on TV.

Guys usually wear a suit some with sleeve, some without, depending on weather. The idea of a suit is to keep your body warmed up.

Every participant has a designated number, u can see them use those markers marked number on their arms. After swim, they run to the bicycle rack where they look for their numbers. Put on cycling shoes and off they go. They wear their suits throughout the whole event.

When they reach their running event, again look for bicycle rack with their number. They usually cycle one long loop and go back where the bike racks are. Change to running shoes and off they go.

All the swimming, cycling and running start and stop at the same location, all go one big round to the same place. I dun ever see anyone change to t-shirt or running shorts or go toilet cos not enough water to hydrate the body, only see them drink lots of water.

Let me try answering u from the little experience i have